How to replace a geometry? (no reference model)

Discussions regarding modelling with SOFTIMAGE©
wesserbro
Posts: 165
Joined: 27 Oct 2012, 18:05

How to replace a geometry? (no reference model)

Post by wesserbro » 04 May 2017, 15:27

Hi all! I was just wondering if XSI allows us to replace actual vertex data in an object, keeping all the other things like transformation, dynamics, materials etc, intact?
xsi_replace.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
mattmos
Posts: 425
Joined: 02 Dec 2009, 16:59

Re: How to replace a geometry? (no reference model)

Post by mattmos » 04 May 2017, 15:53

I don't think so, though you could create geo via ICE and input diff vertex data there.

NNois
Posts: 718
Joined: 09 Jun 2009, 20:33

Re: How to replace a geometry? (no reference model)

Post by NNois » 04 May 2017, 16:02

yep you can simply get thoses data and set them in an ice tree

wesserbro
Posts: 165
Joined: 27 Oct 2012, 18:05

Re: How to replace a geometry? (no reference model)

Post by wesserbro » 04 May 2017, 16:14

i couldn't presume this ICE trick would work with legacy dynamics, but it does) Thanks!

User avatar
mattmos
Posts: 425
Joined: 02 Dec 2009, 16:59

Re: How to replace a geometry? (no reference model)

Post by mattmos » 04 May 2017, 16:24

Didn't think that would work either. Awesome!