Softimage dxf importer for v6, v7.01, v7.5 & 2010/2011

Plugins linking to this thread: (hide)

DXF ImporterAuthor: Jason Wells
2d and 3d dxf importer plugins for Softimage XSI v6, v7.01, v7.5 & 2010/2011. Please note that dxf file format is incredibly varied and it is impossible for me to cover every valid iteration of the format (and keep it free). I have therefore stuck to the dxf formats that come from the two main CAD programs available.

Note that loading a dxf file off the internet and trying to import it may or may not work (for the reason discussed previously.) The best way to get an importable format is to use Autocad or Microstation to export the data.


See the si-community discussion for more details.

local backup: dxfimport2011.zip

Post Reply
User avatar
redmotion
Posts: 149
Joined: 09 Jun 2009, 18:38
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Softimage dxf importer for v6, v7.01, v7.5 & 2010/2011

Post by redmotion » 11 Sep 2010, 10:28

I'm most likely to be releasing this as open source when 2011.5 comes out as I do not have 2011 yet. The 2011 plugin was compiled using the trial when it first came out.The trial may be a later version, hence why it's not working.

I'll take look when I can find the time.

luceric
Posts: 1170
Joined: 22 Jun 2009, 00:08

Re: Softimage dxf importer for v6, v7.01, v7.5 & 2010/2011

Post by luceric » 11 Sep 2010, 15:23

If the converter doesn't work for you, you can also try the FBX converter http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/pc ... d=10775855

it should be able to convert DXF to FBX, so you can then import the FBX in Softimage

User avatar
redmotion
Posts: 149
Joined: 09 Jun 2009, 18:38
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Softimage dxf importer for v6, v7.01, v7.5 & 2010/2011

Post by redmotion » 11 Sep 2010, 19:29

As luceric says, it's definitely worth going the FBX converter route if you are importing 3d DXF information.

jonatas
Posts: 6
Joined: 12 Jun 2009, 14:02
Contact:

Re: Softimage dxf importer for v6, v7.01, v7.5 & 2010/2011

Post by jonatas » 11 Sep 2010, 20:21

Thanks redmotion, I was just trying to checkout the plugin and it didn't work with the version of softimage 2011 I downloaded last week. So I thought it was compiled only for 32bit or something like that.

And Thanks for the tip luceric I didn't knew about that converter.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest