Array tool

User avatar
Memag
Posts: 339
Joined: 09 Aug 2010, 01:37
Location: Tits

Array tool

Post by Memag » 19 Apr 2011, 20:25

Hey,

this is my attempt to cope with ICE. I guess it is some kind of array tool.
I apologize if I spam and if I missed already posted Array tool.
There is plugin included so you can call Array tool from EDIT menu.
You still need to copy compound to your SI compound folder.

There are three sections to PPG.
MAIN,A and B. Plus some "per copy" and randomizing parameters on the bottom so check them out as well.
If "add" mode doesn't give you nice transitions try "interpolate", preferably for A and B section parameters.
In most cases all you'll need is "Nb of copies MAIN,A,B" (huh??) and MAIN section of PPG, but if you want you can't get crazy with it.

Some interesting stuff can be done as there are plenty of number sliders to drag.
Even some motion graphics for 3rd world TV commercials.
Please have in mind I'm a newbie when it comes to ICE, so it's messy and what not.
I am not responsible if it crashes your two week work and you can't recover it.


Unihorn puppies assemble!!!
(ouch for those in front rows)

Image
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by Memag on 21 Apr 2011, 13:57, edited 7 times in total.

User avatar
Maximus
Posts: 1006
Joined: 09 Jun 2009, 15:45

Re: Array tool

Post by Maximus » 19 Apr 2011, 21:36

hm tried to install it but nothing happens!
it doesnt install the addon, tried drag and drop in viewport also from file -> addon->install
dunno whats wrong

User avatar
Memag
Posts: 339
Joined: 09 Aug 2010, 01:37
Location: Tits

Re: Array tool

Post by Memag » 19 Apr 2011, 21:41

Hmm, don't know. I am not experienced with packing addons.
Are you on 2012?
Last edited by Memag on 20 Apr 2011, 01:24, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Maximus
Posts: 1006
Joined: 09 Jun 2009, 15:45

Re: Array tool

Post by Maximus » 19 Apr 2011, 21:45

hm nope :D doesnt work, i'm on 2011!
did you export it with the traditional way? right click on the compound -> export compound?

User avatar
Memag
Posts: 339
Joined: 09 Aug 2010, 01:37
Location: Tits

Re: Array tool

Post by Memag » 19 Apr 2011, 21:48

Sorry, it uses modeling compounds which are found in 2012.

User avatar
Maximus
Posts: 1006
Joined: 09 Jun 2009, 15:45

Re: Array tool

Post by Maximus » 19 Apr 2011, 21:51

hm yeah my bad, it doesnt work on 2012 either

gives this strings:


' ERROR : 21000-EDIT-AddICECompoundNode - Unspecified failure
AddICECompoundNode , "pointcloud.pointcloud.ICETree"

when i create a point cloud and drag and drop the compound to ICE tree

User avatar
Memag
Posts: 339
Joined: 09 Aug 2010, 01:37
Location: Tits

Re: Array tool

Post by Memag » 19 Apr 2011, 22:02

Damn, I create ICE tree on "empty poly mesh" (or desired object but it works a bit differently due to nested stuff)
then import the compound,
plug in the source object and it works.
Sorry.

Edit: looks like "create copies from polymesh" doesn't work well with ICE tree set on point cloud.
Last edited by Memag on 20 Apr 2011, 00:52, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Maximus
Posts: 1006
Joined: 09 Jun 2009, 15:45

Re: Array tool

Post by Maximus » 19 Apr 2011, 22:31

well lets wait for someone else to try it, i cant import it in any way i try, even with empty polymesh, sorry :/

User avatar
Memag
Posts: 339
Joined: 09 Aug 2010, 01:37
Location: Tits

Re: Array tool

Post by Memag » 19 Apr 2011, 22:38

Yeah, it's scavenged and messy and it would be weird if it did work at all.

User avatar
origin
Posts: 619
Joined: 09 Jun 2009, 11:59
Location: warsaw

Re: Array tool

Post by origin » 19 Apr 2011, 22:41

It works, thanks. Maximus, you probably rightclick-saved it. Its hosted on rapidshare so you need to leftclick the link ;)

User avatar
Memag
Posts: 339
Joined: 09 Aug 2010, 01:37
Location: Tits

Re: Array tool

Post by Memag » 19 Apr 2011, 22:46

I attached rar archive in the first post, as well.

User avatar
ActionArt
Posts: 853
Joined: 25 Nov 2010, 18:23
Location: Canada

Re: Array tool

Post by ActionArt » 19 Apr 2011, 22:52

Thanks Memeg. It seems to work fine for me and very useful.

User avatar
Memag
Posts: 339
Joined: 09 Aug 2010, 01:37
Location: Tits

Re: Array tool

Post by Memag » 19 Apr 2011, 22:54

Good, there is only compound as of now.
Please improve and clean the compound as you see fit.
Thanks.

User avatar
Maximus
Posts: 1006
Joined: 09 Jun 2009, 15:45

Re: Array tool

Post by Maximus » 19 Apr 2011, 23:02

oh yeah i used right click save as :D
thanks Origin!
now it works Memag, this is great! well done!!

User avatar
Memag
Posts: 339
Joined: 09 Aug 2010, 01:37
Location: Tits

Re: Array tool

Post by Memag » 19 Apr 2011, 23:20

Glad you like it.
It's basically create copies from poly mesh.
It can be improved and cleaned up, but I don't have much time right now.
Cheers.

SreckoM
Posts: 187
Joined: 25 Jul 2010, 00:18
Skype: srecko.micic

Re: Array tool

Post by SreckoM » 20 Apr 2011, 21:02

Odlicno druze, hvala!

***************

Great Memag, thanks!
- H -