Si2013 - Si2015 discrepancy on texture editor please help

General discussion about 3D DCC and other topics
User avatar
Maximus
Posts: 980
Joined: 09 Jun 2009, 15:45

Si2013 - Si2015 discrepancy on texture editor please help

Post by Maximus » 08 Jul 2018, 11:02

Hey guys im having an issue here that is driving me nuts...
It appears to be a bug but i have no clue.

Softimage 2013 (expected behaviour).

1) Get > Primitive > Polygon Mesh > Sphere (or anything else).
2) Now assign a texture projection > Property > Texture Projection > Spherical
3) Now open the texture editor and keep it open
4) switch to polygon mode and select a bunch of polygon in the sphere, you will see that in the texture editor you get these polygons highlited, and you can apply a subprojection to them. which is what i need to do.

This last passage (number 4) doesnt work at all on softimage 2015 sp2. Basically when i select the polygons in the sphere, nothing gets highlited in the texture editor, like nothing is being selected, and i can not apply or use a subprojection.
Anyone have any solution for this? is it a bug? or am i missing some setting?

i've tried looking in the texture editor preferences and they are the same on 2013 and 2015.

thank you

Max

User avatar
mattmos
Posts: 422
Joined: 02 Dec 2009, 16:59

Re: Si2013 - Si2015 discrepancy on texture editor please help

Post by mattmos » 08 Jul 2018, 11:12

Its working as expected for me in 2015 sp2 - are you texture preferences set to auto sync and sync method - components?

User avatar
Maximus
Posts: 980
Joined: 09 Jun 2009, 15:45

Re: Si2013 - Si2015 discrepancy on texture editor please help

Post by Maximus » 08 Jul 2018, 11:23

mattmos wrote:
08 Jul 2018, 11:12
Its working as expected for me in 2015 sp2 - are you texture preferences set to auto sync and sync method - components?
damn i just checked and it was set properly, the issue was that i had "Selection Locked" enable :-s
so dumb of me sorry :)