OpenVDB volume grids with Softimage and Redshift

Links and discussions concerning tutorials
User avatar
Hirazi Blue
Administrator
Posts: 4938
Joined: 04 Jun 2009, 12:15

OpenVDB volume grids with Softimage and Redshift

Post by Hirazi Blue » 28 Jun 2016, 11:11

Over at the Redshift forums "serpin" posted a short introduction on how to
Create and render OpenVDB volume grids with Softimage and Redshift renderer,
using Mr. Cores OpenVDB to Softimage compounds...
...

Bullit
Moderator
Posts: 2457
Joined: 24 May 2012, 09:44

Re: OpenVDB volume grids with Softimage and Redshift

Post by Bullit » 28 Jun 2016, 17:54

Thanks. More for how to employ VDB than Redshift which i don't have.

julius
Posts: 248
Joined: 12 Jun 2009, 10:56

Re: OpenVDB volume grids with Softimage and Redshift

Post by julius » 28 Jun 2016, 22:17

thanks !

User avatar
sirdavid32
Posts: 216
Joined: 10 Feb 2010, 04:36
Location: Ecuador

Re: OpenVDB volume grids with Softimage and Redshift

Post by sirdavid32 » 22 Feb 2019, 14:23

All right, first test production between Blender and Softimage:


All the more is to say that in Blender a full 4K frame with smoke simulation, collisions and wind forces (turbulence) took 1h30 minutes PER FRAME!
I exported a .VDB sequence out of Blender to Softimage and I used what it´s described in the picture.
I hope this could be useful for anyone looking to do the same.
For the Redshift Volume to read the Blender sequence correct the name and type: VDBGrids###.vdb

Those hashes help you pick up a vdb sequence. Also, the naming convention through which Blender generates the VDBs is not picked up by RS.
You have to use a batch renamer (external application) to correctly name the sequence

FROM THIS:
vbd_my_sequence001_v001.vdb

TO THIS:
mysequence001.vdb

User avatar
Rork
Posts: 1346
Joined: 09 Jul 2009, 08:59
Location: Close to The Hague, Netherlands

Re: OpenVDB volume grids with Softimage and Redshift

Post by Rork » 22 Feb 2019, 16:30

HI,

In Blender, the default settings for rendering are set up way too high for Cycles imho.
For the Lightmap bounces, start with setting everything to 2. For the Sampling settings, start with 4-2. Now you have quick testrenders and the viewport.
Also, test the Desnoiser to keep your final render samples low, and have the Desnoiser help with cleanup. When you have a lot of motionblur, you can get artifacts. It's a delicate balance ;)

rob
SI UI tutorials: Toolbar http://goo.gl/iYOL0l | Custom Layout http://goo.gl/6iP5xQ | RenderManager View http://goo.gl/b4ZkjQ