interchangeable versions?

User avatar
Shredder565
Posts: 1074
Joined: 02 Jan 2012, 20:04

interchangeable versions?

Post by Shredder565 » 30 Jan 2015, 17:35

now that softimage is no longer officially supported..

it would be nice to be able to use different versions of softimage on different computers. I havea 2014 version on one and upgraded to 2015 on the other. Iwould love to be able to switch back and forth between the two, but of course autodesk, in it's grand greedy glory, has made it so you can't. and it's not like the program has been redone from the ground up each version.

is there a way to make a plug in so you could alternate between the two? Seems like a waste to just ditch 2014.

User avatar
Hirazi Blue
Administrator
Posts: 4965
Joined: 04 Jun 2009, 12:15

Re: interchangeable versions?

Post by Hirazi Blue » 30 Jan 2015, 17:47

edit: completely and utterly misread the OP... :ymblushing:
...

luceric
Posts: 1233
Joined: 22 Jun 2009, 00:08

Re: interchangeable versions?

Post by luceric » 30 Jan 2015, 20:26

softimage is supported for a whole other year, the EOL is April 2016.

It's not really legal to have a node-locked 2014 and 2015 installed and running on two different computers, that's like having two licenses.

To do something like this, what you need is a network licence, and then you would borrow a license for your laptop or any other computer you want.

If you are not on subscription, you do not have the right to run 2014 under any circonstance after installing and licensing 2015, it's part of the agreement. If you quit subscription, you need to stop using 2014 and other previous versions.

User avatar
Shredder565
Posts: 1074
Joined: 02 Jan 2012, 20:04

Re: interchangeable versions?

Post by Shredder565 » 30 Jan 2015, 20:31

huh...learn something new every day. so, even if you have a 2014 version, that you paid for, you're really not supposed to use it and the 2015 version at the same time?

luceric
Posts: 1233
Joined: 22 Jun 2009, 00:08

Re: interchangeable versions?

Post by luceric » 30 Jan 2015, 21:03

that's how upgrades work at Autodesk, it replaces the previous license/version.
it's in the EULA at section 1.2.1

julca
Posts: 145
Joined: 07 Sep 2012, 14:24

Re: interchangeable versions?

Post by julca » 31 Jan 2015, 09:57

With a crosswalk export you can reimport objects in an oldest version of softimage without losing your materials (even for third party renderer) and other many things.