Transition to Blender?

Forum for users who have migrated or are migrating to Blender
Hirazi Blue
Administrator

Transition to Blender?

Post by Hirazi Blue » 08 Sep 2014, 23:26

As my dire financial situation forces me to seriously reconsider my stance on Blender, I was wondering if anyone of you knows of a good training resource for Blender that isn't geared towards the absolute beginner in 3D, but towards someone with plenty of experience with 3D software (you know the one I mean).
Stay safe, sane & healthy!

Mathaeus

Re: Transition to Blender?

Post by Mathaeus » 09 Sep 2014, 00:30

Blender Diplom is a bit more advanced than average, perhaps Blender Guru. Cg Cookie sometimes has some nice files for download, for render testing and so on, but it is commercial - generally tutorials form this site are for beginners. For rigging and such, anything by Nathan Vegdahl.
Anyway as you said, most of Blender tuts are along line of "press Gkey, then Shift+Ctrl+AlT+D".

julius

Post by julius » 09 Sep 2014, 09:28

Hirazi

Don't be disapointed to point your attention to blender. After some weeks trying modo, maya, 3dsmax... I finally choose Blender which is more than a spare wheel for me.
It's not Softimage, but it is great and very capable (maybe more than Autodesk's softs). Now I have seen what Blender can do, I'm sure that it'll be included in professionnal world soon....And fuck Autodesk !

iamVFX

Post by iamVFX » 09 Sep 2014, 09:33

I found these tutorials really helpfull in my transition:

Blender 2.5 Crash Course [Part 1] - UI Customization/Modeling Functions
Blender 2.5 Crash Course [Part 2] - Modifiers Smoothing Groups and Retopo
Blender 2.5 Crash Course [Part 3] - Spin, Array Modifier and Curve Modifier