It is currently 27 Jul 2017, 18:52

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Cycles for Softimage
PostPosted: 05 Jul 2017, 17:32 
Offline
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: 03 Jun 2009, 17:25
Posts: 758
Location: Siegen/Germany
According to a post in the Softimage-Group on FB, this seems to be an integration of Blender´s Cycles into Softimage|XSI!

Check it out!

https://ssoftadd.github.io/syclesPage.html

Image

cheers,
oli

_________________
Founder of www.si-community.com
http://www.pixelpanic.de
http://www.uebertage.com - international UeberTage|2016 3D Usermeeting


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cycles for Softimage
PostPosted: 05 Jul 2017, 17:39 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: 26 Sep 2009, 15:51
Posts: 1296
Location: Bonn, Germany
Nice ! Was expecting something experimental when I saw it, but this looks very complete. Time to update my website ..

_________________
Image rray.de, a resource site for softimage, updated Oct 15th 2016


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cycles for Softimage
PostPosted: 05 Jul 2017, 19:04 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 19 Mar 2010, 00:38
Posts: 805
Location: St. Thomas, Ontario
The naming of some nodes gave me some though as it did not compare 100% with the cycle naming such as mixclosure versus mix nodes or color vs RGB nodes. "Closure" has a different use in OSL so it was a bit confusing to me why the author chose to use closure instead of shader as per the Cycle documentation. Cycle output nodes Material, Lamp or World are not there but not a big deal.

Some nodes are not 100% implemented (missing some cycle parameters) but it could be the integration to Softimage that prevented the full implementation, it's not needed or the node will be revised in future versions.

I would be interested to see the equivalent of a script node in future version, just to see if OSL could be implemented even if the first version is to read from a .osl file that cycle would convert to .oso.

Overall, with the added node compounds it's a very good version and quite complete.

_________________
$ifndef "Softimage"
set "Softimage" "true"
$endif


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cycles for Softimage
PostPosted: 05 Jul 2017, 19:38 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 04 Jun 2009, 12:08
Posts: 78
Location: Vienna
oh Nice
but as long as this stands..
"" Limitations:
No GPU, only CPU ""
Let´s hope they will manage that at some point.!?

_________________
http://www.leiss.at/
http://www.projectjennifer.at


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cycles for Softimage
PostPosted: 06 Jul 2017, 16:21 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 06 Jun 2011, 03:08
Posts: 266
Nice, but I thought Cycles was GPU based. This is only CPU.

_________________
http://www.j3d.ca


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cycles for Softimage
PostPosted: 06 Jul 2017, 16:27 
Offline
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: 03 Jun 2009, 17:25
Posts: 758
Location: Siegen/Germany
...yes, but CPU is not that bad! I did some tests and it looks interesting! Maybe the author will aim for a GPU version soon. by the way, who is the author? I did not found his name anywhere..

_________________
Founder of www.si-community.com
http://www.pixelpanic.de
http://www.uebertage.com - international UeberTage|2016 3D Usermeeting


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cycles for Softimage
PostPosted: 06 Jul 2017, 16:52 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: 26 Sep 2009, 15:51
Posts: 1296
Location: Bonn, Germany
Quote:
by the way, who is the author? I did not found his name anywhere..


Angel 07 (and lately Shekn) on this forum, also made this fabric engine retopo tool:
http://www.si-community.com/community/viewtopic.php?f=27&t=5960

He/she seems to prefer to keep it anonymous B-)

Other plugins by him/her :D
https://ssoftadd.github.io/

_________________
Image rray.de, a resource site for softimage, updated Oct 15th 2016


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cycles for Softimage
PostPosted: 06 Jul 2017, 17:56 
Offline

Joined: 30 Dec 2016, 21:18
Posts: 6
Hi there, let me give some comments.

1. I planed to release the Sycles addon here (I mean on si-community) later. The main reason - the "How to..." manual should be translated into english, because, in fact, there are no any other documentation for the Sycles addon. I think that such kind of short tutorials are enough. But translation into english is not so easy for me.

2. Cycles for Blender initially was developed as CPU-based with possibilities to use the GPU. CPU-render is fully functional, but GPU-render is still in experimental stage in Blender. I tried different approaches to make integration into Softimage with GPU support, but fail. So, GPU-support is under developing. I hope.

3. About names of shader nodes. Yes, there are some differences in names. I don't know Blender and how to use the Cycles at all. So, in integration I guided by Cycles API. Mix Shader node in Cycles source code is called MixClosureNode. That's why I used this name. The same for Color node and so on.

4. I think that it is possible to add OSL-support. I will try to add it in the next release.

5. Daniel Brassard, please say, what parameters of shader nodes are missing. May be I missed something, or may be some parameters are hard to implement due to the difference in logic of Blender and Softimage.

6. All shader nodes in Compounds category are actually compounds and they constructed from other elementary nodes. Utility category contains some technical nodes, which used in other compounds. Don't use these nodes at all. Shaders category (in Compounds category) contains analog of nodes from some shader packs for Blender. For example, three nodes cycSubstancePBR... are nodes from this pack. cycSkin shader is (as I remember) the port of Arnold skin shader to Cycles.

7. If you have some questions, problems, remarks or recommendations - please, write it here. I will try to help, if it will be possible.

_________________
https://ssoftadd.github.io/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cycles for Softimage
PostPosted: 06 Jul 2017, 18:18 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: 26 Sep 2009, 15:51
Posts: 1296
Location: Bonn, Germany
Thanks for showing up - very nice work btw :-bd

I'm sure you'll find somebody who helps with the translation here (via google doc or something). As a basis for that google translation russian-english works surprisingly well:

Quote:
Now the preparation time for the scene took less than a second. For this, the cache is intended. After each render, all the data about the objects exported to the engine is saved, and if the next time you need to render the previous object, then the saved data is used, and no new ones are created. The cache is not used in the following
Cases:
1. The object changes the number of vertices or polygons;
2. The number of subdivs or subdivision type changes (from linear to Catmull-Clark or vice versa).
mouth);
3. The index of the used uv-sweep changes;
4. The object shader requires an attribute that was not stored in the cache;
5. A full frame render takes place.
In connection with these, it is necessary to remember all the time about the following:
1. If an object has created a polygon cluster with new material, then render this
Note only when updating the cache;
2. If the object is deformed (bones, for example), then the renderer will not update the location of the vertices;
3. If the shader requires an attribute that can not be generated (for example, texture coordinates are needed, and there is no sweep at the object), then the geometry export will happen every time anew. To force to export all geometry each time anew, it is enough to turn off the Cache Mesh parameter in the Performance settings tab of the renderer.

_________________
Image rray.de, a resource site for softimage, updated Oct 15th 2016


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cycles for Softimage
PostPosted: 06 Jul 2017, 23:01 
Offline

Joined: 09 Jun 2011, 22:41
Posts: 160
This is great but also all the other addons youve created too - open subdiv ,cycles etc .This is better than most Autodesk releases.

I think they should all be packaged up and called xsi 2017 :D

Do you have any plans for any future addons ?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group