It is currently 01 Sep 2014, 15:40

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 32 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Maya nHair - how hard to repro?
PostPosted: 26 Apr 2012, 14:23 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 20 Mar 2011, 02:01
Posts: 306
Location: Leiden, the Netherlands
Hy guys i rarely look back at Maya but am quite impressed by the presentation of their new hair solver:



Now of course as usual it might not work so hot in practice but there are a two things i really llike:

1- the ability to generate hair from geo

2- the way it seems to hold it shape during simulation

Now i've played with Melena a little and especially 1 is nor possible afaik. This stuff might be do-able with Kristinka but as much as i think Anto's a great guy i find his stuff near impossible to comprehend...

EDIT: hmm embedded video isn't showing up in my browser: http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=xeWisUaz3bE

Moderator edit: Yes it does, if you use the tags correctly... ;;) - HB

Moderator edit, continued: Hovering over the tag name in the editor gives a short explanation,
more info can always be found in The tag FAQ - HB also, obviously


kp edit: whoops yeah i get now, sorry HB! :ymblushing:

_________________
My Nooby Animation Project
KP on DA


Last edited by Kerro Perro on 26 Apr 2012, 19:37, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Maya nHair - how hard to repro?
PostPosted: 26 Apr 2012, 18:38 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 12 Jan 2010, 16:51
Posts: 397
Location: Chicago, IL
The Maya nHair does look pretty impressive.

_________________
Co-Founder/Co-Owner 2GMG (2 Guys Making Games)
Creator of Blaster X HD https://itunes.apple.com/app/blaster-x-hd/id615851024?mt=8
http://www.facebook.com/2GMGames
http://www.twitter.com/2GMGames


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Maya nHair - how hard to repro?
PostPosted: 26 Apr 2012, 19:15 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 19 Apr 2010, 11:50
Posts: 606
Location: London, UnitedKingdom
Essentially its now the Nucleus solver that's driving nHair so it improves things abit.

I'm waiting to see some of this stuff though ;)
http://www.3dworldmag.com/2011/08/09/autodesk-gets-exclusive-licence-for-disneys-xgen-technology/

_________________
Graham Bell - Technical Specialist
Autodesk Media & Entertainment - EMEA
Any opinions expressed here are my own, and do not represent those of my employer.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Maya nHair - how hard to repro?
PostPosted: 26 Apr 2012, 19:35 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 20 Mar 2011, 02:01
Posts: 306
Location: Leiden, the Netherlands
Bellsey wrote:
Essentially its now the Nucleus solver that's driving nHair so it improves things abit.


Hmm yes but i really like the way the geometry seemed to generate a volume of hair - been thinking about it and this must be do-able in ICE: if you can fill a volume with particles why not with strands? I should look into this even though i have no need for it at all atm ;)

Bellsey wrote:


That sounds even more interesting!

_________________
My Nooby Animation Project
KP on DA


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Maya nHair - how hard to repro?
PostPosted: 26 Apr 2012, 20:01 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 02 Dec 2009, 17:59
Posts: 332
If you check out this guy's demo reel, he uses geometry extrusions and point indexing to generate a strand volume. Very cool stuff.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=579TxZhgapQ


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Maya nHair - how hard to repro?
PostPosted: 26 Apr 2012, 20:19 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 08 Jun 2009, 21:11
Posts: 1011
Location: Zagreb, Croatia
Kerro Perro wrote:
Hmm yes but i really like the way the geometry seemed to generate a volume of hair - been thinking about it and this must be do-able in ICE: if you can fill a volume with particles why not with strands? I should look into this even though i have no need for it at all atm ;)


Since ICE modeling in SI 2012, as well as SDK improvements in... 2011.5 I think, UI widgets an so... it should be *more* doable than before. I had something like, done even only with ICE in 7.01, but it was a whole small system, a lot copies of this or that just in order to work. Not that much for 'comprehend' :)
Definitively not just a fill in volume, decision about direction and distribution should be done, too. And this decision could affect the final look, dramatically. Achieving the acceptable final result, could take a lot of time, re-work of entire concept, so on.

Now someone *just* :) need to do that. I wouldn't, I don't need this...

Simulation engine looks interesting, don't know is it possible to do something like, using Syflex on curves, Momentum or so..


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Maya nHair - how hard to repro?
PostPosted: 26 Apr 2012, 20:35 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 09 Jun 2009, 11:59
Posts: 619
Location: warsaw
mesh based hair gen is cool, but if you worked with hairfarm for example, you know how annoying it can be...

_________________
http://vimeo.com/origin/videos


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Maya nHair - how hard to repro?
PostPosted: 26 Apr 2012, 20:38 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 20 Mar 2011, 02:01
Posts: 306
Location: Leiden, the Netherlands
@Mathaeus: Yeah as you told me before i should just get more familiar with "basic" ICE, it's just hard sometimes to study something so general - i tend to learn by crisis if you know what i mean ;)

Like the fact today i needed to make dynamic cables so i did some googling and found syflex curves > deformed the cable geo by curve > tada! B-)

Perhaps i'll take on the strands volume someday but as said i dont actualy need it either, I'd probably try to tackle the "ICE greeble" thing first - been wanting to do that one for a long time!

@Origin: Really? Why?

_________________
My Nooby Animation Project
KP on DA


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Maya nHair - how hard to repro?
PostPosted: 26 Apr 2012, 21:16 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 12 Jan 2010, 16:51
Posts: 397
Location: Chicago, IL
Bellsey wrote:
Essentially its now the Nucleus solver that's driving nHair so it improves things abit.

I'm waiting to see some of this stuff though ;)
http://www.3dworldmag.com/2011/08/09/autodesk-gets-exclusive-licence-for-disneys-xgen-technology/


That does sound great! Bellsey, I don't know if you have contact with the decision makers higher up on what new technology goes to what platform, but if you want to mention to those people, that if Autodesk wanted to really sell a lot of Suites, then it would be the smartest move to put that XGen into Softimage first - that would sell the most Suite seats -fast. If they put it into Maya first, that would do little for the sales of Suites.

_________________
Co-Founder/Co-Owner 2GMG (2 Guys Making Games)
Creator of Blaster X HD https://itunes.apple.com/app/blaster-x-hd/id615851024?mt=8
http://www.facebook.com/2GMGames
http://www.twitter.com/2GMGames


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Maya nHair - how hard to repro?
PostPosted: 27 Apr 2012, 00:10 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 19 Apr 2010, 11:50
Posts: 606
Location: London, UnitedKingdom
I do have contact with people in the product teams, but whether they listen to anything say, well who knows, lol.
However, in that article Disney do say that Maya is at the core of the pipline.

_________________
Graham Bell - Technical Specialist
Autodesk Media & Entertainment - EMEA
Any opinions expressed here are my own, and do not represent those of my employer.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 32 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group