Light and Sight

Comments on work in progress
thomashogben

Light and Sight

Post by thomashogben » 28 Jun 2013, 13:02

Hi everyone,

I have been studying a Msc at Dundee university part time for nearly 2 years and have covered many areas of 3D, but softimage/xsi really gripped me the most.

For my final assessment I am working on a project informed by the physics of light. I want to achieve a short film (2 minutes long) which showcases our understanding of light, but represented in a commercial style. I have collected research material with physicists about how they imagine light would look like if it could be scene, and the responses were a mixture of comments around "small bullets of swarming pieces".

So from there I have developed a scenario with a girl walking in the forest, where she encounters a moment where the world around her slows down a million million times, and the particles of light can be seen flooding around her. Interacting with her hand and eye.

From here I have been using texture mapped surface's, using images collected on location when filming the plates to inform the color, size and speed of the particles emitted from these surfaces.

I then control the movement of the particles with a second, non-rendered, control cloud emitted from a roughly modeled environment matching the real world location. This is all controlled using the simple move towards goal command.

From this I have started building the CG shots up.

Still a long way to go, but only around a months time left to complete the project.

Any comments or suggestions welcome, its been a really interesting journey, and I have learnt alot but still have a lot more to learn.

Draise

Re: Light and Sight

Post by Draise » 28 Jun 2013, 16:48

Interesting project! Beautiful really, heaps of potential. I hope you can crunch all the shots in the month's time, good luck.

thomashogben

Post by thomashogben » 13 Jul 2013, 07:21