SItoA_Update_Core 5.0.2.2_& Cryptomatte

Plugins linking to this thread: (hide)

SItoA update 5.1.1.0 with Cryptomatte 2.0Author: Rachid Hadj Abderrahmane
Updated May 31st 2018 — Rachid makes the latest Arnold Renderer version available to Softimage users via updates/patches of the last SItoA release 4.1.0. That includes support for Cryptomatte, the new subsurface scattering method and the new toon shader from version 5.1. Since his distribution package does not contain any binary files, the Arnold SDK has to be downloaded and the patches applied manually following the detailed instructions he gives in the si-community thread / his posted walkthough video.

Cryptomatte is becoming an industry standard for ID based object/hierarchy selection in compositing (Nuke/Fusion plugins provided).

Introduced in this si-community thread. Latest update posted here. Installation walkthrough video: SItoA Update Core 5 0 2 2 & Cryptomatte. A how-to video on how to use cryptomatte with the latest update can be found here: SItoA Update Core 5 1 1 0

local backup:SItoA_Update_Core_5.1.1.0_&_Cryptomatte_V_2.0.0b3.zip

New plugins, tools etc.
rachid
Posts: 11
Joined: 02 Dec 2017, 18:48

SItoA_Update_Core 5.0.2.2_& Cryptomatte

Post by rachid » 06 Dec 2017, 15:24

hi
SItoA_Update_Core 5.0.2.2_& Cryptomatte.7z
1- istall SItoA 4.1.0
2- download/unzip Arnold SDK 5.0.2.2 from solidangle
3- Copy the content of the bin folder(Arnold SDK 5.0.2.2) (Override) and paste to C:\Users\XXX\Autodesk\Softimage_2015_R2-SP2\Addons\SItoA\Application\Plugins\bin\nt-x86-64
4- unzip SItoA_Update_Core 5.0.2.2_& Cryptomatte.7z
5- Copy/Paste (Override) arnold_shaders.mtd (C:\Users\XXXX\Autodesk\Softimage_2015_R2-SP2\Addons\SItoA\Application\Plugins\bin\nt-x86-64)
6- Copy/Paste (Override) "ArnoldMenu.js" "ArnoldScenePreferences.js" "ArnoldShaderDef.js" (C:\Users\XXX\Autodesk\Softimage_2015_R2-SP2\Addons\SItoA\Application\Plugins)

Cryptomatte
First download cryptomatte from:https://github.com/anderslanglands/alShaders2/releases
add theses variabeles to your OS:
ARNOLD_PLUGIN_PATH = C:\Cryptomatte\bin
MAYA_CUSTOM_TEMPLATE_PATH = C:\Cryptomatte\aexml
MTOA_TEMPLATES_PATH = C:\Cryptomatte\ae

Copy the content of Cyrptomatte folder to C:\Cryptomatte (ovveride )
You will find Cryptomatte in menu Arnold/Shaders/Cryptomatte and Arnold/Shaders/AOV in Render Tree
Only N,P,Z,ID are supported in multichannel exr, you have to to render cryptomatte in separate Pass
make a new Pass with partition for Cryptomatte give it a name "Crypto" or any name
add cryptomatte shader to the partition
add crypto_object and crypto_material to the list in Scene render Options/Available Channels
click add in render Channels Output, and add the 02 channels crypto_object and crypto_material
For multi-exr
uncheck the first pass_
rename [framebuffer] to "crypto" for both crypto_object and crypto_material
Render

Cryptomatte for Nuke & Fusion
https://github.com/Psyop/Cryptomatte
/Rachid
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
rray
Moderator
Posts: 1551
Joined: 26 Sep 2009, 15:51
Location: Bonn, Germany

Re: SItoA_Update_Core 5.0.2.2_& Cryptomatte

Post by rray » 06 Dec 2017, 17:38

Very nice thanks again. Looking forward to checking this out.
"as a maya discussion grows longer, the probability of a suggestion involving deleting the preferences approaches one"

softimage resources section (formerly known as rray.de/xsi) updated May 30 2018

rachid
Posts: 11
Joined: 02 Dec 2017, 18:48

Re: SItoA_Update_Core 5.0.2.2_& Cryptomatte

Post by rachid » 06 Dec 2017, 19:12

Hi
video Instruction here

/Rachid

juanloredo
Posts: 31
Joined: 18 Sep 2014, 23:24

Re: SItoA_Update_Core 5.0.2.2_& Cryptomatte

Post by juanloredo » 30 Apr 2018, 22:18

Hi Rachid,
I was wondering if you have any plans on updating to 5.1. I'm mainly interested in that nice toon shader ( i know softimage has it's own toon shaders but still). Any thoughts?

rachid
Posts: 11
Joined: 02 Dec 2017, 18:48

Re: SItoA_Update_Core 5.0.2.2_& Cryptomatte

Post by rachid » 01 May 2018, 18:14

yes I'm working on whenever I have a little bit of time, I just finished the Toon_Shader, but be patient, because I'm really busy
here is the Ui of toon shader matching 100% Maya.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

juanloredo
Posts: 31
Joined: 18 Sep 2014, 23:24

Re: SItoA_Update_Core 5.0.2.2_& Cryptomatte

Post by juanloredo » 01 May 2018, 19:29

Amazing!. Great to hear that you are already working on it. No worries, I know is always difficult to find free time. Take as much time as you need, I feel glad that there's someone working on keeping arnold alive in softimage. Thanks!!

