create custom ice compound

Discussions concerning programming of SOFTIMAGE©
caledonian_tartan
Posts: 253
Joined: 17 Feb 2010, 15:13

create custom ice compound

Post by caledonian_tartan » 09 Jul 2013, 11:55

hello

i try to create a custom ice node.
i'm such a noob with cpp and compiling.

is it possible to compile with the new visual studio 2013/2012, although the ice wizard just has 2008/2010 as an option?

ähh... is Visual Studio for free..? i guess no...

or can i also use express?
SI 2015 @ WIN7-64

Eugen
Posts: 331
Joined: 10 Jan 2010, 12:40
Location: Vienna/Austria
Contact:

Re: create custom ice compound

Post by Eugen » 10 Jul 2013, 10:27

Without going in all the details:
yes, you can use Visual Studio Express, even the newest version. This is not officially supported, though - which does not mean it won't work.

However, you will need http://www.cmake.org/ to create a .vcxproj file working with VS2012.
How-to video from Steven Caron:
https://vimeo.com/41179344

Download his tape measure addon, also FindSoftimage.cmake here:
https://github.com/caron/TapeMeasure

- place the files, including your .cpp, in the right directories as shown in his example
- edit CMakeLists.txt to match your project
- run CMake, Configure, Generate

CMake will create a bunch of folders and files, including the .vcxproj file you can open with VS2012.


Hope this will help getting you started.
Best,
Eugen

caledonian_tartan
Posts: 253
Joined: 17 Feb 2010, 15:13

Re: create custom ice compound

Post by caledonian_tartan » 10 Jul 2013, 14:01

thank you very much!
i'll go this way
SI 2015 @ WIN7-64

caledonian_tartan
Posts: 253
Joined: 17 Feb 2010, 15:13

Re: create custom ice compound

Post by caledonian_tartan » 11 Jul 2013, 09:33

as the softimage ice compound wizard creates a .vcxproj file i installed VS2010express and opened it.
but what now? how to export/compile this?
could this also work?

i also tried with cmake but had no success so far. i guess i need to install windows sdk or something.
SI 2015 @ WIN7-64

Eugen
Posts: 331
Joined: 10 Jan 2010, 12:40
Location: Vienna/Austria
Contact:

Re: create custom ice compound

Post by Eugen » 11 Jul 2013, 10:30

RMB in the VS Solution Explorer on your project file's name > "Build", or F7.
The most common source for errors is Visual Studio not finding the Softimage SDK makefiles and all that stuff.
You won't need any "windows SDK".


True, CMake is a bit tricky to set up, but you really need to go through the hassle once.
2 files are neede:
- CMakeLists.txt is where you fill in your plugin's name.
- FindSoftimage.cmake is where you fill in the information where your Softimage SDK is installed at.

As I said, both come with Steven Caron's code example. Edit the files accordingly, then create this folder structure for your c++ project:

ProjectXY
...[build]
...[CMake]
......[Modules]
.........FindSoftimage.cmake
...ProjectXY.cpp
...CMakeLists.txt

CMake hint: to start fresh, click "File > Delete Cache".
Browse source and build directories.
Click "Configure", choose "Visual Studio 11 Win64" (VS 2012) or "Visual Studio 10 Win64" (VS 2010)... I think.
Click "Generate".


After CMake was run, you will find a ProjectXY.vcxproj in folder [build].
Open it in VS, then RMB "ALL_BUILD" > Build.

caledonian_tartan
Posts: 253
Joined: 17 Feb 2010, 15:13

Re: create custom ice compound

Post by caledonian_tartan » 11 Jul 2013, 11:19

in cmake i get this error, following your manual.

Code: Select all

CMake Error at CMakeLists.txt:3 (project):
  Cannot enable 64-bit tools with Visual Studio 2010 Express.

