Do I need subscription to download service packs?

Discussions about migration to other software
User avatar
Hirazi Blue
Administrator
Posts: 4973
Joined: 04 Jun 2009, 12:15

Re: Do I need subscription to download service packs?

Post by Hirazi Blue » 14 May 2014, 13:24

angus_davidson wrote:You might need to give some thought to Karma telling you this is not the software you are looking for ;)
Helpful, very helpful indeed. Thanks! ;)
Currently all the money I can spend on software is locked in this little struggle with Autodesk...
...

jill.ramsay
Posts: 41
Joined: 27 Mar 2014, 20:48

Re: Do I need subscription to download service packs?

Post by jill.ramsay » 14 May 2014, 17:53

Can I borrow your noose avatar please?

User avatar
Hirazi Blue
Administrator
Posts: 4973
Joined: 04 Jun 2009, 12:15

Re: Do I need subscription to download service packs?

Post by Hirazi Blue » 14 May 2014, 18:00

;)
But you shouldn't quit now: you're my last line of defense against all this...
...

luceric
Posts: 1233
Joined: 22 Jun 2009, 00:08

Re: Do I need subscription to download service packs?

Post by luceric » 14 May 2014, 18:03

you got an alpha pre-multiplication problem on that avatar ;)

User avatar
Hirazi Blue
Administrator
Posts: 4973
Joined: 04 Jun 2009, 12:15

Re: Do I need subscription to download service packs?

Post by Hirazi Blue » 14 May 2014, 18:05

True, but ATM that's the least of my problems... :D
...

jill.ramsay
Posts: 41
Joined: 27 Mar 2014, 20:48

Re: Do I need subscription to download service packs?

Post by jill.ramsay » 14 May 2014, 18:15

I kinda like the raw, gritty feel. :)

jill.ramsay
Posts: 41
Joined: 27 Mar 2014, 20:48

Re: Do I need subscription to download service packs?

Post by jill.ramsay » 14 May 2014, 22:02

Hey guys,
Just an update: we identified some backend issues which are in the process of being fixed. I'm really very sorry about the glitch. I know it's no excuse but the Soft + Maya bundle doesn't quite fit into the the normal scheme of things in Autodesk licensing land and we are experiencing some teething problems with getting everything working properly. I'll update again once everything is fixed (as far as we can tell!). Thank you for your patience, and once again my apologies.

One other thing: if you have used beta versions of the software, please be sure to uninstall them before installing the 2015 builds. Also uninstall mental ray.

Cheers,
Jill

angus_davidson
Posts: 583
Joined: 20 Dec 2012, 05:13
Skype: ithacapellin

Re: Do I need subscription to download service packs?

Post by angus_davidson » 14 May 2014, 22:03

If it make you feel any better I am still trying to get my ARC licences a week later.

very frustrating
--
Technomancer at Digital Arts
Wits University

jill.ramsay
Posts: 41
Joined: 27 Mar 2014, 20:48

Re: Do I need subscription to download service packs?

Post by jill.ramsay » 14 May 2014, 22:16

Angus, I've raised your issue with the EDU people here and they are looking into it.

Jill

angus_davidson
Posts: 583
Joined: 20 Dec 2012, 05:13
Skype: ithacapellin

Re: Do I need subscription to download service packs?

Post by angus_davidson » 14 May 2014, 22:19

Thanks Jill

;) I can PM you the username if that will help.
--
Technomancer at Digital Arts
Wits University

User avatar
Hirazi Blue
Administrator
Posts: 4973
Joined: 04 Jun 2009, 12:15

Re: Do I need subscription to download service packs?

Post by Hirazi Blue » 14 May 2014, 22:25

I am happy to report that my subscription renewal and the new "MayaSoft" license finally arrived, after an "amusing" sidetrack, Jill also mentions, where the license originally issued didn't include previous versions usage rights. Special thanks to Jill Ramsay & to Markus Schwaiger from M&E EMEA for helping to resolve this. Due to the stress this day brought, I am too tired to party, but here's the smiley anyway:
:ymparty:
...

jill.ramsay
Posts: 41
Joined: 27 Mar 2014, 20:48

Re: Do I need subscription to download service packs?

Post by jill.ramsay » 14 May 2014, 22:26

Angus: It can't hurt! :-)

Leendert - well if you're not going to party, I will on your behalf. One down... :)

Pancho
Posts: 659
Joined: 19 Sep 2010, 11:28

Re: Do I need subscription to download service packs?

Post by Pancho » 25 May 2014, 13:43

I just installed MAYAS2015. Unfortunately neith M nor SI can find the network license. I use the MAYAS2015 license file and while SI 2014 runs fine with the setup, neither 2015 versions do. I already altered the setenv.bat for SI 2015 to point it to the lic server @127.0.0.1, but this didn't help at all.

License was not obtained
Tried Maya 2015 (657G! 2015.0.0.F), error 20

License method:
.......='network'

Product choice:
.......='unlimited'

License file override:
environment variable MAYA_ALT_EN is not set




Softimage just tell me that the license can't not be found and asks whether I want to continue in Standalone-mode.


Each year the same shitty problems.

Anybody an idea?

Cheers
Thomas

User avatar
Hirazi Blue
Administrator
Posts: 4973
Joined: 04 Jun 2009, 12:15

Re: Do I need subscription to download service packs?

Post by Hirazi Blue » 25 May 2014, 13:48

Do you use the most recent license server? The 2015 versions need that current version apparently
(while your Softimage 2014 happily doesn't mind).
This threw me off also (in a different thread).
...

User avatar
mattmos
Posts: 437
Joined: 02 Dec 2009, 16:59

Re: Do I need subscription to download service packs?

Post by mattmos » 25 May 2014, 13:58

Did you install the latest network licence manager? There's a new one which must be used with 2015.

2015 doesn't use the setenv for licencing either. You have a LICPATH.LIC file, which just has

SERVER (sever_name) 000000000000
USE_SERVER

and a licence.env in the application/bin folder which should read

=Network
=@(server_name)

Edit: Beaten to it ;)

Pancho
Posts: 659
Joined: 19 Sep 2010, 11:28

Re: Do I need subscription to download service packs?

Post by Pancho » 25 May 2014, 14:01

I came across the issue with the license server and that it needs to be the 11.12 version. Just reinstalling M and SI. If it the doesn't work?!?!?! I came across both files Matt mentioned and they looked o.k.

10min and I can tell a bit more....

Thanks!