User avatar
Rork
Posts: 1280
Joined: 09 Jul 2009, 08:59
Location: Close to The Hague, Netherlands

Re: SItoA_Update_Core 5.0.2.2_& Cryptomatte

Post by Rork » 25 May 2018, 17:09

Hi,

Anything on the 5.1 release for Softimage?
I could use the new features to update an old project :-)

rob
SI UI tutorials: Toolbar http://goo.gl/iYOL0l | Custom Layout http://goo.gl/6iP5xQ | RenderManager View http://goo.gl/b4ZkjQ

rachid
Posts: 11
Joined: 02 Dec 2017, 18:48

Re: SItoA_Update_Core 5.0.2.2_& Cryptomatte

Post by rachid » 26 May 2018, 06:52

well at the moment I've to problems
I'm not finding a way to implement the operator node
for toon shader you have to set the contour filter manually via cmdline
SetValue "Passes.Arnold_Render_Options.output_filter", "contour"
cryptomatte beta 3.0 not working, beta 2.0 work fine
I can upload the last release(5.1.1.0) if someone need it

User avatar
rray
Moderator
Posts: 1551
Joined: 26 Sep 2009, 15:51
Location: Bonn, Germany

Re: SItoA_Update_Core 5.0.2.2_& Cryptomatte

Post by rray » 26 May 2018, 15:37

Thanks for keeping it updated. :-bd

What might be worth a shot is if you made a fork of this
https://github.com/Autodesk/sitoa/
so it could become 'official' when the solidangle guys merge it into the master branch (or however that's process is called ;))
"as a maya discussion grows longer, the probability of a suggestion involving deleting the preferences approaches one"

softimage resources section (formerly known as rray.de/xsi) updated May 30 2018

rachid
Posts: 11
Joined: 02 Dec 2017, 18:48

Re: SItoA_Update_Core 5.0.2.2_& Cryptomatte

Post by rachid » 27 May 2018, 01:42

I try it several time without success, I'm not a coder, maybe someone can give it a try.
anyway I asked for help, but at the moment no response

User avatar
Rork
Posts: 1280
Joined: 09 Jul 2009, 08:59
Location: Close to The Hague, Netherlands

Re: SItoA_Update_Core 5.0.2.2_& Cryptomatte

Post by Rork » 28 May 2018, 09:06

Hi Rachid,

Whatever you have running for 5.1(.1.0), I'm willing to give it a run. I don't need Cryptomatte for the time being, but can use the 5.1 features. And if the contour stuff needs a small workaround, I don't mind.... ;)

But it's odd that no-one is responding on help requests. Is everybody on older versions still, or moved on to Maya or Houdini?

rob
SI UI tutorials: Toolbar http://goo.gl/iYOL0l | Custom Layout http://goo.gl/6iP5xQ | RenderManager View http://goo.gl/b4ZkjQ

oldfield
Posts: 1
Joined: 27 Mar 2013, 10:42

Re: SItoA_Update_Core 5.0.2.2_& Cryptomatte

Post by oldfield » 02 Jun 2018, 10:55

Hi Everybody, and thanks Rachid for keeping Cryptomate alive in sitoa! Here is compiled latest SItoA-5.0.0-alpha-windows-2015 from the devel branch of https://github.com/JenusL/sitoa/tree/devel. It has adaptive sampling and other stuff already. You can check on the GitHub what is already there....

I'm not a coder also, but I managed to compile it myself. I think it will need vc++ redistributables to be installed to work properly. At least here is the list of VC that is on my machine:




https://we.tl/Uzttd4IMes
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Rork
Posts: 1280
Joined: 09 Jul 2009, 08:59
Location: Close to The Hague, Netherlands

Re: SItoA_Update_Core 5.0.2.2_& Cryptomatte

Post by Rork » 04 Jun 2018, 09:24

Hi,

Thanks for that!

There's a discussion on the xsi mailinglist on this as well atm, and a compile for download of the same code I guess.
The only thing missing in this build is the denoiser fucntionality, but all other things work fine. Even the new toon shaders etc. :)

cheers!

rob
SI UI tutorials: Toolbar http://goo.gl/iYOL0l | Custom Layout http://goo.gl/6iP5xQ | RenderManager View http://goo.gl/b4ZkjQ

rachid
Posts: 11
Joined: 02 Dec 2017, 18:48

Re: SItoA_Update_Core 5.0.2.2_& Cryptomatte

Post by rachid » 05 Jun 2018, 04:48

Nice update, but there is missing attributes in most Shaders (the AOV part)
if you kick -info Standard_Surface you can see the new introduced AOV
kick.jpg
So you have to edit the arnold_shaders.mtd to add the AOV part.
I noticed that you have added MAXtoA.Shader, but the Shaders exist in SitoA!
Hope the team can update the operator Node and the noice part !
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.