Resurrecting Softimage From Scratch

General discussion about 3D DCC and other topics
taoros

Resurrecting Softimage From Scratch

Post by taoros » 09 Jan 2018, 18:28

Hey guys,

I came here to ask a particular question that's been bugging me for a while. I am not a techie, nerdie, coding guy and there is no one in my circle who is like that, so this forum seemed to be the obvious choice.

Here is my question and i'm mostly directing it to Softimage artist-developers:

Hypothetically speaking... if someone had access to millions of dollars for a startup and wanted to re-create Softimage from scratch how much money, how many people, and how much time would be needed to get it to the maturity it was when Autodesk killed it?

How would YOU do it? How many people would you get and what would their qualifications, or specialties, be?

Could it be done by a small team of say 10 people within 3 years? Could you do it with fewer people within that time?

Also, ho many people do you generally need for creating a Photoshop type of software, or a video editing or compositing one, if you want to finish it to maturity within say 3 years?

Your help and responses would be greatly appreciated.

Best regards,
Tim

rray

Re: Resurrecting Softimage From Scratch

Post by rray » 09 Jan 2018, 18:42

Hi Tim,

It would be more expensive. Autodesk bought Softimage for 35 Mil $, which is probably only a part of the development cost up to that point. I think I read somewhere that they had over 100 people working at the same time on it.

I guess with today's more modern devlopment environments and friendlier APIs all around it could be done with fewer people / much reduced cost. But I don't know much about project development. I think the biggest challenge would be hiring the right people, most of all a reaaaly good core architecture team.

-rr
softimage resources section updated Jan 5th 2024

mc_axe

Post by mc_axe » 10 Jan 2018, 00:36