Replacing keyframes on the timeline

Discussions about animating in SOFTIMAGE©
Jho

Replacing keyframes on the timeline

Post by Jho » 06 Jun 2013, 15:21

Hi all.

I have been rigging and animating with Softimage for a few months now but haven't found a way to replace keyframes on the timeline. I tried to google it, but no luck.

What I mean is, I want to take a keyframe and drag it on top of another so that it replaces the old one.

I know I can copy and paste the keyframe and have already changed it in the settings that it doesn't merge the keyframes but that it replaces, but this didn't fix it for dragging. It just is a part of my workflow and buggs me that I can't do it. As far as I can tell, when I try to drag a keyframe on top of another, nothing happens.
Hidden content: [ Show ]
EDIT: Hid the picture so that it doesn't distract.

druitre

Re: Replacing keyframes on the timeline

Post by druitre » 06 Jun 2013, 15:43

Select key + ctrl-drag over other key = replace existing key works here

Jho

Post by Jho » 06 Jun 2013, 19:24

Thanks a lot druitre.
But I just want to move the key not duplicate it.
Granted, I only have to duplicate it and then delete the old one, but to me that's just a little less complicated than copy-pasteing.

It looks to me that Softimage is preventing me from replacing keys while dragging. Maybe a safety of some kind. Surely there is an option somewhere where I say that I don't need a safety like that, right?

druitre

Post by druitre » 07 Jun 2013, 15:14

Aah, you're right, that is annoying. When shifting keys, it wants to prevent you from overwriting existing ones. Like a safety. Let's see if we can disable that somewhere...

morin

Post by morin » 16 Jun 2013, 15:46

I have the same problem for years. I worked at different studios and with different softwares.