SItoA-5.2.0 Official

Plugins linking to this thread: (hide)

SItoA 5.2.0Author: Jens Lindgren
Updated Feb 6th 2019 — Steven Caron, Stefano Januzzo and lead author Jens Lindgren just published a new official release of SItoA, the Sofimage to Arnold Plugin.

The list of new and updated features is long and includes Arnold denoiser (noice) (since 5.1.0) Nvidia OptiX denoiser (5.1.0) Adaptive sampling (5.1.0) Progressive rendering (5.1.0) AOV shaders (5.0.1) Cryptomatte (5.2.0) Color managers (5.0.0) OCIO (5.0.0) NPR - Non-physical rendering mode including new toon shader (5.1.0) Stats and profiling (5.1.0)

Many shaders were added or updated, for example car_paint, cell_noise, layer shaders. Find the full list of updates here at the project's github releases page.

The release includes the Linux version of the plugin. For more information and hints on how to use Cryptomatte with Arnold, also see Rachid Hadj Abderrahmane's 5.1.1 release further down on this page

New plugins, tools etc.
Jenus
Posts: 14
Joined: 15 Jul 2009, 18:19
Location: Sweden

SItoA-5.2.0 Official

Post by Jenus » 05 Feb 2019, 11:46

It's finally done!
We have put official release of SItoA-5.2.0 on the Autodesk Github now: https://github.com/Autodesk/sitoa/releases/tag/5.2.0
Full release notes can be found in the link above but some highlights include:
  • Arnold denoiser (noice) (5.1.0)
  • Nvidia OptiX denoiser (5.1.0)
  • Adaptive sampling (5.1.0)
  • Progressive rendering (5.1.0)
  • AOV shaders (5.0.1)
  • Cryptomatte (5.2.0)
  • Color managers (5.0.0)
  • OCIO (5.0.0)
  • NPR - Non-physical rendering mode including new toon shader (5.1.0)
  • Stats and profiling (5.1.0)
  • Lots of new shaders and shader updates.
I know it took a long time but it was a lot of stuff to add :)
Main development was done by me, Jens Lindgren, and Steven Caron, who did some of the features such as AOV shaders and UI improvements + more.
Thanks Stefano Jannuzzo for help in the coding and thanks to Thomas Volkmann for testing the final Linux build.
Hope you will enjoy it!

User avatar
rray
Moderator
Posts: 1642
Joined: 26 Sep 2009, 15:51
Location: Bonn, Germany

Re: SItoA-5.2.0 Official

Post by rray » 05 Feb 2019, 12:31

Wow congrats on this big release and thanks for all the work you put into this (despite knowing there's only a veeery small crowd of users) ^:)^
softimage resources section updated Feb 7 2019

User avatar
Firebird
Posts: 80
Joined: 04 Jun 2009, 12:08
Location: Vienna

Re: SItoA-5.2.0 Official

Post by Firebird » 05 Feb 2019, 12:35

Thanks a lot for another release. :-bd
I´m still using it and I´m very happy that you keep it up to date as this makes it easier for me to jump back and forth between HtoA and SItoA.
Houdini and Softimage is an unbeatable due.

Thanks a lot to everyone involved.

milanvasek
Posts: 143
Joined: 09 Jun 2009, 12:12
Location: Czech Republic

Re: SItoA-5.2.0 Official

Post by milanvasek » 06 Feb 2019, 09:40

wau, nice!
I wish I could use it too.

I'm stuck with SI 2014 and Arnold 3.1. Guys, do you think there is a chance Autodesk would let me somehow upgrade to SI 2015?
Milan Vasek
ceramic artist & softimage fan
http://www.milanvasek.com

willian.matos
Posts: 6
Joined: 01 Jul 2011, 01:11
Skype: willian.matos10

Re: SItoA-5.2.0 Official

Post by willian.matos » 06 Feb 2019, 20:34

Show!!!! Softimage Forever!!!

xsisoft
Posts: 84
Joined: 01 Nov 2018, 11:13

Re: SItoA-5.2.0 Official

Post by xsisoft » 08 Feb 2019, 10:07

who tested? (denoiser) what reviews? Can anyone write a video review!?

