Vray for Softimage official release

News concerning 3D DCC business
User avatar
Memag
Posts: 339
Joined: 09 Aug 2010, 01:37
Location: Tits

Re: Vray for Softimage official release

Post by Memag » 25 Feb 2012, 17:38

We can also conclude that he likes hairy stuff. :)

curly
Posts: 77
Joined: 06 Oct 2010, 08:43

Re: Vray for Softimage official release

Post by curly » 25 Feb 2012, 20:03

A couple of questions.

How fast is Vray in scanline mode?

Can you do the Vray gizmo stuff to limit raytracing to only what you need? (see url)
http://www.spot3d.com/vray/help/150SP1/tutorials_anim.htm

Does it support long hair -> Kristinka hair -> ?

How fast is it with particles?

Those for are for me the important question determining whether I could use vray for rendering animation.

I do like te Ptex stuff you guys implementing in Vray. 3D Coat has Ptex.

Kzin
Posts: 432
Joined: 09 Jun 2009, 11:36

Re: Vray for Softimage official release

Post by Kzin » 25 Feb 2012, 21:08

vray has no scanline mode, its raytracing only.

for the gi animation thing, break your scene in passes and render the elements seperatly. should be easy with xsi's passes and partitions system.

nourvfx
Posts: 29
Joined: 24 Feb 2012, 04:02

Re: Vray for Softimage official release

Post by nourvfx » 25 Feb 2012, 22:11

hy
i test with my labtop HP4520.core i5 and 3 gib ram and atigraphic with2263mb garaphic ram
this is Enough for this test.yes???
300000hair with GI
this test with arnold with aasamples 3 and defultsamles is 3
rendertime is 3min10sec
Attachments
arnold_3m10sec.jpg
arnold_3m10sec.jpg (179.7 KiB) Viewed 1051 times

User avatar
Memag
Posts: 339
Joined: 09 Aug 2010, 01:37
Location: Tits

Re: Vray for Softimage official release

Post by Memag » 25 Feb 2012, 22:16

What version of Arnold are you using?

nourvfx
Posts: 29
Joined: 24 Feb 2012, 04:02

Re: Vray for Softimage official release

Post by nourvfx » 25 Feb 2012, 22:20

and this is rendered with vray with DMC samples min1 max4 and GI is on in primarymode is iraadiancemap in high mode and secoundary mode is lightcash with 500sabdivs
render time:1min50sec wihch is faster and beter quality?????????tiy say maybe i have mistak is my render setup or my arnold is bad plugin if you have beter info please share with me thanks my frinds
Attachments
vray_1.jpg
vray_1.jpg (155.66 KiB) Viewed 1044 times

User avatar
origin
Posts: 619
Joined: 09 Jun 2009, 11:59
Location: warsaw

Re: Vray for Softimage official release

Post by origin » 25 Feb 2012, 22:25

You need to type slower

nourvfx
Posts: 29
Joined: 24 Feb 2012, 04:02

Re: Vray for Softimage official release

Post by nourvfx » 25 Feb 2012, 22:27

hy mr Memag.i have sitoa arnold version 1.1 but when my xsi is loded in xsi masege under sofware say sitoa 3.3.6 is detected
i dont know.
i try have download last version of arnold.i cantact to solid angle but i dont have any answer.if you have arnold trial do you can send to me or share with me .pleasemy email is nourvfx@yahoo.com i dont know what i do.

User avatar
Memag
Posts: 339
Joined: 09 Aug 2010, 01:37
Location: Tits

Re: Vray for Softimage official release

Post by Memag » 25 Feb 2012, 22:31

If there is any meaning to this, I like Arnold render more.
More detail, better depth and nicer hair shadows.

Yeah, Solid Angle might help you out with the fresh version, of course.
Good luck with that Esmail.
Last edited by Memag on 25 Feb 2012, 22:35, edited 1 time in total.

Kzin
Posts: 432
Joined: 09 Jun 2009, 11:36

Re: Vray for Softimage official release

Post by Kzin » 25 Feb 2012, 22:32

sorry, but the quality of the arnold rendering is way better. the lighting and shading details of the hair in the arnold rendering is not comparable with vrays one (you have simply none in the vray rendering).
it reminds me a bit on the mr and 3delight comparisions. the problem was that 3delight renders hairnormals in a different way then mr. looks like vray does something similar out of the box, means more worst hairnormals? you can workaround with such problems with things like ao passes or, in mr, with shadow map lightrigs.

so if you make a comparision, be sure the quality matches. then you can compare the rendertime. ;)

nourvfx
Posts: 29
Joined: 24 Feb 2012, 04:02

Re: Vray for Softimage official release

Post by nourvfx » 25 Feb 2012, 22:56

vray quality is very bettee than arnold .do you can Denial of quality vray on the this two pic witch i loded.
in all of mode GI on vray bruteforce only iradeancemap only and light cash only vray beter than arnold i increase aa samples in arnold from 3 to 10 and my render time in arnold change from 3min to 27min.i think this beter for me i work with vray for hair render
this test .arnold with aasamples is 10 and defult samples
render tim is about 27min
Attachments
arnold_27m20s.jpg
arnold_27m20s.jpg (172.8 KiB) Viewed 1302 times

User avatar
Memag
Posts: 339
Joined: 09 Aug 2010, 01:37
Location: Tits

Re: Vray for Softimage official release

Post by Memag » 25 Feb 2012, 22:59

I'm sure there are ways to optimize Arnold render.
Just read the manual.

User avatar
Hirazi Blue
Administrator
Posts: 4911
Joined: 04 Jun 2009, 12:15

Re: Vray for Softimage official release

Post by Hirazi Blue » 25 Feb 2012, 23:06

I already tried to hint subtly that it wasn't a good idea
to make this into a render comparison thread... Please don't!!!
:-$
...

nourvfx
Posts: 29
Joined: 24 Feb 2012, 04:02

Re: Vray for Softimage official release

Post by nourvfx » 25 Feb 2012, 23:08

i love arnold to.idont say arnold is bad we have many big project in cinema with arnold like 2012movie alice in wonderful land and many other project.
but i jast test arnold and vray.in lighing we must have separate prameters for control the quality .arnold lighing quality and render quality with to ghader.in vray brutforce i just chang samples from 8 to 32 and we have nice qualty even in interior lighing.arnold in interior lighthing is very very bad result i testing the arnold to show to yours.

nourvfx
Posts: 29
Joined: 24 Feb 2012, 04:02

Re: Vray for Softimage official release

Post by nourvfx » 25 Feb 2012, 23:13

mr Hirazi Blue.i dont work in chose groups and i dont have bad acsident wih solid angle .i just testet render engine i test about 20 render engine for we have more info about rendering.thi is my salary

Kzin
Posts: 432
Joined: 09 Jun 2009, 11:36

Re: Vray for Softimage official release

Post by Kzin » 25 Feb 2012, 23:19

nourvfx wrote:vray quality is very bettee than arnold .do you can Denial of quality vray on the this two pic witch i loded.
in all of mode GI on vray bruteforce only iradeancemap only and light cash only vray beter than arnold i increase aa samples in arnold from 3 to 10 and my render time in arnold change from 3min to 27min.i think this beter for me i work with vray for hair render
this test .arnold with aasamples is 10 and defult samples
render tim is about 27min
try to match this quality in vray!
the arnold rendering shows way more lighting details then your vray rendering (render in double resolution and you should clearly see it).
match the vray shadowing quality to arnold ones and then say what the rendertimes are.
it simply makes no sense to compare a poor quality rendering against one with much higher quality and then say that the low quality rendering took less time to cook.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests