It is currently 24 Jul 2014, 04:08

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Curve To Ribbon
PostPosted: 21 Jan 2014, 14:38 
Offline

Joined: 07 Sep 2012, 14:24
Posts: 91
Hello,

I want share with you my last plugin.
It create ribbons from curves.

I use the offset command from the "keyvis Curve Tools" addon created by Eugen Sares.
It create a perfect base before the loft.
So, you need to have this addon already installed (but who did not ;) ?) if you want use mine.

"Curve To Ribbon" have a custom property witch drive all proxy parameters from the differents meshes/operators.

Quick video demo :
phpBB [video]


Cheers.
Attachment:
CurveRibbon.rar [89.76 KiB]
Downloaded 206 times


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Curve To Ribbon
PostPosted: 22 Jan 2014, 05:08 
Offline

Joined: 24 May 2012, 09:44
Posts: 1384
Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Curve To Ribbon
PostPosted: 22 Jan 2014, 10:30 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 09 Jul 2009, 08:59
Posts: 867
Location: Close to The Hague, Netherlands
He,

That's a neat little tool!

Thanks for sharing, much appreciated! :-bd

rob

EDIT: Just tested it here, but getting python errors and an OLE message. It does create the curves, but no geometry.
SI 2013SP1, installed the .xsiaddon in a server workgroup.

_________________
Photography & Video Reference/Tracking Cubes - http://www.refcube.biz | SI UI tutorials: Toolbar http://goo.gl/iYOL0l | Custom Layout http://goo.gl/6iP5xQ | RenderManager View http://goo.gl/b4ZkjQ


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Curve To Ribbon
PostPosted: 22 Jan 2014, 12:44 
Offline

Joined: 07 Sep 2012, 14:24
Posts: 91
Thank you guys !

Rork wrote:
Just tested it here, but getting python errors and an OLE message. It does create the curves, but no geometry.
SI 2013SP1, installed the .xsiaddon in a server workgroup.

I just test it with 2013 SP1 (in a custom workgroup) and it work on my side.
Can you give me your model for a test ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Curve To Ribbon
PostPosted: 22 Jan 2014, 13:23 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 09 Jul 2009, 08:59
Posts: 867
Location: Close to The Hague, Netherlands
Hi,

didn't do anything special. created a sphere and created the curves like in the video.
after that ran your tool.

retried with a couple of restarts of SI as well, same result. I do run the SI internal python thingy btw..

rob

_________________
Photography & Video Reference/Tracking Cubes - http://www.refcube.biz | SI UI tutorials: Toolbar http://goo.gl/iYOL0l | Custom Layout http://goo.gl/6iP5xQ | RenderManager View http://goo.gl/b4ZkjQ


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Curve To Ribbon
PostPosted: 22 Jan 2014, 13:27 
Offline

Joined: 07 Sep 2012, 14:24
Posts: 91
I also run SI internal Python.
Can you send me your log ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Curve To Ribbon
PostPosted: 22 Jan 2014, 13:42 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 09 Jul 2009, 08:59
Posts: 867
Location: Close to The Hague, Netherlands
This is what I get after selecting the extracted curve and running the tool:

Application.SelectObj("crvlist", "", "")
# ERROR : Traceback (most recent call last):
# File "<Script Block 2>", line 43, in curveRibbon_Execute
# firstCheck()
# File "<Script Block 2>", line 358, in firstCheck
# main(collOfCurveSelection)
# File "<Script Block 2>", line 82, in main
# customOffsetCurve(collOfCurveUniqueLeft, gRibbonWith * -0.5, collOfAllOffsetOpLeft)
# File "<Script Block 2>", line 322, in customOffsetCurve
# xsi.ApplyOffsetSubcurves(inCollOfCurveToOffset.GetAsText())
# File "C:\Program Files\Autodesk\Softimage 2013 SP1\Application\python\Lib\site-packages\win32comext\axscript\client\pyscript.py", line 142, in __getattr__
# return getattr(self._scriptItem_.dispatchContainer,attr)
# File "C:\Program Files\Autodesk\Softimage 2013 SP1\Application\python\Lib\site-packages\win32com\client\dynamic.py", line 500, in __getattr__
# raise AttributeError, "%s.%s" % (self._username_, attr)
# AttributeError: Application.ApplyOffsetSubcurves
# - [line 321 in \\SERVER\xsiwg\Tools\Addons\CurveRibbon\Application\Plugins\curveRibbon.py]
# ERROR : OLE error 0x80020101
Application.curveRibbon()


hope that helps,

rob

_________________
Photography & Video Reference/Tracking Cubes - http://www.refcube.biz | SI UI tutorials: Toolbar http://goo.gl/iYOL0l | Custom Layout http://goo.gl/6iP5xQ | RenderManager View http://goo.gl/b4ZkjQ


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Curve To Ribbon
PostPosted: 22 Jan 2014, 13:52 
Offline

Joined: 07 Sep 2012, 14:24
Posts: 91
Quote:
# AttributeError: Application.ApplyOffsetSubcurves

It's seems that you don't have the "keyvis Curve Tools" addon installed.
Can you check this ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Curve To Ribbon
PostPosted: 22 Jan 2014, 14:01 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 09 Jul 2009, 08:59
Posts: 867
Location: Close to The Hague, Netherlands
Ah... that makes sense.

I misread your comment on the Keyvis Curve Tool. I was under the impression you used that part of the code.
But you use the plugin as well to get to this.

Problem solved! ;)

rob

_________________
Photography & Video Reference/Tracking Cubes - http://www.refcube.biz | SI UI tutorials: Toolbar http://goo.gl/iYOL0l | Custom Layout http://goo.gl/6iP5xQ | RenderManager View http://goo.gl/b4ZkjQ


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Curve To Ribbon
PostPosted: 22 Jan 2014, 14:11 
Offline

Joined: 07 Sep 2012, 14:24
Posts: 91
Cool !

I use my own extract subcurves code but use the "ApplyOffsetSubcurves" command from the "keyvis Curve Tools" addon.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group