help getting the aaocean shader to work

Discussions regarding Materials, Material-Compounds or Shaders, etc.
rpmaguire
Posts: 67
Joined: 04 Feb 2013, 05:54
Skype: eyekeystudio

help getting the aaocean shader to work

Post by rpmaguire » 20 Jan 2014, 11:03

Hello,
Can anyone help me out on getting the aaocean shader to show up.
Im getting the error that library cannot be found.

Thanks,
Ryan
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

rpmaguire
Posts: 67
Joined: 04 Feb 2013, 05:54
Skype: eyekeystudio

Re: help getting the aaocean shader to work

Post by rpmaguire » 20 Jan 2014, 11:32

I have played with the wave settings in the sample scenes. And "I think" I have installed everything where it needs to go...
If anyone could help guide me to getting some nice renders like I have seen with this plugin.
I really want to figure this out, Just little lost right now

User avatar
Hirazi Blue
Administrator
Posts: 4938
Joined: 04 Jun 2009, 12:15

Re: help getting the aaocean shader to work

Post by Hirazi Blue » 20 Jan 2014, 12:12

Could it be your system is missing the required MS Visual C++ runtime?
In this case it would be version 2008 (or possibly even 2005).

edit: Or maybe it's the missing "bin" folder from your Plugins directory?

When I install this the "aaOceanDataShader.dll" shows in the plugin tree, while the "aaOceanDataShaderDefs.dll" does not show at all...
...

rpmaguire
Posts: 67
Joined: 04 Feb 2013, 05:54
Skype: eyekeystudio

Re: help getting the aaocean shader to work

Post by rpmaguire » 20 Jan 2014, 20:15

Thanks for the reply hirazi!

Attached are some pictures of what I have done...
Is this correct?

For some reason, I can't seem to get any manually installed plugins to work...lol
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Hirazi Blue
Administrator
Posts: 4938
Joined: 04 Jun 2009, 12:15

Re: help getting the aaocean shader to work

Post by Hirazi Blue » 20 Jan 2014, 20:56

When I tried this earlier, I left the "bin" folder right were it was, as a child of the Plugins folder. It doesn't make much sense, but you could try placing it back into that position first.
;)
...

rpmaguire
Posts: 67
Joined: 04 Feb 2013, 05:54
Skype: eyekeystudio

Re: help getting the aaocean shader to work

Post by rpmaguire » 21 Jan 2014, 01:24

In the rar file i downloaded from amaan site it goes :

workgroup>application>plugins

&

workgroup>application>bin

hmm...I might resort to re-installing softimage..

any addons installed through the :

file>addon menu seem to work fine, but any manually put into the user>workgroup folder don't
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

rpmaguire
Posts: 67
Joined: 04 Feb 2013, 05:54
Skype: eyekeystudio

Re: help getting the aaocean shader to work

Post by rpmaguire » 21 Jan 2014, 04:10

i've re-installed softimage,
and tried both of these ways in the user directory...

what else can i try?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Hirazi Blue
Administrator
Posts: 4938
Joined: 04 Jun 2009, 12:15

Re: help getting the aaocean shader to work

Post by Hirazi Blue » 21 Jan 2014, 20:37

Have you tried - simply - directly connecting to the workgroup (you get here - right-click and save as)? Before you try, however, remove all older instances of the dlls as Softimage doesn't "like" having multiple instances of the same version of plugins around at the same time.
But as you can see from your screenshot, even if it doesn't work yet, now at least the aaOceanDataShader shows up, not merely the aaOceamDataShaderDefs.
...

rpmaguire
Posts: 67
Joined: 04 Feb 2013, 05:54
Skype: eyekeystudio

Re: help getting the aaocean shader to work

Post by rpmaguire » 21 Jan 2014, 23:53

SOLVED!

I run softimage 2013 , so i downloaded from the bitbucket aaocean download site the file "Softimage_2013_rev235_stable.rar".

I just figured the file "Softimage_2014_rev235_stable.rar" was for softimage 2014...

I tried the latter, and It loaded fine!

Thanks for the help hirazi!, Much appreciated.

-Ryan
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.