aaOcean open sourced...

Plugins linking to this thread: (hide)

aaOcean SuiteAuthor: Amaan Akram
The Open Source aaOcean Suite is a collection of Softimage ICE nodes and a mental ray shaders that implements Jerry Tessendorf's paper on simulating ocean waves, which is currently the most widely used method for open water ocean surfacemodeling being used in the industry.

This particular implementation presents itself as a 3D deforming grid inside Softimage, which then becomes the source of vector displacement map sequences that are sent to Mental Ray for final rendering. One of the benefits of using this approach is that it opens up the possibility of making other 3D objects inside Softimage react with the ocean grid via ICE. Another benefit is the speed that it brings in setting up your ocean right inside Softimage on a low resolution ocean grid to set basic paramters like wave height and speed, rather than rendering a sequence of images in Mental Ray. Works nicely in conjunction with Werner Ziemerink's Wave Curl.

local backup: aaocean.zip

New plugins, tools etc.
amaan
Posts: 21
Joined: 09 Jun 2009, 22:13

Re: aaOcean open sourced...

Post by amaan » 06 Oct 2013, 21:22

Hi all,

I have added new Softimage 2014 downloads here
https://bitbucket.org/amaanakram/aaocean/downloads

Ardworks: you need to set an expression on the 'Current Frame' so that it increments with the timeline. Does that not work?

Newcomer (<20 posts) alert: please use the URL tags - HB

User avatar
ardworx
Posts: 23
Joined: 04 Jun 2009, 12:01
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Contact:

Re: aaOcean open sourced...

Post by ardworx » 08 Oct 2013, 17:25

Amaan, nope I did that, did not fix it.
Greets,
ardworx

amaan
Posts: 21
Joined: 09 Jun 2009, 22:13

Re: aaOcean open sourced...

Post by amaan » 09 Oct 2013, 00:18

Is this with the mental ray, or the arnold shader?

amaan
Posts: 21
Joined: 09 Jun 2009, 22:13

Re: aaOcean open sourced...

Post by amaan » 11 Oct 2013, 08:44

Ardworx, I can't reproduce the reported behaviour. I set an expression, draw a render region and then step through the frames manually. I did not test Batch rendering

As a workaround, put an expression on the Current Frame parameter to 'Fc', and then plot it to an animation curve.

User avatar
farhaad_yousefi
Posts: 178
Joined: 08 Jun 2009, 22:45
Location: tehran-iran
Contact:

Re: aaOcean open sourced...

Post by farhaad_yousefi » 19 Oct 2013, 12:37

diissar wrote:thanks a lot Amaan,a video tutorial would be great! :)
Aye ..!! video tutorial .. \m/

rpmaguire
Posts: 67
Joined: 04 Feb 2013, 05:54
Skype: eyekeystudio

Re: aaOcean open sourced...

Post by rpmaguire » 15 Jan 2014, 04:32

I'm missing something here...

Can someone explain to me step by step how to install this plugin?

When i download "softimage 2013 rev235 stable" from bitbucket ... the rar file contains :


workgroup>application>plugins> aaOceanDeformer.dll & aaOceanDataShaderDefs.dll

workgroup>application>bin>nt-x86-64> aaOceanDataShader.dll


How do I install these?

http://www.amaanakram.com/plugins/aa_tessendorf/aa_ocean_doc_installation.html

on this webpage it says install add-on....but all there is is .dll's ..no .xsiaddon

I would really like to see this in action..

Help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Ryan

amaan
Posts: 21
Joined: 09 Jun 2009, 22:13

Re: aaOcean open sourced...

Post by amaan » 15 Jan 2014, 08:23

Hi Ryan

The doc page you linked is no longer linked from my main website, and is obsolete.

you need to install the plugins in your softimage workgroup -- hence the "workgroup>application>plugins>..."

If you haven't made a workgroup already, softimage makes one for you in your c:\users\<username>\Autodesk... folder

rpmaguire
Posts: 67
Joined: 04 Feb 2013, 05:54
Skype: eyekeystudio

Re: aaOcean open sourced...

Post by rpmaguire » 15 Jan 2014, 19:23

Hello amaan,
THanks for the reply!

I have created a workgroup and drag and dropped the files into there.
I restarted softimage and in the plug-in manager it is saying that the "aaOceanDataShaderDefs.dll" is invalild

I have nothing coming up on my GET>PROPERTY menu..

Any thoughts on this?

Thanks,
Ryan
Attachments
Capture.JPG

El Burritoh
Posts: 151
Joined: 30 Nov 2010, 19:56
Location: Tennessee
Contact:

Re: aaOcean open sourced...

Post by El Burritoh » 15 Jan 2014, 20:42

I'm not having any luck getting it to show up in the menu either, but I don't have any errors. Everything seems to be loading fine. I tried manually applying an aaOcean ICE node in an ICE Tree, and piping it into a Set Point Position node, but that just made the mesh disappear entirely...
-Tim Crowson
High Nerd, of the Order of Magnetic Nerds
Personal Website

amaan
Posts: 21
Joined: 09 Jun 2009, 22:13

Re: aaOcean open sourced...

Post by amaan » 15 Jan 2014, 22:18

>I have nothing coming up on my GET>PROPERTY menu..

that is legacy workflow, and you might have seen it in the documentation you linked to that is no longer linked from my main website. Please ignore any documentation that is not linked to from my main website.
It's been two years now since it was removed, but you might have found it via google.

Please see the sample scenes to see how to play with ocean shaders/deformer. They are quite simple to pick up.

User avatar
sirdavid32
Posts: 164
Joined: 10 Feb 2010, 04:36
Location: Ecuador
Contact:

Re: aaOcean open sourced...

Post by sirdavid32 » 04 Jul 2016, 23:29

Hi everyone!
I´m trying to install the aaOceanDeformer.dll via workgroup by placing it under (workgroup)\Application\Plugins\
But softimage can´t find neither the shader nor it deforms the sample scene.

What else am I missing to install? I´m using softimage sp2 2014.
Please help.
Thanks.

Bullit
Moderator
Posts: 2350
Joined: 24 May 2012, 09:44

Re: aaOcean open sourced...

Post by Bullit » 05 Jul 2016, 15:58

Did you reboot Soft? are you using the correct version?

User avatar
sirdavid32
Posts: 164
Joined: 10 Feb 2010, 04:36
Location: Ecuador
Contact:

Re: aaOcean open sourced...

Post by sirdavid32 » 05 Aug 2016, 09:53

I finally got it working. Made the workgroup appropiately.
Now I´d like to know how to generate foam, and how to use it with arnold renderer.
Cheers.

Pitcher
Posts: 5
Joined: 02 Mar 2014, 23:09
Skype: mortenbartholdy

Re: aaOcean open sourced...

Post by Pitcher » 25 Aug 2016, 09:41

Hey Amaan,

Do you have any plans to port aaOcean to Redshift by any chance? Rendering out vector displacement maps takes up a lot of diskspace :)

//Morten

User avatar
mattmos
Posts: 407
Joined: 02 Dec 2009, 16:59

Re: aaOcean open sourced...

Post by mattmos » 25 Aug 2016, 11:34

Pitcher wrote:Hey Amaan,

Do you have any plans to port aaOcean to Redshift by any chance? Rendering out vector displacement maps takes up a lot of diskspace :)

//Morten
That's the kind of thing that I'd be more than happy to help crowdfund, if Amaan was willing :)

Pitcher
Posts: 5
Joined: 02 Mar 2014, 23:09
Skype: mortenbartholdy

Re: aaOcean open sourced...

Post by Pitcher » 25 Aug 2016, 21:23

Me too!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest