It is currently 24 Jun 2017, 02:12

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 46 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: FESRetopo - retopology tool for Softimage
PostPosted: 12 Dec 2015, 21:41 
Offline

Joined: 16 Jan 2011, 14:59
Posts: 30
Very small update: version 0.75. Download here: FESRetopo 0.75

What's new:
1. In retopology process if you use "Move points" tool or "Create points" tool, you can switch between these two modes by middle mouse click.
2. Add new mode for retopology in Softimage plugin "Start retopo with in-scene mesh". After clicking this button you should select an object in the scene and then retopology process begin with selected object as reference.
3. Add two canvas nodes: FESRetopo and FESExport. You can use these nodes in canvas for manually setup the retopology tool (in Maya or Standalone application, for example). There are some problems with integration of FabricEngine in Softimage, so, the plugin for Softimage use the legacy splice operators.

Installation process remains the same: copy the folder "FESRetopo" to folder with external modules for FabricEngine and install *.xsiaddon addon as usual.

Known Issues:
1. Canvas standalone application does not catch some mouse events. For example, you can not snap points in this application.
2. If you start retopo process with pre-build geometry and does not create any new polygon (only move points), polygons in result mesh will be shuffled.
3. Not a bug, but the tool is not so fast as desired. I tested the tool in production (in my personal small production). It works satisfactorily when your constructed mesh have near 1-4k polygons. With more polygons some delays become noticeably.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: FESRetopo - retopology tool for Softimage
PostPosted: 13 Dec 2015, 10:53 
Offline

Joined: 30 May 2012, 20:58
Posts: 62
Thank! i tryed it but i retur me a error after that i picked a mesh in the scene. I attach it here, so you can tell me please where i'm doing wrong. Thank you!


# - [line 131 in C:\Users\Administrator\Autodesk\Softimage_2014_SP2\Addons\FESRetopo\Application\Plugins\FESRetopo.py]
# ERROR : Property Page Script Logic Error (Python ActiveX Scripting Engine)
# ERROR : [129] if len(Application.Selection) > 0 and selObj.FullName == Application.Selection(0).FullName:
# ERROR : [130] Application.LogMessage("Use another object as reference from scene.")
# ERROR : >[131] else:
# ERROR : [132] oProp.Parameters("isUseInSceneMesh").Value = True
# ERROR : [133] oProp.Parameters("inSceneMesh").Value = selObj.FullName
# ERROR : [134] FESRetopo_startRetopo_OnClicked()
# ERROR : Traceback (most recent call last):
# File "<Script Block 2>", line 132, in FESRetopo_startRetopoInSceneMesh_OnClicked
# oProp.Parameters("isUseInSceneMesh").Value = True
# AttributeError: 'NoneType' object has no attribute 'Value'
#


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: FESRetopo - retopology tool for Softimage
PostPosted: 13 Dec 2015, 13:46 
Offline

Joined: 16 Jan 2011, 14:59
Posts: 30
Hm, I really don't know why it happens. I install the fresh Softimage 2014 SP2 and install the FESRetopo plugin. All works correctly. Your error may appear in the following situations:

1. You install new version of the plugin, but open the scene with old version. I mean that every time you open FESRetopo window, Softimage add property to the root object of the scene (with the name "FESRetopo"). And this property can be created by old version of the plugin.

2. This is unlikely, but when you pick an object from the scene the window with FESRetopo property is not in focus of the system. So, the plugin can not take some values from this property page.

Try to uninstall the plugin, restart Softimage, install new version, restart Softimage again and create new scene in new project.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: FESRetopo - retopology tool for Softimage
PostPosted: 13 Dec 2015, 14:00 
Offline

Joined: 30 May 2012, 20:58
Posts: 62
ok thank you! i ret immediately. ;)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: FESRetopo - retopology tool for Softimage
PostPosted: 13 Dec 2015, 14:11 
Offline

Joined: 30 May 2012, 20:58
Posts: 62
I unistalled old one.
resterted, installed new one.
Restrted. Created a sphere.
And tryed to retopo on it, but it turn back me this error, apologize me for the problmes, if i'm becaming a stalker don't worry leave the plug in like is and ignore me. ;)


