SItoA-5.2.0 Official

Plugins linking to this thread: (hide)

SItoA 5.2.0Author: Jens Lindgren
Updated Feb 6th 2019 — Steven Caron, Stefano Januzzo and lead author Jens Lindgren just published a new official release of SItoA, the Sofimage to Arnold Plugin.

The list of new and updated features is long and includes Arnold denoiser (noice) (since 5.1.0) Nvidia OptiX denoiser (5.1.0) Adaptive sampling (5.1.0) Progressive rendering (5.1.0) AOV shaders (5.0.1) Cryptomatte (5.2.0) Color managers (5.0.0) OCIO (5.0.0) NPR - Non-physical rendering mode including new toon shader (5.1.0) Stats and profiling (5.1.0)

Many shaders were added or updated, for example car_paint, cell_noise, layer shaders. Find the full list of updates here at the project's github releases page.

The release includes the Linux version of the plugin. For more information and hints on how to use Cryptomatte with Arnold, also see Rachid Hadj Abderrahmane's 5.1.1 release further down on this page

New plugins, tools etc.
MKXSI
Posts: 16
Joined: 13 Feb 2019, 16:27

Re: SItoA-5.2.0 Official

Post by MKXSI » 01 Mar 2019, 08:42

Thanks rray, i think i did something wrong at first but i could install it and working like sharm. *-:)

anyheart
Posts: 42
Joined: 26 Jun 2011, 06:42

Re: SItoA-5.2.0 Official

Post by anyheart » 03 Mar 2019, 16:54

Thx!it works good!

oldfield
Posts: 8
Joined: 27 Mar 2013, 10:42

Re: SItoA-5.2.0 Official

Post by oldfield » 04 Mar 2019, 15:54

Hi there! I found some issues in this release and the question is how and where should i collect info about it? Should i make a new Issue in the Github sitoa project? Or post everything here? I'm not a coder and everything is new for me on Git hub....

xsisoft
Posts: 86
Joined: 01 Nov 2018, 11:13

Re: SItoA-5.2.0 Official

Post by xsisoft » 04 Mar 2019, 16:14

write here
"theoretically it can help, with bug fixs

and for ... Jones Lindgren's Steveno Caron, Jos Lindgren just published a copy of the Arnold Plugin. "

User avatar
rray
Moderator
Posts: 1670
Joined: 26 Sep 2009, 15:51
Location: Bonn, Germany

Re: SItoA-5.2.0 Official

Post by rray » 04 Mar 2019, 17:59

Trying to install this, but it crashes when trying to render anything.

Exporting to ass and rendering using kick works though, so no problem :)

Still would be nice to render inside XSI...

5.2.0 Beta version was working fine. After replacing the ai.dll with the beta ai.dll it works again

According to the Visual Studio debugger, the crash happens inside AdClmHub_1.dll (null pointer issue)
softimage resources section updated Feb 7 2019

oldfield
Posts: 8
Joined: 27 Mar 2013, 10:42

Re: SItoA-5.2.0 Official

Post by oldfield » 06 Mar 2019, 09:01

rray --- is ms vs redistributable 2015 is installed on your system?

oldfield
Posts: 8
Joined: 27 Mar 2013, 10:42

Re: SItoA-5.2.0 Official

Post by oldfield » 06 Mar 2019, 10:42

Ok, this is what I found in this release:

1. error when kicking ass file with procedural:

as you may see in the ass file the procedural has some declared "procedural_shader constant ARRAY NODE" and "procedural_shader "Sources.Materials.DefaultLib.Material.closure.SItoA.1000.1" --- if i delete those lines in ass file everything goes well...

I managed to remove that code in the procedurals.cpp file:

AiNodeDeclare (in_procNode, "procedural_shader", "constant ARRAY NODE");
AiNodeSetArray(in_procNode, "procedural_shader", shaders);


it resides in the void ExportAlembicProceduralData function and I guess it s no longer needed.... I recompiled it and everything goes well now .