  Install the Microsoft Windows SDK v7.1 to get 64-bit tools:

    http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/bb980924.aspx
in VS2010 express i don't have any build option on rightclick. also F7 doesn't do anything.
SI 2015 @ WIN7-64

Eugen
Posts: 331
Joined: 10 Jan 2010, 12:40
Location: Vienna/Austria
Contact:

Re: create custom ice compound

Post by Eugen » 11 Jul 2013, 11:34

Right, I forgot:
VS Express 2012 is the first one to support 64bit (without hacks). Go get this one.

caledonian_tartan
Posts: 253
Joined: 17 Feb 2010, 15:13

Re: create custom ice compound

Post by caledonian_tartan » 11 Jul 2013, 14:10

just installed VS2012express.

still no option to "build"...

strange
SI 2015 @ WIN7-64

Eugen
Posts: 331
Joined: 10 Jan 2010, 12:40
Location: Vienna/Austria
Contact:

Re: create custom ice compound

Post by Eugen » 11 Jul 2013, 14:34

You're a little sparse with your information.
What do you mean, still no option to build? Is that menu entry missing? Hard to imagine, because that is the whole point of Visual Studio.

And did you try CMake?

caledonian_tartan
Posts: 253
Joined: 17 Feb 2010, 15:13

Re: create custom ice compound

Post by caledonian_tartan » 11 Jul 2013, 16:07

that is the whole point of Visual Studio
and that's what confuses me :-\

i did not get around errors with cmake.
so i installed VS2012express and opened the .vcxproj generated by the softimage ice compound wizard.
when it is open i cannot find a build option.
vs12.jpg

EDIT: I found it. it did not really open as a project...
Last edited by caledonian_tartan on 11 Jul 2013, 16:57, edited 1 time in total.
SI 2015 @ WIN7-64

User avatar
xsisupport
Posts: 713
Joined: 09 Jun 2009, 11:02
Location: Montreal Canada
Contact:

Re: create custom ice compound

Post by xsisupport » 11 Jul 2013, 16:35

// Steve Blair
// "You're not a runner, you're just a guy who runs" -- my wife
//
// My Blogs: Arnold | Softimage

caledonian_tartan
Posts: 253
Joined: 17 Feb 2010, 15:13

Re: create custom ice compound

Post by caledonian_tartan » 12 Jul 2013, 11:34

hey steve

how did you open the project?
with cmake or directly from the .vcsproj generated by SI?
SI 2015 @ WIN7-64

User avatar
xsisupport
Posts: 713
Joined: 09 Jun 2009, 11:02
Location: Montreal Canada
Contact:

Re: create custom ice compound

Post by xsisupport » 12 Jul 2013, 12:16

caledonian_tartan wrote:hey steve

how did you open the project?
with cmake or directly from the .vcsproj generated by SI?
In the Softimage Plug-in Manager,
-Generate a custom ICE node.
-Right click plugins folder and click Open Command Prompt

In command prompt
-Start VC++ Express
-Open the project
// Steve Blair
// "You're not a runner, you're just a guy who runs" -- my wife
//
// My Blogs: Arnold | Softimage

caledonian_tartan
Posts: 253
Joined: 17 Feb 2010, 15:13

Re: create custom ice compound

Post by caledonian_tartan » 12 Jul 2013, 14:42

thanks

like that i can open it as a project now.

also following this i cannot use Win64 nor select windows skd 7. (it's installed)

there's just an error while building

Code: Select all

LINK : fatal error LNK1104: cannot open file 'sicppsdk.lib'
SI 2015 @ WIN7-64

User avatar
xsisupport
Posts: 713
Joined: 09 Jun 2009, 11:02
Location: Montreal Canada
Contact:

Re: create custom ice compound

Post by xsisupport » 12 Jul 2013, 15:40

I don't remember the specifics any more, but I think I just did a Google search and then followed the instructions here.

Moderator edit: I removed my own post to prevent confusion
and I moved the thread to Programming where it will feel more at home - HB
// Steve Blair
// "You're not a runner, you're just a guy who runs" -- my wife
//
// My Blogs: Arnold | Softimage

caledonian_tartan
Posts: 253
Joined: 17 Feb 2010, 15:13

Re: create custom ice compound

Post by caledonian_tartan » 12 Jul 2013, 16:36

i tried to follow all of those.

i cannot select the windows SDK as a platform toolset.
You may need to point the SDK to your instance of Visual Studio by running the Windows SDK Configuration Tool. You may also find it necessary to reinstall Visual Studio 2010 Express.
i don't find Windows SDK Configuration Tool.
SI 2015 @ WIN7-64

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 25 guests