RCTools updates

Plugins linking to this thread: (hide)

RcTools 5.3Author: Reinhard Claus
Updated April 2013 — 5.3's main new feature TopoClipboard lets you copy map data from a point/edge/polygon/sample selection and paste it somewhere else one the same, or a different mesh into a selection that has the same »shape« as the first selection. Works also for complete selections which makes sense when pasting across two meshes that have the same topology, but differing point orders. TopoClipboard transfers: Vertex Colors UVs Envelope weights (with a remapping option) weight maps tangents point positions (local »shape« of the selected area). Works across different maps of the same type and across scenes inside one instance of Softimage. Other new features are a topology based mirror/flip selection and a couple of new settings for the custom filters like point position compare components, edge on UV border, edge orientation.

The RCTools plug-in is a collection of workflow helpers and filters for Softimage. The supplied popup menu (Script command »rcToolsPopup«) gives you quick access to all the tools. [..] List of features: Peek (Align camera along selected edge/facing selection @90°;) TopoClipboard Flip Selection Mirror Selection Fill Selection Walk Patterned Loop selections Apply Pattern Customizable Filters (by polyon area, aspect ratio, orientation, edge length, point distance and 30 others) subcomponent clipboard subcomponent clipboard booleans (e.g. Select intersection of current and clipboard selection) Cap holes Repeat

local backup: rcTools.5.3.xsiaddon

User avatar
rray
Moderator
Posts: 1675
Joined: 26 Sep 2009, 15:51
Location: Bonn, Germany

Re: RCTools updates

Post by rray » 12 Mar 2013, 17:34

Ok this uses SelectAllComponentLoops, a function that was introduced in 2012 SAP.
I'll see if there's an easy fix
softimage resources section updated Feb 7 2019

User avatar
wireframex
Posts: 278
Joined: 08 Jun 2009, 23:02
Location: Near Paris

Re: RCTools updates

Post by wireframex » 12 Mar 2013, 17:44

ok thanks a lot
"without mastery, power is nothing" - Softimage Addict User

User avatar
rray
Moderator
Posts: 1675
Joined: 26 Sep 2009, 15:51
Location: Bonn, Germany

Re: RCTools updates

Post by rray » 13 Mar 2013, 21:23

5.02 version out and updated docs -- http://rray.de/xsi/rctools

@wireframex - added 2012 support for this by ripping out part of an older rcTools version and putting in in, prooooobably works, can't test it though. The custom preference registering now works differently too and shouldn't log an error with the first start any more

@julca - edge orientation added too - that one was definitely missing from the filters good idea

Quite a few other bugfixes in the new version too.
softimage resources section updated Feb 7 2019

User avatar
wireframex
Posts: 278
Joined: 08 Jun 2009, 23:02
Location: Near Paris

Re: RCTools updates

Post by wireframex » 13 Mar 2013, 22:30

Thanks rray,

All work now except these commands :
- Grow all loop
- Shrink all loop
- Grow Island

Phil
"without mastery, power is nothing" - Softimage Addict User

User avatar
rray
Moderator
Posts: 1675
Joined: 26 Sep 2009, 15:51
Location: Bonn, Germany

Re: RCTools updates

Post by rray » 14 Mar 2013, 00:10

These were 2012 SAP too, thanks for your feedback. Quickly fixed these, download is updated (same filename)
softimage resources section updated Feb 7 2019

rpmaguire
Posts: 67
Joined: 04 Feb 2013, 05:54
Skype: eyekeystudio

Re: RCTools updates

Post by rpmaguire » 14 Mar 2013, 01:56

Hope someone can help, I had 4.6 installed and it worked fine. tried to upgrade to 5.02 and no go.
I uninstalled earlier version and deleted preferences.

When i install new version there is a red bar that says :

the plugin is not installed : RCcustomfiltersettings

and after i restart SI, and open keyboard mapping i get this :

RefreshCustomPreferences();
// ERROR : Object expected - [line 304 in C:\Users\Ryan\Autodesk\Softimage_2013_SP1\Addons\rcTools\Application\Plugins\rcPopup.js]

can't get it to work at all now. what can i do?
I have SI 2013 SP1

Thanks,
RYan

User avatar
rray
Moderator
Posts: 1675
Joined: 26 Sep 2009, 15:51
Location: Bonn, Germany

Re: RCTools updates

Post by rray » 14 Mar 2013, 02:13

In line 304 the popup menu is created, which is a python class object. Could it be python isn't working ?

could you check this:
*open a script editor, does the combo box in the toolbar have a "python" entry?
*if it does, switch to python and write print "ok" in the text window and press run, does this work?

if this all works, can you open the plugin manager, "user root" / rctools --does it display anything red?

are there any remaining files from old versions if you go through the user dir with windows explorer?