oldfield
Posts: 8
Joined: 27 Mar 2013, 10:42

Re: SItoA-5.2.0 Official

Post by oldfield » 10 Feb 2019, 00:22

Well, I recently noticed that OpenGL Display PPG of the material does not show up when standard_surface is connected to it. Also standard_surface ppg redraws slowly. Can someone reproduce it?

xsisoft
Posts: 84
Joined: 01 Nov 2018, 11:13

Re: SItoA-5.2.0 Official

Post by xsisoft » 10 Feb 2019, 11:20

"Well, I recently noticed that OpenGL Display PPG of the material does not show up when standard_surface is connected to it. Also standard_surface ppg redraws slowly. Can someone reproduce it? "

thanks for the feedback

Can anyone write a video review!?

xsisoft
Posts: 84
Joined: 01 Nov 2018, 11:13

Re: SItoA-5.2.0 Official

Post by xsisoft » 10 Feb 2019, 11:25

theoretically it can help, with bug fixs

and for ... Jones Lindgren's Steveno Caron, Jos Lindgren just published a copy of the Arnold Plugin.

juanloredo
Posts: 34
Joined: 18 Sep 2014, 23:24

Re: SItoA-5.2.0 Official

Post by juanloredo » 12 Feb 2019, 19:27

Does this addon works by itself or do you need to install the arnold sdk as well? (like in rachids version 5.1 where you need to install the sdk) I try to render twice and both times I'm getting a warning and then softimage crashes.

Installed SItoA 4.1 on a fresh softimage user folder (to avoid any possible conflict with other plug-ins) and it work.
Did the same for this version and it crashes when using the render region. Haven't try the output render.

Windows 10, SI 2015 R2-SP2

Anyways, I didn't want to sound ungrateful, I know you been working on this for a long time, I was, from time to time taking a look at the github and seeing your progress (the updates and all that) It was nice and exiting. Thanks for the effort!

Maybe this is just a signal that I need to move on and look for other DCC.

Thanks!

User avatar
Maximus
Posts: 1002
Joined: 09 Jun 2009, 15:45

Re: SItoA-5.2.0 Official

Post by Maximus » 13 Feb 2019, 23:44

it works by itself, i didnt install anything just the addon and it works

juanloredo
Posts: 34
Joined: 18 Sep 2014, 23:24

Re: SItoA-5.2.0 Official

Post by juanloredo » 14 Feb 2019, 04:23

Maximus wrote:
13 Feb 2019, 23:44
it works by itself, i didnt install anything just the addon and it works
What version of Softimage are you using, and what operating system?

Thanks!

User avatar
Maximus
Posts: 1002
Joined: 09 Jun 2009, 15:45

Re: SItoA-5.2.0 Official

Post by Maximus » 14 Feb 2019, 09:47

juanloredo wrote:
14 Feb 2019, 04:23
Maximus wrote:
13 Feb 2019, 23:44
it works by itself, i didnt install anything just the addon and it works
What version of Softimage are you using, and what operating system?

Thanks!
win 10 si2015 sp2

juanloredo
Posts: 34
Joined: 18 Sep 2014, 23:24

Re: SItoA-5.2.0 Official

Post by juanloredo » 15 Feb 2019, 03:28

Maximus wrote:
14 Feb 2019, 09:47
juanloredo wrote:
14 Feb 2019, 04:23
Maximus wrote:
13 Feb 2019, 23:44
it works by itself, i didnt install anything just the addon and it works
What version of Softimage are you using, and what operating system?

Thanks!
win 10 si2015 sp2
Well...I suppose I'm just out of luck....

Thanks!

MKXSI
Posts: 10
Joined: 13 Feb 2019, 16:27

Re: SItoA-5.2.0 Official

Post by MKXSI » 15 Feb 2019, 15:48

Hi people,
Im Softimage user since '98. I'm very thankfull to all this improvements you guys are doing to keep it alive.
Just a question about Sitoa 5.2, do i need to install it from scratch? Or do i need to install 4.1 first and then 5.2¿? Thanks

User avatar
rray
Moderator
Posts: 1642
Joined: 26 Sep 2009, 15:51
Location: Bonn, Germany

Re: SItoA-5.2.0 Official

Post by rray » 28 Feb 2019, 15:00

Hello & welcome!

It doesn't require a previous version, in fact it might cause issues to have a previous version installed.
softimage resources section updated Feb 7 2019