Page 1 of 1

Distributed Rendering in XSI ?

Posted: 12 Apr 2015, 02:54
by alias3ds
Hi all

I was wondering how to realize the Distributed Rendering in Softimage? I've already tried many many times,but it still doesn't work. :(

Thanks for any info.

Alias

Re: Distributed Rendering in XSI ?

Posted: 12 Apr 2015, 17:56
by Draise
If I understand what you are looking for..... You could do this with Frame Distribution and batch script rendering from a server.

I do this the "hard" yet simple way of

Code: Select all

-skip true 
bit in a *.bat script. Run the script on loop on all nodes from the server (1 batch script), it will start a loop of the script in the nodes. Then I modify the batch script with the scene you want to be rendered using the

Code: Select all

-r -scene
bit. Then if the scene is set right, or when needed I override settings in the script, it loads from the server, then renders back to the server - all nodes rendering with frame distribution (one frame, then the next, then jump the ones done, then the next, etc).

You just have to call the setnv.bat at the start of the batch script, then call the XSIBatch.exe on each scene, or refer to it earlier on in the script.

Works for all render engines - redshift, arnold, mentalray. Well.. those are the ones I've tried.

Here's the setnv.bat:
"C:\Program Files\Autodesk\Softimage [version]\Application\bin\setenv.bat"
Here's the XSIBatch.exe
"C:\Program Files\Autodesk\Softimage [version]\Application\bin\XSIBatch.exe"

Example with some overrides:

Code: Select all

@echo off
call "C:\Program Files\Autodesk\Softimage 2013\Application\bin\setenv.bat" 

call "C:\Program Files\Autodesk\Softimage [version]\Application\bin\XSIBatch.exe" -r -scene "\\SERVER\Projects\<project>\<folder>\<scene>" -verbose prog -skip true -startframe <startframe> -endframe <endframe> -pass <pass> -filename "\\SERVER\Renders\<project>_RENDERS\<shot>\<filename>"

pause
There are render farm managers out there, but none that I know of for free.

Re: Distributed Rendering in XSI ?

Posted: 14 Apr 2015, 05:22
by alias3ds
Wow, thanks very much!! Now I know how to perform batch script rendering. :)

But... I want to know whether can realize distributed rendering under the user interface in the XSI?
I inputted the IP address of the slave computer in the User Tools Editor, but it doesn't work. See the attachment.

Do you have any idea what the problem it is? Thank you.

Alias

Re: Distributed Rendering in XSI ?

Posted: 14 Apr 2015, 09:14
by luceric
google "satellite rendering softimage"

Re: Distributed Rendering in XSI ?

Posted: 14 Apr 2015, 11:05
by Hirazi Blue
Google? Really, luceric? That's your reply? ;)

Re: Distributed Rendering in XSI ?

Posted: 14 Apr 2015, 14:36
by caledonian_tartan
we used to have great support from master steve blair.
it's still around

Re: Distributed Rendering in XSI ?

Posted: 14 Apr 2015, 15:11
by Draise
Good reads.