# INFO : [KL]: [FABRIC:MT] Fabric Engine version 1.15.3
# INFO : [KL]: [FABRIC:MT] Licensed for individual use only.
# INFO : [KL]: [FABRIC:MT] Prepended user-specified extension path F:\Archivio Downloads\00 - XSI varie\01 - XSI essenziali\FES_retopo\FabricEngine-1.15.3-Windows-x86_64\Exts
# INFO : [KL]: [FABRIC:MT] Registered extensions {Alembic:1.0.0,AlembicWrapper:1.1.0,Animation:1.0.1,Bullet:1.0.1,BulletHelpers:1.0.0,Characters:1.0.2,Containers:1.0.1,FabricSynchronization:1.0.2,Fbx:1.0.1,FbxHelpers:1.0.1,FileIO:1.1.0,Geometry:1.1.0,Images:1.0.1,InlineDrawing:1.1.0,JSON:1.0.0,Manipulation:1.0.2,Math:1.0.1,FabricOBJ:1.0.0,FabricOGL:1.0.0,OpenImageIO:1.0.2,Parameters:1.0.0,Singletons:1.0.0,SpliceInterfaces:1.0.1,FabricStatistics:1.0.2,Util:1.0.1,FabricVIDEO:1.0.0} in directory: F:\Archivio Downloads\00 - XSI varie\01 - XSI essenziali\FES_retopo\FabricEngine-1.15.3-Windows-x86_64\Exts
# INFO : [KL]: [FABRIC:MT] Registered extension {FESRetopo} in directory: C:\Program Files\Autodesk\Softimage 2014 SP2\Addons\FESRetopo
# INFO : [KL]: [FABRIC:MT] Loaded extension Math in 72.275ms (cached)
# INFO : [KL]: [FABRIC:MT] Loaded extension FabricSynchronization in 18.569ms (cached)
# INFO : [KL]: [FABRIC:MT] Loaded extension FabricStatistics in 48.608ms (cached)
# INFO : [KL]: [FABRIC:MT] Loaded extension Util in 33.312ms (cached)
# INFO : [KL]: [FABRIC:MT] Loaded extension Containers in 342.606ms (cached)
# INFO : [KL]: [FABRIC:MT] Loaded extension Geometry in 679.340ms (cached)
# INFO : [KL]: [FABRIC:MT] Loaded extension Singletons in 10.504ms (cached)
# INFO : [KL]: [FABRIC:MT] Loaded extension FabricOGL in 46.489ms (cached)
# INFO : [KL]: [FABRIC:MT] Loaded extension Parameters in 93.038ms (cached)
# INFO : [KL]: [FABRIC:MT] Loaded extension OpenImageIO in 25.358ms (cached)
# INFO : [KL]: [FABRIC:MT] Loaded extension FileIO in 34.779ms (cached)
# INFO : [KL]: [FABRIC:MT] Loaded extension SpliceInterfaces in 11.623ms (cached)
# INFO : [KL]: [FABRIC:MT] Loaded extension InlineDrawing in 555.155ms (cached)
# INFO : [KL]: [FABRIC:MT] Loaded extension JSON in 29.351ms (cached)
# INFO : [KL]: [FABRIC:MT] Loaded extension Manipulation in 185.381ms (cached)
# INFO : [KL]: [FABRIC:MT] Loaded extension FabricOBJ in 17.834ms (cached)
# INFO : [KL]: [FABRIC:MT] Loaded extension FESRetopo in 115.176ms (cached)
# ERROR : [Splice] compile failed
# INFO : [KL Compiler ]: line 24, op 'retopoOp.kl': Calling function 'FESDrawRef':
# ERROR : [KL Compiler error]: line 24, op 'retopoOp.kl': no resolution for function FESDrawRef(io PolygonMesh, String, io DrawingHandle, Boolean, Boolean, PolygonMesh)
# INFO : [KL Compiler ]: line 24, op 'retopoOp.kl': Candidates are:
# INFO : [KL Compiler ]: line 24, op 'retopoOp.kl': function FESDrawRef(io PolygonMesh, String, io DrawingHandle, Boolean, Boolean)
# INFO : [KL Compiler ]: line 24, op 'retopoOp.kl': Rejected because number of parameters does not match number of arguments
# ERROR : [Splice] binding 0: operator 'retopoOp': compile failed
# ERROR : 21000-CUST-fabricSplice - Unspecified failure
Application.fabricSplice("loadSplice", "{\"fileName\":\"C:/Users/Administrator/Autodesk/Softimage_2014_SP2/Addons/FESRetopo/Application/Plugins/FESRetopo_inScene.splice\", \"hideUI\": true,\"inSceneMesh\":\"sphere.polymsh\",\"mesh0\":\"sphere_Retopo.polymsh\"}", "", "")
# ERROR : Traceback (most recent call last):
# File "<Script Block 2>", line 134, in FESRetopo_startRetopoInSceneMesh_OnClicked
# FESRetopo_startRetopo_OnClicked()
# File "<Script Block 2>", line 204, in FESRetopo_startRetopo_OnClicked
# Application.fabricSplice("loadSplice", "{\"fileName\":\"" + p.replace('\\', '/') + "\", \"hideUI\": true,\"inSceneMesh\":\"" + oProp.Parameters("inSceneMesh").Value + ".polymsh\",\"mesh0\":\"" + mesh.FullName + ".polymsh\"}", "", "")
# File "<COMObject Application>", line 2, in fabricSplice
# COM Error: Unspecified error (0x-7fffbffb) - [line 203 in C:\Users\Administrator\Autodesk\Softimage_2014_SP2\Addons\FESRetopo\Application\Plugins\FESRetopo.py]
# ERROR : Property Page Script Logic Error (Python ActiveX Scripting Engine)
# ERROR : [201] if oProp.Parameters("isLegacySplice").Value:
# ERROR : [202] if oProp.Parameters("isUseInSceneMesh").Value:
# ERROR : >[203] p = os.path.normpath(os.path.join(Application.Plugins("FESRetopoPlugin").OriginPath, "FESRetopo_inScene.splice"))
# ERROR : [204] Application.fabricSplice("loadSplice", "{\"fileName\":\"" + p.replace('\\', '/') + "\", \"hideUI\": true,\"inSceneMesh\":\"" + oProp.Parameters("inSceneMesh").Value + ".polymsh\",\"mesh0\":\"" + mesh.FullName + ".polymsh\"}", "", "")
# ERROR : [205] else:
# ERROR : [206] p = os.path.normpath(os.path.join(Application.Plugins("FESRetopoPlugin").OriginPath, "FESRetopo.splice"))
# ERROR : Traceback (most recent call last):
# File "<Script Block 2>", line 134, in FESRetopo_startRetopoInSceneMesh_OnClicked
# FESRetopo_startRetopo_OnClicked()
# File "<Script Block 2>", line 204, in FESRetopo_startRetopo_OnClicked
# Application.fabricSplice("loadSplice", "{\"fileName\":\"" + p.replace('\\', '/') + "\", \"hideUI\": true,\"inSceneMesh\":\"" + oProp.Parameters("inSceneMesh").Value + ".polymsh\",\"mesh0\":\"" + mesh.FullName + ".polymsh\"}", "", "")
# File "<COMObject Application>", line 2, in fabricSplice
# COM Error: Unspecified error (0x-7fffbffb)
# ERROR : [Splice] softimageGraph_DGNode: cannot execute because of errors


