Any way to import STL?

User avatar
ActionArt
Posts: 853
Joined: 25 Nov 2010, 18:23
Location: Canada

Any way to import STL?

Post by ActionArt » 12 Mar 2017, 19:45

Just wondering if anyone knows of a way to directly import .stl files?

User avatar
mc_axe
Posts: 397
Joined: 12 Mar 2013, 18:44

Re: Any way to import STL?

Post by mc_axe » 12 Mar 2017, 19:49

I only found an export script in this thread :(

User avatar
ActionArt
Posts: 853
Joined: 25 Nov 2010, 18:23
Location: Canada

Re: Any way to import STL?

Post by ActionArt » 12 Mar 2017, 20:49

Yes. Unfortunately I need import. It's such a nice way to get solid geometry from CAD programs into polys. Blender can do it really well. I was hoping to skip a step and go straight to SI but I haven't found anything yet. Sure wish there was.

Bullit
Moderator
Posts: 2419
Joined: 24 May 2012, 09:44

Re: Any way to import STL?

Post by Bullit » 12 Mar 2017, 21:48

I think you can convert STL to Obj without much trouble.

User avatar
ActionArt
Posts: 853
Joined: 25 Nov 2010, 18:23
Location: Canada

Re: Any way to import STL?

Post by ActionArt » 13 Mar 2017, 14:52

Yes, I can import in Blender and convert to .obj then import that into SI. I was just hoping to skip a step because sometimes I have a lot of them. Oh well.

User avatar
Daniel Brassard
Posts: 827
Joined: 18 Mar 2010, 23:38
Location: St. Thomas, Ontario

Re: Any way to import STL?

Post by Daniel Brassard » 13 Mar 2017, 17:07

If you know somebody that can script, you can use python and/or some existing libraries such as numpy-stl, the python stl library, PyMesh or OpenMesh to import natively to Softimage.

Do you import in ascii or binary normally?
$ifndef "Softimage"
set "Softimage" "true"
$endif

User avatar
ActionArt
Posts: 853
Joined: 25 Nov 2010, 18:23
Location: Canada

Re: Any way to import STL?

Post by ActionArt » 13 Mar 2017, 18:10

Unfortunately I don't. For what I'm doing it's probably not worth the time. I just thought someone might have one already. Thanks.

User avatar
mc_axe
Posts: 397
Joined: 12 Mar 2013, 18:44

Re: Any way to import STL?

Post by mc_axe » 13 Mar 2017, 23:46

Ascii stl looks more or less like

start
normal and 3vertexes
normal and 3vertexes
normal and 3vertexes
end

so its a bounch of triangles, it is even more readable than the quite simple obj ascii, it gets longer with lots of triangles tho.

Here is a single stl triangle

Code: Select all

solid model

facet normal 0.0 1.0 0.0
outer loop
vertex 1.0 0.0 1.0
vertex 1.0 0.0 -1.0
vertex -1.0 0.0 -1.0
endloop
endfacet

endsolid model
I hope someone can do at least the ascii import

User avatar
ActionArt
Posts: 853
Joined: 25 Nov 2010, 18:23
Location: Canada

Re: Any way to import STL?

Post by ActionArt » 14 Mar 2017, 04:05

Doh, I forgot to even answer the question. Ascii or binary is fine, doesn't matter.

User avatar
Hirazi Blue
Administrator
Posts: 4918
Joined: 04 Jun 2009, 12:15

Re: Any way to import STL?

Post by Hirazi Blue » 15 Mar 2017, 09:04

You should probably look into dedicated conversion software that allows for batch processing. I haven't tried this myself, but this one apparently does the trick and it's free: http://www.nchsoftware.com/3dconverter/
...

NNois
Posts: 706
Joined: 09 Jun 2009, 20:33

Re: Any way to import STL?

Post by NNois » 15 Mar 2017, 21:48

Hi, the best way without any doubt is using the MOI modeler software, the mesh generated is 2 to 3 times better than in any other apps

User avatar
ActionArt
Posts: 853
Joined: 25 Nov 2010, 18:23
Location: Canada

Re: Any way to import STL?

Post by ActionArt » 16 Mar 2017, 15:09

Thanks Hirazi, I'll give that a try.

NNois, I do have Moi and I agree, it does a fantasic job. There are two problems however. Moi is 32bit and the parts I need to convert are complex and not easily broken down. It runs out of RAM. I've been hoping for a 64 bit version but hasn't happened yet.

The other advantage of STL is Inventor can create them in a few seconds (much faster than Moi) even for very complex parts. Blender can then import them just as fast. It would be so nice to have the same feature in SI. The problem also with an intermediate step like Moi is there is often time wasted getting the right orientation, units, polys facing the right way etc.

User avatar
rray
Moderator
Posts: 1557
Joined: 26 Sep 2009, 15:51
Location: Bonn, Germany

Re: Any way to import STL?

Post by rray » 19 Mar 2017, 01:01

I've been needing STL import for a while too - had a try today scripting a simple importer. Check out if it works for you: ImportSTL.zip
"as a maya discussion grows longer, the probability of a suggestion involving deleting the preferences approaches one"

softimage resources section (formerly known as rray.de/xsi) updated May 30 2018

User avatar
ActionArt
Posts: 853
Joined: 25 Nov 2010, 18:23
Location: Canada

Re: Any way to import STL?

Post by ActionArt » 20 Mar 2017, 16:14

Wow, that seems to work perfectly, thanks rray! No errors so far. Very nice! Incredibly fast too! This is awesome.

User avatar
mc_axe
Posts: 397
Joined: 12 Mar 2013, 18:44

Re: Any way to import STL?

Post by mc_axe » 20 Mar 2017, 22:19

Thanx rray, very nice to have stl import in SI! Thx for share!

User avatar
rray
Moderator
Posts: 1557
Joined: 26 Sep 2009, 15:51
Location: Bonn, Germany

Re: Any way to import STL?

Post by rray » 21 Mar 2017, 20:46

Glad to share nice to see it works well. The "new" meshBuilder class from the sdk makes writing importers quite easy and fast.
"as a maya discussion grows longer, the probability of a suggestion involving deleting the preferences approaches one"

softimage resources section (formerly known as rray.de/xsi) updated May 30 2018