It is currently 23 Oct 2014, 05:43

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 109 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 ... 11  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Vray for Softimage official release
PostPosted: 25 Feb 2012, 17:38 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 09 Aug 2010, 01:37
Posts: 339
Location: Tits
We can also conclude that he likes hairy stuff. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Vray for Softimage official release
PostPosted: 25 Feb 2012, 20:03 
Offline

Joined: 06 Oct 2010, 08:43
Posts: 77
A couple of questions.

How fast is Vray in scanline mode?

Can you do the Vray gizmo stuff to limit raytracing to only what you need? (see url)
http://www.spot3d.com/vray/help/150SP1/tutorials_anim.htm

Does it support long hair -> Kristinka hair -> ?

How fast is it with particles?

Those for are for me the important question determining whether I could use vray for rendering animation.

I do like te Ptex stuff you guys implementing in Vray. 3D Coat has Ptex.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Vray for Softimage official release
PostPosted: 25 Feb 2012, 21:08 
Offline

Joined: 09 Jun 2009, 11:36
Posts: 423
vray has no scanline mode, its raytracing only.

for the gi animation thing, break your scene in passes and render the elements seperatly. should be easy with xsi's passes and partitions system.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Vray for Softimage official release
PostPosted: 25 Feb 2012, 22:11 
Offline

Joined: 24 Feb 2012, 04:02
Posts: 29
hy
i test with my labtop HP4520.core i5 and 3 gib ram and atigraphic with2263mb garaphic ram
this is Enough for this test.yes???
300000hair with GI
this test with arnold with aasamples 3 and defultsamles is 3
rendertime is 3min10sec


Attachments:
arnold_3m10sec.jpg
arnold_3m10sec.jpg [ 179.7 KiB | Viewed 529 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Vray for Softimage official release
PostPosted: 25 Feb 2012, 22:16 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 09 Aug 2010, 01:37
Posts: 339
Location: Tits
What version of Arnold are you using?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Vray for Softimage official release
PostPosted: 25 Feb 2012, 22:20 
Offline

Joined: 24 Feb 2012, 04:02
Posts: 29
and this is rendered with vray with DMC samples min1 max4 and GI is on in primarymode is iraadiancemap in high mode and secoundary mode is lightcash with 500sabdivs
render time:1min50sec wihch is faster and beter quality?????????tiy say maybe i have mistak is my render setup or my arnold is bad plugin if you have beter info please share with me thanks my frinds


Attachments:
vray_1.jpg
vray_1.jpg [ 155.66 KiB | Viewed 521 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Vray for Softimage official release
PostPosted: 25 Feb 2012, 22:25 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 09 Jun 2009, 11:59
Posts: 619
Location: warsaw
You need to type slower

_________________
http://vimeo.com/origin/videos


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Vray for Softimage official release
PostPosted: 25 Feb 2012, 22:27 
Offline

Joined: 24 Feb 2012, 04:02
Posts: 29
hy mr Memag.i have sitoa arnold version 1.1 but when my xsi is loded in xsi masege under sofware say sitoa 3.3.6 is detected
i dont know.
i try have download last version of arnold.i cantact to solid angle but i dont have any answer.if you have arnold trial do you can send to me or share with me .pleasemy email is nourvfx@yahoo.com i dont know what i do.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Vray for Softimage official release
PostPosted: 25 Feb 2012, 22:31 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 09 Aug 2010, 01:37
Posts: 339
Location: Tits
If there is any meaning to this, I like Arnold render more.
More detail, better depth and nicer hair shadows.

Yeah, Solid Angle might help you out with the fresh version, of course.
Good luck with that Esmail.


Last edited by Memag on 25 Feb 2012, 22:35, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Vray for Softimage official release
PostPosted: 25 Feb 2012, 22:32 
Offline

Joined: 09 Jun 2009, 11:36
Posts: 423
sorry, but the quality of the arnold rendering is way better. the lighting and shading details of the hair in the arnold rendering is not comparable with vrays one (you have simply none in the vray rendering).
it reminds me a bit on the mr and 3delight comparisions. the problem was that 3delight renders hairnormals in a different way then mr. looks like vray does something similar out of the box, means more worst hairnormals? you can workaround with such problems with things like ao passes or, in mr, with shadow map lightrigs.

so if you make a comparision, be sure the quality matches. then you can compare the rendertime. ;)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 109 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 ... 11  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group