How to Install Mental Ray the Correct Way for Maya 2016

Forum for users who have migrated or are migrating to Maya
Rez007

How to Install Mental Ray the Correct Way for Maya 2016

Post by Rez007 » 27 Sep 2015, 21:21

Hello,

I am sure this is probably a beginner question, but it seems like I am blanking out, and I am a beginner to Maya. I have a question with regards to installing Mental Ray for Maya 2016.

I have "Maya with Softimage 2016" (network license) and I am using the "physical shipment" (the USB drive) to install Mental Ray. The folders that I have available on the USB to start are:

Maya
mentalraySatellite
Softimage2015

When I go into the "mentalraySatellite" folder, I only see a Satellite version of Mental Ray. Is this correct for a Network license? Do I just run that .exe to get going even if I want to install Mental Ray on a Master computer?

I just want to be sure I am installing it correctly before proceeding, this way I do not have to go back and redo something...

Thanks For the Help.

Hirazi Blue
Administrator

Re: How to Install Mental Ray the Correct Way for Maya 2016

Post by Hirazi Blue » 27 Sep 2015, 21:24

The Mental Ray plugin for Maya 2016 is a separate download... 8-}
And then you update to SP3 & the accompanying MR Plugin here.
Stay safe, sane & healthy!

Rez007

Post by Rez007 » 28 Sep 2015, 02:24

Hi Hirazi,