Accessing FxTree nodes through ICE

Here you can find ICE tutorials and learning material
iamVFX
Posts: 697
Joined: 24 Sep 2010, 18:28

Accessing FxTree nodes through ICE

Post by iamVFX » 04 Mar 2012, 10:21

Sorry if it's well-known fact, but here is how to do it:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4itgKAIfzqI&hd=1


Moderator edit: moved the topic from "Download > FXTree" to "ICE Tutorials" - HB

User avatar
Hirazi Blue
Administrator
Posts: 4918
Joined: 04 Jun 2009, 12:15

Re: Accessing FxTree nodes through ICE

Post by Hirazi Blue » 04 Mar 2012, 10:46

Neat trick, thanks for sharing! :-bd
...

iamVFX
Posts: 697
Joined: 24 Sep 2010, 18:28

Re: Accessing FxTree nodes through ICE

Post by iamVFX » 04 Mar 2012, 11:09

Why the hell I put this on download section? :D Thanks, Hirazi

Too bad you can't set paint points through ICE, it would be cool replacement for the weight map

User avatar
bottleofram
Posts: 355
Joined: 17 Aug 2010, 11:21

Re: Accessing FxTree nodes through ICE

Post by bottleofram » 04 Mar 2012, 12:12

Interesting.

And strange.

I placed an ICE tree on a null and the problem with inName->setData seemed resolved. But than one axes stopped working suddenly, and after i shuffled things around, it started working again. Order of operations going haywire? Humm...

So much potential there. Its just too clumsy at this point.

Chris_TC
Posts: 411
Joined: 22 Mar 2010, 17:43

Re: Accessing FxTree nodes through ICE

Post by Chris_TC » 04 Mar 2012, 13:45

iamVFX wrote:Too bad you can't set paint points through ICE, it would be cool replacement for the weight map
bottleofram wrote:So much potential there. Its just too clumsy at this point.
Softimage 2013, I'm telling you. We will get some kind of unified system that merges ICE tree, render tree, FX tree and animation mixer. It will be glorious. :ymhug:

iamVFX
Posts: 697
Joined: 24 Sep 2010, 18:28

Re: Accessing FxTree nodes through ICE

Post by iamVFX » 04 Mar 2012, 16:23

Chris_TC wrote:Softimage 2013, I'm telling you. We will get some kind of unified system that merges ICE tree, render tree, FX tree and animation mixer. It will be glorious. :ymhug:
Are you a beta tester? Or it's your feelings about this? :D What if you're wrong and by the end of the day we get a few crowd compounds (that's nobody will use because we have the Massive out there) and more bugs? :D

FxTree is not updated since XSI 7.0 (correct me if I'm wrong), did you know that it's called Softimage Illusion since then? :D Illusion, get it?

User avatar
Hirazi Blue
Administrator
Posts: 4918
Joined: 04 Jun 2009, 12:15

Re: Accessing FxTree nodes through ICE

Post by Hirazi Blue » 04 Mar 2012, 17:06

Chris_TC wrote:Softimage 2013, I'm telling you. We will get some kind of unified system that merges ICE tree, render tree, FX tree and animation mixer. It will be glorious. :ymhug:
=))
iamVFX wrote:FxTree is not updated since XSI 7.0 (correct me if I'm wrong), did you know that it's called Softimage Illusion since then? :D Illusion, get it?
=))
...

Chris_TC
Posts: 411
Joined: 22 Mar 2010, 17:43

Re: Accessing FxTree nodes through ICE

Post by Chris_TC » 04 Mar 2012, 21:49

iamVFX wrote:Are you a beta tester?
No, but I'm confident that we will eventually get this kind of Houdinification. The sooner the better.

iamVFX
Posts: 697
Joined: 24 Sep 2010, 18:28

Re: Accessing FxTree nodes through ICE

Post by iamVFX » 04 Mar 2012, 22:02

Chris_TC wrote:No, but I'm confident that we will eventually get this kind of Houdinification. The sooner the better.
I'll hope that happen really soon! Can't wait for 2029

User avatar
Hirazi Blue
Administrator
Posts: 4918
Joined: 04 Jun 2009, 12:15

Re: Accessing FxTree nodes through ICE

Post by Hirazi Blue » 04 Mar 2012, 22:30

@iamVFX - you are an optimist...

But seriously, I don't think too much will happen involving the FXTree in the near future, as it already seems to have reached its developmental EOL some years ago... And that's too bad, but probably one of those things we as users won't be able to change.
...

anhungxadieu
Posts: 175
Joined: 17 Apr 2014, 10:39
Skype: nguyenvuducthuy

Re: Accessing FxTree nodes through ICE

Post by anhungxadieu » 05 Oct 2015, 15:12

this video remove, can everyone know how to "Accessing FxTree nodes through ICE"?

User avatar
FXDude
Posts: 923
Joined: 19 Jun 2012, 21:59

Re: Accessing FxTree nodes through ICE

Post by FXDude » 09 Oct 2015, 01:08

Perhaps you could check out how this FXTree tracking to ICE works?

http://iceduous.blogspot.com/2010/11/ic ... cking.html

User avatar
sirdavid32
Posts: 193
Joined: 10 Feb 2010, 04:36
Location: Ecuador

Re: Accessing FxTree nodes through ICE

Post by sirdavid32 » 13 Jun 2018, 02:39

Video is been lost. could someone re-upload it, please?