---- Also I'm not sure if this is correct because the problem is a new Closure shader....


I know, i know --- we cant deal without some extra Closure shader anymore --- but it definetely take some extra steps when dealing with materials:) --- which is not so vital comparable to the old sitoa days....
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
rray
Moderator
Posts: 1670
Joined: 26 Sep 2009, 15:51
Location: Bonn, Germany

Re: SItoA-5.2.0 Official

Post by rray » 06 Mar 2019, 10:55

Hi oldfield - yes it's installed. I guess I'll log an issue in github tonight, a bit hard for the developers to reproduce, but it must be some small thing that changed from the beta to the release version. Also getting the crash on a different machine with nothing common in the two machines (win 7 vs win 10/CPU diifferent/Gfx/driver different/XSI different R2/not R2, edu vs normal...)

I hope I'll find some time to check the source code too.
softimage resources section updated Feb 7 2019

oldfield
Posts: 8
Joined: 27 Mar 2013, 10:42

Re: SItoA-5.2.0 Official

Post by oldfield » 06 Mar 2019, 10:56

2.Second one is BAD behaviour of the standard shader ppg, plus OpenGL Display tab on materials ppg is not displaying anymore when inspecting material. In order to choose a texture displayed in the viewport you have to disconnect standard shader....


I just removed the code inroduced by "closure shader isn't inspectable #33" isuue ---- and now I can live with that!




this behaviour is the same on win 10 and on win 7


Also, i have strong feeling that all ppg's related to sitoa(shaders) were mutch responsive in terms of UI interaction on old releases!

MKXSI
Posts: 16
Joined: 13 Feb 2019, 16:27

Re: SItoA-5.2.0 Official

Post by MKXSI » 18 Mar 2019, 10:37

Hi all
I have a problem when rendering sitoa toon shader contour. When trying to render 3000px image, silloutte seems to alias even setting AA samples to 10 and contour filter set to 2.
Anyone could know why this happpens? cause rendering in FullHD doesnt seem to have the same problem
Thanks

Pedrito
Posts: 36
Joined: 21 Feb 2018, 12:46
Location: Zaragoza,Spain

Re: SItoA-5.2.0 Official

Post by Pedrito » 18 Mar 2019, 19:00


User avatar
Draise
Posts: 852
Joined: 09 Oct 2012, 20:48
Skype: ondraise
Location: Colombia

Re: SItoA-5.2.0 Official

Post by Draise » 18 Mar 2019, 23:59

They have added GPU support, which is cool. If they update this addon to SI, would the GPU also be supported?

User avatar
rray
Moderator
Posts: 1670
Joined: 26 Sep 2009, 15:51
Location: Bonn, Germany

Re: SItoA-5.2.0 Official

Post by rray » 19 Mar 2019, 21:02

Nicely written article. Seems fair they market GPU support as "first taste" since some things are not there yet.

...since the website change to arnoldrender.com I'm getting the forever loading white page that I get on the other Autodesk websites ...
softimage resources section updated Feb 7 2019

MKXSI
Posts: 16
Joined: 13 Feb 2019, 16:27

Re: SItoA-5.2.0 Official

Post by MKXSI » 21 Mar 2019, 09:26

Still no AMD gpu support

User avatar
FXDude
Posts: 983
Joined: 19 Jun 2012, 21:59

Re: SItoA-5.2.0 Official

Post by FXDude » 21 Mar 2019, 18:49

Hi,

In regards to possible issues, you may also want to post them there :: https://github.com/Autodesk/sitoa/issue ... is%3Aissue

In other news, they have just impelemented support for shader "operators"!

~o)

Jenus
Posts: 21
Joined: 15 Jul 2009, 18:19
Location: Sweden

Re: SItoA-5.2.0 Official

Post by Jenus » 22 Mar 2019, 13:24

Hi guys!
Somehow I didn't get notifications to posts in this thread. If I had, I would have fixed the issues long time ago.
I started to work on SItoA 5.3.0 yesterday and it will be released soon.