AD subscription

General discussion about 3D DCC and other topics
Letterbox
Posts: 391
Joined: 17 Jun 2009, 14:49

Re: AD subscription

Post by Letterbox » 14 Nov 2012, 15:18

azurecgi wrote:
xsisupport wrote:I don't understand. Can you point me to the VRay documentation that says you can render with xsibatch -processing ?

thx

My understanding was:

A processing license allows you to run xsibatch without taking a Batch license.
Batch licenses are for rendering with xsibatch, whether it is VRay or mental ray or Arnold...or is VRay different somehow?
Just repeating what I was told by a reseller when asking how I can purchase more batch licenses to use with Vray. I really, really don't see the logic in making me purchase another copy of Softimage just so I can render on 5 more machines (I was told this is the only way to obtain more XsiBatch licenses!!!!!!)

azurecgi, not to distract from your question, but to compliment it, ask the dealer / chaosgroup if vray renderer uses it's license per machine or per cpu. As if you have a dual xeon box it might only take 1 license.

User avatar
xsisupport
Posts: 713
Joined: 09 Jun 2009, 11:02
Location: Montreal Canada

Re: AD subscription

Post by xsisupport » 14 Nov 2012, 15:20

Letterbox wrote:
xsisupport wrote: This is exactly why the limit was changed to four satellite machines :-)

http://xsisupport.com/2010/12/08/satell ... licensing/
Only satellite was mentioned, the batch/render nodes are the same too? So it's all the same now main pc, satellite, render nodes all use as many cpu/cores as that machine has, it's all per machine now?

Thanks too Stephen - feels like everything on that blog - somewhere :)
Batch is per machine. xsibatch will use everything it can on the local machine.
// Steve Blair
// "You're not a runner, you're just a guy who runs" -- my wife
//
// My Blogs: Arnold | Softimage

User avatar
xsisupport
Posts: 713
Joined: 09 Jun 2009, 11:02
Location: Montreal Canada

Re: AD subscription

Post by xsisupport » 14 Nov 2012, 15:22

azurecgi wrote:
xsisupport wrote:I don't understand. Can you point me to the VRay documentation that says you can render with xsibatch -processing ?

thx

My understanding was:

A processing license allows you to run xsibatch without taking a Batch license.
Batch licenses are for rendering with xsibatch, whether it is VRay or mental ray or Arnold...or is VRay different somehow?
Just repeating what I was told by a reseller when asking how I can purchase more batch licenses to use with Vray. I really, really don't see the logic in making me purchase another copy of Softimage just so I can render on 5 more machines (I was told this is the only way to obtain more XsiBatch licenses!!!!!!)
If you're rendering with xsibatch, then yes, you would need to buy another network license.
Batch licenses aren't sold separately (a network license could be viewed as a six-pack, if you don't need to run Softimage interactive, you can use that license as sixth batch).

That's my understanding. I don't understand why VRay sells 10packs in that case???
// Steve Blair
// "You're not a runner, you're just a guy who runs" -- my wife
//
// My Blogs: Arnold | Softimage

User avatar
Daniel Brassard
Posts: 871
Joined: 18 Mar 2010, 23:38
Location: St. Thomas, Ontario

Re: AD subscription

Post by Daniel Brassard » 14 Nov 2012, 16:25

I am a visual person, I wish I had a graphic like this one that explained Soft licensing, advantages and disadvantages for each options (SLM, Network, batch, satellite, and so on).

This thread is turning into a good refresher on what we get with Soft.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
$ifndef "Softimage"
set "Softimage" "true"
$endif

User avatar
Daniel Brassard
Posts: 871
Joined: 18 Mar 2010, 23:38
Location: St. Thomas, Ontario

Re: AD subscription

Post by Daniel Brassard » 14 Nov 2012, 16:53

Bellsey or Stephen, can you clarify:
A Network(NLM) license of Softimage will gives you all that you get with Standalone, plus:

5 x Softimage Mental Ray Batch/Render nodes for network rendering

In addition, each install of Softimage Batch can also use up to four (4) satellite CPUs for distributed tile rendering.
I have a NLM license, does it means 5 x MR Batch/render and 4 x Satellite Render or
5 x MR Batch/render and 20 x Satellite Render?
$ifndef "Softimage"
set "Softimage" "true"
$endif

User avatar
xsisupport
Posts: 713
Joined: 09 Jun 2009, 11:02
Location: Montreal Canada

Re: AD subscription

Post by xsisupport » 14 Nov 2012, 17:00

Daniel Brassard wrote:Bellsey or Stephen, can you clarify:
A Network(NLM) license of Softimage will gives you all that you get with Standalone, plus:

5 x Softimage Mental Ray Batch/Render nodes for network rendering

In addition, each install of Softimage Batch can also use up to four (4) satellite CPUs for distributed tile rendering.
I have a NLM license, does it means 5 x MR Batch/render and 4 x Satellite Render or
5 x MR Batch/render and 20 x Satellite Render?
You get one license for XSI.exe and five licenses for xsibatch.exe.

Each instance of XSI.exe or xsibatch.exe can use up to four satellite machines.

User avatar
xsisupport
Posts: 713
Joined: 09 Jun 2009, 11:02
Location: Montreal Canada

Re: AD subscription

Post by xsisupport » 14 Nov 2012, 17:20

Daniel Brassard wrote:I am a visual person, I wish I had a graphic like this one that explained Soft licensing, advantages and disadvantages for each options (SLM, Network, batch, satellite, and so on).