What also could help is if you'll post the script log history from a softimage startup.
softimage resources section updated Feb 7 2019

rpmaguire
Posts: 67
Joined: 04 Feb 2013, 05:54
Skype: eyekeystudio

Re: RCTools updates

Post by rpmaguire » 14 Mar 2013, 03:07

Thanks for the reply, forgive me I know 3D but i know very little about coding or script.
I made a video to show what is going on.

https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B7Q2a8u ... sp=sharing

Newcomer (<20 posts) alert: please use the URL tags - HB

User avatar
rray
Moderator
Posts: 1675
Joined: 26 Sep 2009, 15:51
Location: Bonn, Germany

Re: RCTools updates

Post by rray » 14 Mar 2013, 08:37

It says 'unable to copy addon file.' Does downloading the file using chrome and then drag and drop work?

(It looks like a firewall/proxy setting issue: check if windows system control panel->internet options->LAN settings use s the same settings as chrome)
softimage resources section updated Feb 7 2019

julca
Posts: 145
Joined: 07 Sep 2012, 14:24

Re: RCTools updates

Post by julca » 14 Mar 2013, 11:50

Very good news ! Thanks for your reactivity !

User avatar
wireframex
Posts: 278
Joined: 08 Jun 2009, 23:02
Location: Near Paris

Re: RCTools updates

Post by wireframex » 14 Mar 2013, 19:46

PERFECT !!!

you're my speed light coding man

Thanks for all :D
"without mastery, power is nothing" - Softimage Addict User

rpmaguire
Posts: 67
Joined: 04 Feb 2013, 05:54
Skype: eyekeystudio

Re: RCTools updates

Post by rpmaguire » 14 Mar 2013, 22:20

strange... uninstalled and reinstalled softimage ... and everything works fine.

Thanks again for the help and this great tool, i use it alot.

User avatar
rray
Moderator
Posts: 1675
Joined: 26 Sep 2009, 15:51
Location: Bonn, Germany

Re: RCTools updates

Post by rray » 20 Mar 2013, 18:59

Ah good to hear it works for you !

There's a new version out since a few days with the new features "flip point selection" and "mirror point selection"

Mirror point selection
selects all symmetrical "instances" of the selected points, for example try this... select points of one of the small patches of the soccer ball. Mirror point selection will select all the small patches because they're arranged symmetrically.

Flip point selection does deselect the original selection, thereby "flipping" the selection over to the other side. You can use it for example to copy the weights of the right hand to the left hand: Select points of the right hand, pick "copy envelope weights", then "flip point selection", then "paste envelope weights", replace all "r_bonenames" with "l_bonename" in the "to" column and you're done. (Works also when the weights cross the middle plane, for example for the shoulder blade). Works also for shape changes, useful f.ex. when you did some tweaking on one side, want to carry it over, but forgot to make a symmetry map.
softimage resources section updated Feb 7 2019

Falam

Re: RCTools updates

Post by Falam » 05 Apr 2013, 15:13

I don't know if this has been discussed. I removed RCTools 4.2, installed 5.x, restarted Softimage and RCTools is still version 4.2, instead of 5.x ?

User avatar
rray
Moderator
Posts: 1675
Joined: 26 Sep 2009, 15:51
Location: Bonn, Germany

Re: RCTools updates

Post by rray » 06 Apr 2013, 16:21

Is it gone after you uninstall it? If not maybe try deleting the files in the user directory/addons manually

New version 5.14 is up btw with flip and mirror for edge and polygon selection, and a few bug fixes

Note flip and mirror only work for models with a symmetric topology.
softimage resources section updated Feb 7 2019

Falam

Re: RCTools updates

Post by Falam » 06 Apr 2013, 17:39

@rray - It works. You changed the workflow slightly, works a little better :)