PhysX 2.83 + Cuda GPU ???

Discussions about simulation, hair and cloth in SOFTIMAGE©
User avatar
Hirazi Blue
Administrator
Posts: 4973
Joined: 04 Jun 2009, 12:15

Re: PhysX 2.83 + Cuda GPU ???

Post by Hirazi Blue » 19 Jul 2010, 11:58

Well the lack of response from Autodesk|Softimage on this topic is actually the most shocking to me,
as they still actively advertise the feature on their product page and the accompanying Softimage 2011 brochure

Merely logging the words “PhysX Hardware is Enabled” in the script editor
isn't really my idea of a new feature... 8-}

And ever since I started protesting the lack of this feature too much, my Support Request of this feature
seems to have been conveniently swept under the carpet also. :-?

So I am least glad, that I'm not alone in not getting this mystery feature to work... :ymparty:
But that's hardly a real consolation to anyone, now is it? ;)
...

User avatar
owei
Administrator
Posts: 826
Joined: 03 Jun 2009, 17:25
Location: Siegen/Germany

Re: PhysX 2.83 + Cuda GPU ???

Post by owei » 19 Jul 2010, 12:57

Hi!

As far as I can tell, there is no change in performance while enabling and disabling the PhysX engine via the NVIDIA control panel, restarting soft and loading the scene again. All the same framerate on certain scenes. What a pity!

cheers,
oliver

Mounty2010
Posts: 4
Joined: 19 Jul 2010, 04:16

Re: PhysX 2.83 + Cuda GPU ???

Post by Mounty2010 » 22 Jul 2010, 00:34

I've written an email to nvidia and told them the physx problem.
I also told them that i spend 1.000 EUR on a Quadro FX 4800 to
benefit of PhysX and CUDA in softimage 2011. Maybe nvidia can
tell us what the problem is about. And i asked for a PhysX Plugin
for "older" softimage versions, because the crap is not working
"build in" Softimage 2011. Maybe they will develop an external
plugin for softimage, because they already did for Max & Maya.

I read in the autodesk forum that we should "ignore the physx cpu"
message and only look for "PhysX hardware enabled" message in the
script editor. But this cant be seriuos and must be a joke, because
everybody can proof that it is only CPU PhysX by watching the win
taskmanager. U can also proof this by switching between cpu and
gpu physx in nvidia control panel - there is no difference at all.

User avatar
Hirazi Blue
Administrator
Posts: 4973
Joined: 04 Jun 2009, 12:15

Re: PhysX 2.83 + Cuda GPU ???

Post by Hirazi Blue » 22 Jul 2010, 16:44

Please let us now, what Nvidia answers... :ympray:
I guess they will simply say that the problem (if they even admit to one)
lies on Softimage's side.
But it might be interesting, what they actually say...

Still no comment from AD|Softimage... ^#(^ :-

Maybe I should move this thread to a subforum I know even "they" visit? =))
...

Mounty2010
Posts: 4
Joined: 19 Jul 2010, 04:16

Re: PhysX 2.83 + Cuda GPU ???

Post by Mounty2010 » 23 Jul 2010, 22:01

Sorry, no update today ... but a question to you all:

Maybe this PhysX CPU Problem is operating system related ?
I used Softimage 2011 (SP1) on a WinXP SP2 32Bit System.

I'm going to install WinXP SP2 x64 @ weekend for testing.
And then i will try Softimage 2011 (SP1) x86 and x64.
But i wont install Win7 ... never ever. So this test has
to be done by someone else please.

It's just a suggestion, because i will do everything to find
out why PhysX GPU (hardware) is not working in SI2011.
I dont believe that this "bug" is os related, but i have to
find out by myself.

User avatar
Hirazi Blue
Administrator
Posts: 4973
Joined: 04 Jun 2009, 12:15

Re: PhysX 2.83 + Cuda GPU ???

Post by Hirazi Blue » 23 Jul 2010, 22:29

I use Vista Business x64 (and you guessed it already: it doesn't work!) ;)
Tested SI2011 and SI2011SP1 both
...

User avatar
xsisupport
Posts: 713
Joined: 09 Jun 2009, 11:02
Location: Montreal Canada

Re: PhysX 2.83 + Cuda GPU ???

Post by xsisupport » 27 Jul 2010, 22:39

Hirazi Blue wrote:Please let us now, what Nvidia answers... :ympray:
I guess they will simply say that the problem (if they even admit to one)
lies on Softimage's side.
But it might be interesting, what they actually say...

