Cache points after polygonizer

Discussions about simulation, hair and cloth in SOFTIMAGE©
Ramon
Posts: 111
Joined: 19 Aug 2010, 22:47

Cache points after polygonizer

Post by Ramon » 12 Mar 2011, 23:55

Hi! Made litle mesh by polygonizer, first simulate and write, than only read, than apply fluid shaper and try to cashe this mesh. I freeze my mesh after polygonizer and fluid shaper and try to read my cache files. don`t do this not in icecache not in pc2. Cache files written, but mesh still like freeze. Possible to write point cache after polygonizer?
Thanks in advance!

User avatar
Hirazi Blue
Administrator
Posts: 4973
Joined: 04 Jun 2009, 12:15

Re: Cache points after polygonizer

Post by Hirazi Blue » 13 Mar 2011, 08:50

I think I read somewhere you have to cache Polygonizer stuff using the built-in Polygonizer caching system you'll find on the "Polygonizer Property Editor" utilizing Polygonizers very own proprietary ".emp2" file format.
I might however very well be mistaken...
...

Ramon
Posts: 111
Joined: 19 Aug 2010, 22:47

Re: Cache points after polygonizer

Post by Ramon » 13 Mar 2011, 10:41

I already cache polygonizer by his emp2 files and do read in options, I want to cache after polygonizer cache, I mean cache in pc2 or icecache. Because after cache polygonizer I use Lagoa fluid shaper and want cache this new mesh!

User avatar
Hirazi Blue
Administrator
Posts: 4973
Joined: 04 Jun 2009, 12:15

Re: Cache points after polygonizer

Post by Hirazi Blue » 13 Mar 2011, 10:47

Sorry, I totally misread your question (in my defense: it was still early) :ymblushing:
...

User avatar
CiaranM
Posts: 87
Joined: 09 Jun 2009, 01:37
Location: London

Re: Cache points after polygonizer

Post by CiaranM » 13 Mar 2011, 13:08

You can cache to either of those formats after you apply the fluid shaper - just use the reular cache manager or cache on file node. But if your polygonizer mesh is changing over time, then it won't work, since I don't think either of those formats supports changing topology.
The workflow you have now - applying fluid shaper to an emPolygonizer cache should be just fine. Usually the fluid shaper is pretty fast so you won't lose much by using it that way.

Ramon
Posts: 111
Joined: 19 Aug 2010, 22:47

Re: Cache points after polygonizer

Post by Ramon » 13 Mar 2011, 15:36

that is the question! mesh after cache polygonizer is animating and task is cache in pc2 to use in MAX!
OK if I understand there is no way to do it!!! too bad.

User avatar
CiaranM
Posts: 87
Joined: 09 Jun 2009, 01:37
Location: London

Re: Cache points after polygonizer

Post by CiaranM » 13 Mar 2011, 15:46

You could try exporting .obj sequences from Softimage and importing into Max.

Ramon
Posts: 111
Joined: 19 Aug 2010, 22:47

Re: Cache points after polygonizer

Post by Ramon » 13 Mar 2011, 16:03

Thanks CiaranM!