This thread is turning into a good refresher on what we get with Soft.
Yup, back in the early days we had a graphic somewhat like that on the wiki. It's gone from the web now, but it looked like this:
Image
// Steve Blair
// "You're not a runner, you're just a guy who runs" -- my wife
//
// My Blogs: Arnold | Softimage

User avatar
steven07
Posts: 89
Joined: 03 Jun 2010, 07:30
Skype: stevenpalomino
Location: Kansas City

Re: AD subscription

Post by steven07 » 14 Nov 2012, 17:28

Pardon my ignorance... but what's the difference between interactive rendering and batch rendering?

So from what I understand I can use boxes that have 6 cpu cores if I want but it's only up to 4 extra boxes (including the master)?

User avatar
xsisupport
Posts: 713
Joined: 09 Jun 2009, 11:02
Location: Montreal Canada

Re: AD subscription

Post by xsisupport » 14 Nov 2012, 18:05

steven07 wrote:Pardon my ignorance... but what's the difference between interactive rendering and batch rendering?

So from what I understand I can use boxes that have 6 cpu cores if I want but it's only up to 4 extra boxes (including the master)?
interactive rendering means rendering from XSI.exe
- render region
- preview
- render current frame
- render current pass

batch rendering is rendering with xsibatch
- xsibatch -render -scene "\\server\...\something.scn"
// Steve Blair
// "You're not a runner, you're just a guy who runs" -- my wife
//
// My Blogs: Arnold | Softimage

User avatar
Daniel Brassard
Posts: 871
Joined: 18 Mar 2010, 23:38
Location: St. Thomas, Ontario

Re: AD subscription

Post by Daniel Brassard » 14 Nov 2012, 19:07

Thanks Stephen,
Each instance of XSI.exe or xsibatch.exe can use up to four satellite machines.
So correct me if I'm wrong:

XSI.exe access 4 Satellite machines
Each xsibatch.exe can use up to 4 satellite machines for a total of up to 20 satellite machines
so the NLM give you access to up to 24 Satellite machines for rendering?

1 Interactive machine for rendering
4 satellite for rendering
5 xsibatch for rendering
20 satellite rendering (4 satellite per xsibatch)

Grand total 30 machines can be used for rendering?
Last edited by Daniel Brassard on 14 Nov 2012, 19:17, edited 3 times in total.
$ifndef "Softimage"
set "Softimage" "true"
$endif

User avatar
xsisupport
Posts: 713
Joined: 09 Jun 2009, 11:02
Location: Montreal Canada

Re: AD subscription

Post by xsisupport » 14 Nov 2012, 19:11

Daniel Brassard wrote:Thanks Stephen,
Each instance of XSI.exe or xsibatch.exe can use up to four satellite machines.
So correct me if I'm wrong:

XSI.exe access 4 Satellite machines
Each xsibatch.exe can use up to 4 satellite machines for a total of up to 20 satellite machines
so the NLM give you access to up to 24 Satellite machines for rendering?
Yeah, but there's only four working on any given frame.
24 if you're in marketing.
// Steve Blair
// "You're not a runner, you're just a guy who runs" -- my wife
//
// My Blogs: Arnold | Softimage

User avatar
Daniel Brassard
Posts: 871
Joined: 18 Mar 2010, 23:38
Location: St. Thomas, Ontario

Re: AD subscription

Post by Daniel Brassard » 14 Nov 2012, 19:16

24 if you're in marketing.
=))

Got it!
$ifndef "Softimage"
set "Softimage" "true"
$endif

User avatar
steven07
Posts: 89
Joined: 03 Jun 2010, 07:30
Skype: stevenpalomino
Location: Kansas City

Re: AD subscription

Post by steven07 » 14 Nov 2012, 19:24

Doesn't Max have unlimited render nodes? I don't know why everyone doesn't just do this :S
This would definitely be a plus for the subscription. I'd get the subscription just for that.

Letterbox
Posts: 391
Joined: 17 Jun 2009, 14:49

Re: AD subscription

Post by Letterbox » 14 Nov 2012, 20:12

Sblair, since your doing a such great job of SI support by answering all these questions.

I'd suggest, if you're allowed to, and want to, since your now working for Solid-Angle can you say what Arnolds rendering policy is core's/cpu's/batch.

I know it's off topic, but fair's fair you deserve a bit of marketing freedom.

User avatar
steven07
Posts: 89
Joined: 03 Jun 2010, 07:30
Skype: stevenpalomino
Location: Kansas City

Re: AD subscription

Post by steven07 » 14 Nov 2012, 20:21

Letterbox wrote:Arnolds rendering policy is core's/cpu's/batch.

I know it's off topic, but fair's fair you deserve a bit of marketing freedom.
Nah, this is totally on topic. It'd be good to know and compare with mental ray. :)

luceric
Posts: 1233
Joined: 22 Jun 2009, 00:08

Re: AD subscription

Post by luceric » 14 Nov 2012, 23:00

steven07 wrote:Doesn't Max have unlimited render nodes? I don't know why everyone doesn't just do this :S
This would definitely be a plus for the subscription. I'd get the subscription just for that.
best bang for the buck for a freelancer, imho, would be getting the premium suite and doing all the lighting and rendering in Max. It does indeed have unlimited mental ray render nodes. plus iray and other tools. Neither maya or Softimage have this.