Kristinka Hair and Arnold ?

Discussions about SOFTIMAGEs© Interactive Creative Environment©
AmiCGIgirl

Kristinka Hair and Arnold ?

Post by AmiCGIgirl » 18 Feb 2022, 15:46

Hi everyone,

I am new to Softimage and I've been trying to get my head round this stuff. I'd like to create some hair for a character and I came across the Kristinka addon which seems like it might work for me. Is it possible to render the ICE strands produced by the Kristinka addon with Arnold? From what I have read here it seems as if it should be possible but I honestly can't figure out how to do it because I simply don't understand enough about Softimage, ICE and other rendering engines such as Arnold but I'm trying to learn. Can anyone tell or show me what I need to do in order to render Kristinka strands using Arnold as the render engine? Lastly, I apologize if I am asking my question in the wrong area of this forum. I couldn't decide if I should ask in the ICE section or the Rendering section.... LOL ! Also I hope you will forgive me if my question seems dumb but I'm an artist not a "technical" person per se so I hope you will understand that I'm feeling really overwhelmed here in the deep end :-) Thanks in advance for your help !

Cheers,

Ami

opoppopopp

Re: Kristinka Hair and Arnold ?

Post by opoppopopp » 18 Feb 2022, 21:32

Try render standard ICE strands (any factory example scene with strands) with Arnold.
Try render Kristinka generated strands (Kristinka example scene) with default render.

Either one will help to understand ICE Strand or Arnold, so that you won't be overwhelmed.
After you narrow down a specific problem, people here can help you better.

AmiCGIgirl

Post by AmiCGIgirl » 18 Feb 2022, 23:49

Sigh :-/ I just wrote a long reply but I shall not bother to post it. Let's just say I'm feeling extremely frustrated.

Hirazi Blue
Administrator

Post by Hirazi Blue » 20 Feb 2022, 18:35

:-\