VRay 3.0 for Softimage is available!

Plugins linking to this thread: (hide)

V-Ray 3.0 for SoftimageAuthor: Chaos Group
Chaosgroup recently released the Softimage plugin for VRay 3.0.

Built on V-Ray's core platform of rendering speed, stability, and quality, V-Ray for Autodesk Softimage is an advanced rendering solution for the VFX and animation industries. VRay for Softimage includes ICE support, efficient Global Illumination, versatile shaders, and much more.

What's New in V-Ray 3.0 for Softimage? New progressive production renderer for interactive and production rendering New VRaySkinMtl with layered reflections and artist friendly controls Render Mask to specify render regions using an object selection or image mask Deep Image support including OpenEXR 2.0 output emFluid 5 is integrated with V-Ray for SI.
For a full list of improvements, see V-Ray-3.0-for-Softimage.pdf

Price per license is 750€ / $1040 / 650£ or 74€ / $103 / 64£ for an educational license. It is a free upgrade for all current V-Ray for Softimage users.

Link to the vray online documentation. For a previous version, the thread V-Ray for Softimage: Tutorials and Walkthrough was created on si-community.com as a means to gather community knowledge, starting with an indoor lighting video tutorial created by Oliver Weingarten.

News concerning 3D DCC business
User avatar
owei
Administrator
Posts: 767
Joined: 03 Jun 2009, 17:25
Location: Siegen/Germany
Contact:

VRay 3.0 for Softimage is available!

Post by owei » 10 Sep 2014, 15:22

VRay 3.0 for Softimage is available! Great news...I did not expect that to happen.. ;)

http://www.chaosgroup.com/en/2/vray_softimage.html

"What's New in V-Ray 3.0 for Softimage?

• New Progressive Production Renderer for interactive and production rendering
• New VRaySkinMtl with layered reflections and artistfriendly controls
• Render Mask to specify render regions using an object selection or image mask
• Deep Image support including OpenEXR 2.0 output
• emFluid 5 is integrated with V-Ray for SI"

And it´s free for all Vray for Softimage license holder..! Great!

Cheers,
oli

User avatar
mattmos
Posts: 400
Joined: 02 Dec 2009, 16:59

Re: VRay 3.0 for Softimage is available!

Post by mattmos » 10 Sep 2014, 16:50

That's pretty cool! Especially the note about integration with emfluid 5 - if I need to do volume rendering any time soon that's a very tempting option.

Bullit
Moderator
Posts: 2317
Joined: 24 May 2012, 09:44

Re: VRay 3.0 for Softimage is available!

Post by Bullit » 10 Sep 2014, 17:06

Fantastic. The em5 integration is also very good.

It seems to not have Vrayclipper


BenR
Posts: 88
Joined: 11 Jun 2009, 20:52

Re: VRay 3.0 for Softimage is available!

Post by BenR » 10 Sep 2014, 17:40

I'm only seeing demo builds. Is that what I need to download?

caledonian_tartan
Posts: 252
Joined: 17 Feb 2010, 15:13

Re: VRay 3.0 for Softimage is available!

Post by caledonian_tartan » 12 Sep 2014, 11:42

it's just great! that's what i call an update!
thank you chaos group! :-bd
Last edited by caledonian_tartan on 16 Sep 2014, 09:43, edited 1 time in total.
SI 2015 @ WIN7-64

User avatar
wireframex
Posts: 205
Joined: 08 Jun 2009, 23:02
Location: Near Paris

Re: VRay 3.0 for Softimage is available!

Post by wireframex » 12 Sep 2014, 21:02

Ordered !!!

Because life is too short ;)
"without mastery, power is nothing" - Softimage Addict User

User avatar
rray
Moderator
Posts: 1426
Joined: 26 Sep 2009, 15:51
Location: Bonn, Germany
Contact:

Re: VRay 3.0 for Softimage is available!

Post by rray » 13 Sep 2014, 01:38

That's some good news - which is rare. Big thanks to Chaosgroup
Softimage Resources section (formerly known as rray.de/xsi) updated Oct 01 2017

User avatar
wireframex
Posts: 205
Joined: 08 Jun 2009, 23:02
Location: Near Paris

Re: VRay 3.0 for Softimage is available!

Post by wireframex » 18 Sep 2014, 19:31

Just installed V-Ray 3.0 for Softimage
I posted something about it in the Chaosgroup forum but maybe someone know how to do :

I didn't see RT option in the V-Ray options of the Render Manager


Phil
"without mastery, power is nothing" - Softimage Addict User

Bullit
Moderator
Posts: 2317
Joined: 24 May 2012, 09:44

Re: VRay 3.0 for Softimage is available!

Post by Bullit » 18 Sep 2014, 21:06

I don't think there is RT in Vray for Softimage.

User avatar
wireframex
Posts: 205
Joined: 08 Jun 2009, 23:02
Location: Near Paris

Re: VRay 3.0 for Softimage is available!

Post by wireframex » 18 Sep 2014, 21:45

mmmh

But I saw the demo where it was here ... Sad if you're right
"without mastery, power is nothing" - Softimage Addict User

Bullit
Moderator
Posts: 2317
Joined: 24 May 2012, 09:44

Re: VRay 3.0 for Softimage is available!

Post by Bullit » 18 Sep 2014, 23:34

Yes i think there is video of a version with it. I think the best is to contact Chaos Group and ask., maybe they can give access to a Beta.

User avatar
wireframex
Posts: 205
Joined: 08 Jun 2009, 23:02
Location: Near Paris

Re: VRay 3.0 for Softimage is available!

Post by wireframex » 19 Sep 2014, 07:45

I send them a request about it yesterday
"without mastery, power is nothing" - Softimage Addict User

User avatar
Nox
Posts: 107
Joined: 16 Apr 2013, 13:28

Re: VRay 3.0 for Softimage is available!

Post by Nox » 19 Sep 2014, 10:26

Did they add refraction fog finally?

juanloredo
Posts: 17
Joined: 18 Sep 2014, 23:24

Re: VRay 3.0 for Softimage is available!

Post by juanloredo » 19 Sep 2014, 18:26

I think RT did not make it to this version (final version) of vray for softimage. There was a video showing RT in a early stage, but what I got from the ChaosGroup Forum is that they were trying to compile all the updates in a final release of vray for softimage.

So you got the Progressive Image Sampler which is suposed to be based on RT technology (so like RT for CPU only) considering that it works with the preview tool, I guess it should work similarly like RT. I'm not sure however about the interaction speed, vray 1.7 was super slow in the preview (when compared to mental ray) I think because it "loaded/exported" the scene every time you move the camera or move the objects. In the DEMO for RT they showed how much faster the interaction was with RT. Can you tell us if that's the way the Progressive Image sampler works? or is it still slow? :-\

juanloredo
Posts: 17
Joined: 18 Sep 2014, 23:24

Re: VRay 3.0 for Softimage is available!

Post by juanloredo » 19 Sep 2014, 18:29

I feel the need for some demos!!! B-)

User avatar
wireframex
Posts: 205
Joined: 08 Jun 2009, 23:02
Location: Near Paris

Re: VRay 3.0 for Softimage is available!

Post by wireframex » 19 Sep 2014, 21:23

Well Chaosgroup confirm that RT is not available with the actual version ... :((
"without mastery, power is nothing" - Softimage Addict User

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest