Instance On Curve

Plugins linking to this thread: (hide)

Generate Instance On Curve 1.3Author: Julien Carmagnac
Updated June 2013 (info) — Based on a part of the »Create Copies along Curve« Compound of Felix Geremus, I try with this tool to cover many possible situation as possible with copies on curves. It work with multiple curves, even merged, and generate as many point cloud as necessary. We can easily edit all of then with the Multi Edit PPG.

The 1.2 update adds these new features and functions: Exposed »accuracy« parameter Adjust scale with real space in X,Y Or Z Delete Last Instance on open Curve Delete Neighbors with distance Random scale on X,Y,Z independently Offset scale on X,Y,Z independently Create from preset Save preset Randomize Update instances

Demonstration videos available here (V1.0) and here (V1.1) and here (V1.2).

Note that the download in the first post of the si-community thread isn't the most current version. Look further down in the thread to find it.

local backup: InstanceOnCurve_v1.3.xsiaddon

NNois
Posts: 728
Joined: 09 Jun 2009, 20:33

Re: Instance On Curve

Post by NNois » 23 Mar 2016, 12:15

Hi japser,
You can iterate trough subcurve in ice directly

Here's a reworked powerextrude tool for generating instances on curves and subcurves

you need two things
1. run NNcurveTool.js or install it and access it via "Model->Modify->Curve->NN Curve Tools->Generate Data provider"
2. use the compound provided "NN Generate On Curve" this will generate instances, points etc (even strands) with various control over them
https://www.dropbox.com/s/03lafnc6xcx0ea5/NN_Generate_On_Curve_1.7.zip?dl=0

cheers

NNois
Posts: 728
Joined: 09 Jun 2009, 20:33

Re: Instance On Curve

Post by NNois » 23 Mar 2016, 12:22

humm now i think about it i might have on time generated another compound for a project based on the hardcoded "Get Position on Curve" from EM tools wayyy faster !

julca
Posts: 145
Joined: 07 Sep 2012, 14:24

Re: Instance On Curve

Post by julca » 23 Mar 2016, 12:44

Hello Jasper,

I'm sorry but this addon doesn't work with merged curves.
But I'm pretty sure there is a way to capture all point cloud generated data into one big other.
I didn't have time to look at this right now but if you still follow this way let me now if you can't do it.

Friendly.

User avatar
druitre
Posts: 465
Joined: 25 Jun 2009, 23:35

Re: Instance On Curve

Post by druitre » 23 Mar 2016, 13:08

Hi Julca, thanks for the answer, I'm trying out NNois's idea, hope it will work.

NNois, thanks! I'm not getting everything right yet but the concept is working, all subcurves get instances in one tree.

I'm still up for that wayyyy faster compound, though! :)

-Jasper

NNois
Posts: 728
Joined: 09 Jun 2009, 20:33

Re: Instance On Curve

Post by NNois » 23 Mar 2016, 13:26

hum, i'm in another world now without softimage... if you can't get this one right I can boot on windows to dig and try to find this one
Last edited by NNois on 23 Mar 2016, 13:31, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
druitre
Posts: 465
Joined: 25 Jun 2009, 23:35

Re: Instance On Curve

Post by druitre » 23 Mar 2016, 13:28

NNois, I think i'm doing something wrong with your script - I keep getting a 'could not find node: NN Curve Tool Data Provider' message, nor a menu entry for NN Curve Tools.

The instancer does work though, but only in 'evenly spaced - fixed' mode.

How do I install the .js? That would likely fix that?

NNois
Posts: 728
Joined: 09 Jun 2009, 20:33

Re: Instance On Curve

Post by NNois » 23 Mar 2016, 13:34

yes this will fix that.
Just install it in your workgroup in Workgroup/name/Application/Plugins/nnCurveTool.js

then restart soft it will show up

User avatar
druitre
Posts: 465
Joined: 25 Jun 2009, 23:35

Re: Instance On Curve

Post by druitre » 23 Mar 2016, 14:43

Thanks NNois, that works - it gives the menu and I can generate the data on the curve. So far, i'm still not getting anything useful besides the 'evenly spaced - fixed' mode though. In 'per span' nothing happens and in 'evenly spaced - spacing ratio' I see random isolated instances popping up, about four or five here and there, no matter how I set the values, or with which curves I try it.

NNois
Posts: 728
Joined: 09 Jun 2009, 20:33

Re: Instance On Curve

Post by NNois » 23 Mar 2016, 14:48

sorry for that..
Try this older version that i know for sure is working https://www.dropbox.com/s/ou4spoa9cq0dthb/NN%20Generate%20On%20Curve.1.4.xsicompound?dl=0

NNois
Posts: 728
Joined: 09 Jun 2009, 20:33

Re: Instance On Curve

Post by NNois » 23 Mar 2016, 14:54

evenly spaced - spacing ratio -> gives you an uniform spacing of instances regardless of the lenght of the curve
fixed -> gives you a fixed number of curve per sub curve
per-span -> forget this one this is using the position between each points

User avatar
druitre
Posts: 465
Joined: 25 Jun 2009, 23:35

Re: Instance On Curve

Post by druitre » 23 Mar 2016, 15:38

Thanks NNois, you're being very helpful. But still the same though - what it looks like, is it's only generating one instance per subcurve in 'spacing ratio' mode.

I attached a very simple scene, if you could have a look that would be great, otherwise I'll just continue with some other ideas.

thanks,
Jasper

[edit - link updated]
https://www.dropbox.com/s/h8eurjqbmgacn ... t.rar?dl=0
Last edited by druitre on 25 Mar 2016, 12:23, edited 2 times in total.

NNois
Posts: 728
Joined: 09 Jun 2009, 20:33

Re: Instance On Curve

Post by NNois » 23 Mar 2016, 16:08

ok i'll test that in some hours

NNois
Posts: 728
Joined: 09 Jun 2009, 20:33

Re: Instance On Curve

Post by NNois » 23 Mar 2016, 18:16

hehe, your zip was the scn.toc file...
Anyway, here is a test scene for you with the 1.7 version

https://www.dropbox.com/s/vq0t7v3yv26rk ... e.zip?dl=0
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
druitre
Posts: 465
Joined: 25 Jun 2009, 23:35

Re: Instance On Curve

Post by druitre » 25 Mar 2016, 16:29

Oops, fixed it (if just for posterity's sake, nothing really to be gained there).

And thanks for the scene, busy atm but will have a look asap.

User avatar
druitre
Posts: 465
Joined: 25 Jun 2009, 23:35

Re: Instance On Curve

Post by druitre » 31 Mar 2016, 11:11

Hi NNois,

your 'druitre' scene works. But when I do the same setup it doesn't... Only when I copy the compound from your pointcloud I can get it to work. What could I be doing wrong?

(So, I tried with new curve and with yours, with new pointcloud and with yours, and only when I use the compound copied from your pointcloud it will work, either with my own curve or yours. I also exported the compound to my workgroup over the 1.7 I already had, but it still doesn't work. All nodes inside are okay, nothing red. I checked and my data provider script is the 1.7 version)