tips for wiper animation - using constrains

Discussions about animating in SOFTIMAGE©
wannabeArtist

tips for wiper animation - using constrains

Post by wannabeArtist » 08 Jan 2010, 17:07

Hello,

I am a total beginner with animation and after couple of hours of trial-and-error I decided to ask if I'm on the right track at all.
I had an idea to animate the wipers on my car model, but it seems I might have taken just a little too much to chew :D

1. I figured, I would want the wiper blade to stick to the windshield - I found the surface constrain and used that, even though I had to rebuild my windshield, because it was a polygon object.
Is there any smarter way to do this? Without using nurbs?

2. I parented the wiper to its arm and it seemed to work ok. But when I applied the surface constrain to the wiper, it broke of the arm!
How come? Is there an easy way to make the wiper stick to the arm and the surface?

Any general ideas or tutorial links for this sort of thing would be appreciated :)

Thanks!

Here are some screenshots:

craft

Re: tips for wiper animation - using constrains

Post by craft » 08 Jan 2010, 22:26

uhmmm i got an idea. let'me try and i'll hit you back in a moment

... ok, done.

i'll start off with some random nurbs, but this will apply to polygons aswell.

create a 2xn(as long as you want.. i'm using 4) polygon grid and aline it to your windshield like so, with the longer side pointing at where the wiper's rotation axis will be. Don't make it too wide - i might have overdone it in the pictures. it's better that the whole grid stays over the windshield when you animate the wiper

now go to deform>shrink wrap your grid to the windshiled. this will do the trick :)

now create 5(n+1) nulls. Use the constraint "object to cluster" in every one, to bind them to each vertex in the center edge loop of your grid. activate the tangent and normal