RCTools updates

Plugins linking to this thread: (hide)

RcTools 5.3Author: Reinhard Claus
Updated April 2013 — 5.3's main new feature TopoClipboard lets you copy map data from a point/edge/polygon/sample selection and paste it somewhere else one the same, or a different mesh into a selection that has the same »shape« as the first selection. Works also for complete selections which makes sense when pasting across two meshes that have the same topology, but differing point orders. TopoClipboard transfers: Vertex Colors UVs Envelope weights (with a remapping option) weight maps tangents point positions (local »shape« of the selected area). Works across different maps of the same type and across scenes inside one instance of Softimage. Other new features are a topology based mirror/flip selection and a couple of new settings for the custom filters like point position compare components, edge on UV border, edge orientation.

The RCTools plug-in is a collection of workflow helpers and filters for Softimage. The supplied popup menu (Script command »rcToolsPopup«) gives you quick access to all the tools. [..] List of features: Peek (Align camera along selected edge/facing selection @90°;) TopoClipboard Flip Selection Mirror Selection Fill Selection Walk Patterned Loop selections Apply Pattern Customizable Filters (by polyon area, aspect ratio, orientation, edge length, point distance and 30 others) subcomponent clipboard subcomponent clipboard booleans (e.g. Select intersection of current and clipboard selection) Cap holes Repeat

local backup: rcTools.5.3.xsiaddon

Jho
Posts: 49
Joined: 12 Feb 2013, 07:57

Re: RCTools updates

Post by Jho » 26 Jun 2013, 14:08

Oh right. I just thought it would be a hassle to cut a piece of the geometry out and merge it back in. But it was pretty easy once I tried it. Thanks a lot.

Although it would be nice to automate this process somehow. So that I could just paint away and all the weights would be copied to the other side. Anyways, I'm getting off topic. Thanks again.

User avatar
rray
Moderator
Posts: 1675
Joined: 26 Sep 2009, 15:51
Location: Bonn, Germany

Re: RCTools updates

Post by rray » 26 Jun 2013, 14:29

Yes when the other geo is close by, and it's in point context, GATOR works great.
If you were to copy/paste from sample context like UVs, GATOR had some issues, at least last time I tried, so I think I'd try topo-clipboard for something like that first.
softimage resources section updated Feb 7 2019

julca
Posts: 145
Joined: 07 Sep 2012, 14:24

Re: RCTools updates

Post by julca » 28 Jun 2013, 12:52

Hello !

I have noticed that the "Cap marked hole" command add a point on an open edge selection like this :
cap.jpg
I write a script for this and which can work with multiple objects at once (which use "rcCapHoles" command of course).

Code: Select all

set mySelection = createObject ("XSI.Collection")
mySelection.AddItems Application.Selection

set myCollNewPolygon = createObject ("XSI.Collection")

for each currentSel in mySelection
	if currentSel.Type = "edgeSubComponent" then
		for each currentNestedObj in currentSel.NestedObjects
			if currentNestedObj.Type = "primitive" then

				set currentObj = currentNestedObj.Parent
				set myGeo = currentObj.ActivePrimitive.Geometry

				nbPointBefore = myGeo.Points.Count
				'logMessage "nbPointBefore = " & nbPointBefore
				SelectGeometryComponents currentSel
				rcCapHoles

				nbPointAfter = myGeo.Points.Count
				'logMessage "nbPointAfter = " & nbPointAfter

				myPointSelection = ""
				for i = nbPointBefore to nbPointAfter - 1
					myPointSelection = myPointSelection & ", " & i
				next

				if nbPointBefore <> nbPointAfter then
					ApplyTopoOp "Collapse", currentObj.FullName & ".pnt[" & myPointSelection & "]", siUnspecified, siPersistentOperation
				end if
				
				myCollNewPolygon.AddItems Application.Selection
			end if
		next
	end if
next

SelectGeometryComponents myCollNewPolygon
I don't know if you can/want integrate this on your plug-in but it would be nice.
In any case I hope not to hurt you with my suggestions.

Cheers.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
rray
Moderator
Posts: 1675
Joined: 26 Sep 2009, 15:51
Location: Bonn, Germany

Re: RCTools updates

Post by rray » 29 Jun 2013, 15:50

Oh of course all contributions are welcome! I'll build this in for the next release, maybe I'll wrap the multi select code around some other functions as well.
Cheers julca
softimage resources section updated Feb 7 2019

Eugen
Posts: 331
Joined: 10 Jan 2010, 12:40
Location: Vienna/Austria

Re: RCTools updates

Post by Eugen » 26 Oct 2013, 09:24

Hi,
thanks for this cool plugin! A beginner question, though:
how do you select, say, every 2nd edge of an edge loop?
I got it to work with polygons, but are edges working as well?
Thanks!
Eugen

User avatar
Cacoman
Posts: 81
Joined: 02 Aug 2010, 23:11

Re: RCTools updates

Post by Cacoman » 12 Jan 2014, 19:12

Hello I am having this error. I know it is not related to the RCTools but for something I am doing wrong

# WARNING : RcTools: Symmetrize doesn't work when there is more than 1 symmetry axis.

How do I fix this to Flip topology to get a right shape.

Thx
To create something that does not exist, to exist.

User avatar
rray
Moderator
Posts: 1675
Joined: 26 Sep 2009, 15:51
Location: Bonn, Germany

Re: RCTools updates

Post by rray » 13 Jan 2014, 13:19

Hello,
The symmetrize function works only for 1 symmetry plane (axis was a bad choice of a word there)


if there's 2 or more planes it can't decide what side where to pick the information from.
it could also be that just one island of your model has more than 1 plane (like the eyeballs). Then it fails too.
_
edited my earlier answer because it was wrong
Last edited by rray on 13 Jan 2014, 23:44, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: wrong
softimage resources section updated Feb 7 2019

User avatar
Cacoman
Posts: 81
Joined: 02 Aug 2010, 23:11

Re: RCTools updates

Post by Cacoman » 14 Jan 2014, 08:14

Oh, now I get it I was getting crazy to find what was the axis.

Thx a lot.
To create something that does not exist, to exist.