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: FESRetopo - retopology tool for Softimage
PostPosted: 13 Dec 2015, 14:18 
Offline

Joined: 16 Jan 2011, 14:59
Posts: 30
# ERROR : [KL Compiler error]: line 24, op 'retopoOp.kl': no resolution for function FESDrawRef(io PolygonMesh, String, io DrawingHandle, Boolean, Boolean, PolygonMesh)
# INFO : [KL Compiler ]: line 24, op 'retopoOp.kl': Candidates are:
# INFO : [KL Compiler ]: line 24, op 'retopoOp.kl': function FESDrawRef(io PolygonMesh, String, io DrawingHandle, Boolean, Boolean)

This error says that you are not update FESRetopo module files. Your system see the old version of extension, but you need the new one. By extension I mean *.kl files.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: FESRetopo - retopology tool for Softimage
PostPosted: 16 Dec 2015, 01:11 
Offline

Joined: 30 May 2012, 20:58
Posts: 62
for now i couldn't make it work in any mode. I'll try the next two days with the new pc.
Thank for your work any way! ;)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: FESRetopo - retopology tool for Softimage
PostPosted: 16 Dec 2015, 03:43 
Offline

Joined: 17 Apr 2014, 10:39
Posts: 151
Hi Angel,
Can i have some question?
1 ➳ Is there a way to do same thing like this (a movie below)with FESRetopology?, i mean Bsurface in Blender it look quite fast
2 ➳ can i select a mesh already in scene like a starting point to retopology

phpBB [video]


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: FESRetopo - retopology tool for Softimage
PostPosted: 16 Dec 2015, 17:54 
Offline

Joined: 16 Jan 2011, 14:59
Posts: 30
1. If you mean the possibility to create mesh by drawing strokes over the mesh - no it is impossible. FESRetopo tool designed as simple tool for quick retopology of small models. If you would like to retopology complex model (like arm with hand and fingers) it will be better to use specialized software (ZRemesher, Topogun and so on).

2. Yes, it is possible. Select the mesh and start retopology process. Then this selected mesh will be used as starting point of low-poly mesh.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: FESRetopo - retopology tool for Softimage
PostPosted: 17 Dec 2015, 02:54 
Offline

Joined: 17 Apr 2014, 10:39
Posts: 151
hi Angel,

Thank for that info, i'm so lazy to switch on another app when i use softimage :D


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 46 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group