camera and nulls : Blender to softimage

Forum for users who have migrated or are migrating to Blender
julius
Posts: 248
Joined: 12 Jun 2009, 10:56

camera and nulls : Blender to softimage

Post by julius » 17 Dec 2014, 09:38

hello,

I try to use blender to do some camera tracking tasks. But when the job is done in blender, I export my camera and objects via FBX ASCII exporter, but the result is very different in softimage (lots of shakes and slides that doesn't appear in blender)

Has anyone experienced Blender to softimage export ?

thanks

User avatar
Mathaeus
Posts: 1723
Joined: 08 Jun 2009, 21:11
Location: Zagreb, Croatia

Re: camera and nulls : Blender to softimage

Post by Mathaeus » 17 Dec 2014, 10:16

Tried only the opposite route, camera and scene from Softimage to Blender. Got it work by exporting FBX form SI, converting to Collada using Audtodesk FBX converter, importing Collada to Blender. Still, had to re construct the camera direction constraint in Blender - which is, surprisingly the same direction as in SI (-z axis for align, +y is up).
What you described, sounds like possible mismatch in frame rate, somewhere on the road.
The renderer "turtle" used by this scene, is not currently available. The "turtle" renderer will be used instead.

julius
Posts: 248
Joined: 12 Jun 2009, 10:56

Re: camera and nulls : Blender to softimage

Post by julius » 17 Dec 2014, 13:31

thanks Mathaeus,

I checked the frame rate, but it seems to be an other problem.

Don't understand what...

julius
Posts: 248
Joined: 12 Jun 2009, 10:56

Re: camera and nulls : Blender to softimage

Post by julius » 17 Dec 2014, 14:42

ok, I founded what the problem was :

It was the start offset. Although it was the same for both blender and softimage, I tried to set the softimage one to 0 instead of 1, and wow ! Magic ! It works !