Still no comment from AD|Softimage... ^#(^ :-

Maybe I should move this thread to a subforum I know even "they" visit? =))
Hi

I can't find your other post anymore to reply to it.

This issue is logged for futher investigation.
At this time, I don't have any more news or any possible workarounds.
// Steve Blair
// "You're not a runner, you're just a guy who runs" -- my wife
//
// My Blogs: Arnold | Softimage

User avatar
Hirazi Blue
Administrator
Posts: 4973
Joined: 04 Jun 2009, 12:15

Re: PhysX 2.83 + Cuda GPU ???

Post by Hirazi Blue » 27 Jul 2010, 22:42

Thanks for finally saying something in public about this topic :-bd
This still leaves some questions unanswered, obviously,
but it's good to know the problem can be officially confirmed
and it's an official topic of investigation still...
;)

edit: and yes, I removed the other topic... ^#(^
...

Mounty2010
Posts: 4
Joined: 19 Jul 2010, 04:16

Re: PhysX 2.83 + Cuda GPU ???

Post by Mounty2010 » 28 Jul 2010, 16:42

Some news from nvidia (had to translate into english):
We (nvidia) were able to reproduce the problem and
we are working on a solution together with autodesk.

iamVFX
Posts: 697
Joined: 24 Sep 2010, 18:28

Re: PhysX 2.83 + Cuda GPU ???

Post by iamVFX » 24 Sep 2010, 18:32

...and what? Problem is solved?

User avatar
Hirazi Blue
Administrator
Posts: 4973
Joined: 04 Jun 2009, 12:15

Re: PhysX 2.83 + Cuda GPU ???

Post by Hirazi Blue » 24 Sep 2010, 19:39

No, xsisupport stated the problem is being (actively) investigated...
And the confirmation of that fact basically is all we can hope for at the moment! ;)

Might just as well be fixed in SI2011.5, who knows? (Wishful thinking :D )
...

iamVFX
Posts: 697
Joined: 24 Sep 2010, 18:28

Re: PhysX 2.83 + Cuda GPU ???

Post by iamVFX » 24 Sep 2010, 19:46

Hirazi Blue wrote:Might just as well be fixed in SI2011.5, who knows? (Wishful thinking :D )
let's pray for that! :ymhug:

User avatar
Hirazi Blue
Administrator
Posts: 4973
Joined: 04 Jun 2009, 12:15

Re: PhysX 2.83 + Cuda GPU ???

Post by Hirazi Blue » 17 Oct 2010, 09:36

Not to drag this up unnecessarily, merely to put it to rest: It looks like the "CUDA acceleration for PhysX RDB" isn't mentioned in the "fix list" for SI2011.5, while it doesn't appear in the "known issues" list either. If its not fixed and not an issue, does that mean Softimage has given up on this feature altogether? The status of this issue has become slightly unclear to me...
:-? ;)
...

User avatar
Hirazi Blue
Administrator
Posts: 4973
Joined: 04 Jun 2009, 12:15

Re: PhysX 2.83 + Cuda GPU ???

Post by Hirazi Blue » 12 Apr 2011, 12:08

Yes: the topic that refuses to die... :D
While looking at the features page for SI2012 I find the somewhat shocking assertion that you can
Leverage NVIDIA® CUDA enabled GPUs for even faster performance
Does this mean this will finally work in SI2012 or is this just a case of "oops, we did it again"?
(And yes, I admit, I lost the will to once again test it myself... (-| )
;)
...

User avatar
ActionArt
Posts: 853
Joined: 25 Nov 2010, 18:23
Location: Canada

Re: PhysX 2.83 + Cuda GPU ???

Post by ActionArt » 12 Apr 2011, 14:49

Oh come on Hirazi! I was counting on you to confirm or discredit this :D

You have the experience to determine the truth /:)

User avatar
xsisupport
Posts: 713
Joined: 09 Jun 2009, 11:02
Location: Montreal Canada

Re: PhysX 2.83 + Cuda GPU ???

Post by xsisupport » 12 Apr 2011, 15:12

Hirazi Blue wrote:Not to drag this up unnecessarily, merely to put it to rest: It looks like the "CUDA acceleration for PhysX RDB" isn't mentioned in the "fix list" for SI2011.5, while it doesn't appear in the "known issues" list either. If its not fixed and not an issue, does that mean Softimage has given up on this feature altogether? The status of this issue has become slightly unclear to me...
:-? ;)
It's a logged issue, open issue.
// Steve Blair
// "You're not a runner, you're just a guy who runs" -- my wife
//
// My Blogs: Arnold | Softimage