Procedural Topo Pack

Plugins linking to this thread: (hide)

Procedural Topo PackAuthor: Constantine Tarasenkov
Updated Feb 2013 Various ICE topology compounds that I made for last months. Fully compatible with SI 2012. After installation they can be found in Context, Interactive and Topology categories of the Tool tab menu.

Contents: Build Array from Set Node (for Softimage 2012), Array to Edge Set, Array to Polygon Set, Array to Sample Set, Array to Vertex Set, Build Array per Edge, Build Array per Point, Build Array per Polygon, Build Array per Sample, Delete Topology, Disconnect Islands, Get Edge Position, Set Edge Position, Get Polygon Position, Set Polygon Position, Polygon Index to CAV, Vertex Index to CAV, Select Polygons Interactive, Slice to Pieces, To per Edge, To per Point, To per Polygon, To per Sample

The recent updates from the si-community thread linked below include: Greeble, Slice on Cubes, Extract Polygon Island, Split Edge Equally

local backup: ProceduralTopoPack.zip

iamVFX
Posts: 697
Joined: 24 Sep 2010, 18:28

Re: Procedural Topo Pack

Post by iamVFX » 14 Dec 2012, 06:12

Bullit wrote:I think i am too green in ICE for this, i thought node "to per point" was to change for example context from polygons to per point but i was unable to do it.
To change context from polygons to vertices you have to build array from set of PolygonToVertices attribute and use "Array to Vertex Set" compound

Image

Bullit
Moderator
Posts: 2453
Joined: 24 May 2012, 09:44

Re: Procedural Topo Pack

Post by Bullit » 14 Dec 2012, 13:26

Thanks. I'll go now studying how changing context works.

iamVFX
Posts: 697
Joined: 24 Sep 2010, 18:28

Re: Procedural Topo Pack

Post by iamVFX » 17 Dec 2012, 01:20

Greeble. Well, sort of, some of the features are missing (instancing on top of extruded polygons), they were cut for performance reasons, but still.

Image
Image
Image

Pocedural Topo Pack is updated, download it first.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

iamVFX
Posts: 697
Joined: 24 Sep 2010, 18:28

Re: Procedural Topo Pack

Post by iamVFX » 23 Dec 2012, 22:50

Sometimes you should feed a constant set of polygons to make Extrude Islands work. It can be done by building array from polygons you want to extrude and converting the resulting array to set via Array to Polygon Set compound, like so:

[rimg=800]http://img688.imageshack.us/img688/794/9d8e5b334523418ea429bb2.png[/rimg]

iamVFX
Posts: 697
Joined: 24 Sep 2010, 18:28

Re: Procedural Topo Pack

Post by iamVFX » 31 Dec 2012, 01:25

Iterative fracture example with use of Slice Topology node.

Image

Procedural Topo Pack is updated!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Bullit
Moderator
Posts: 2453
Joined: 24 May 2012, 09:44

Re: Procedural Topo Pack

Post by Bullit » 02 Jan 2013, 05:00

This looks very nice, could you do it just partially?

iamVFX
Posts: 697
Joined: 24 Sep 2010, 18:28

Re: Procedural Topo Pack

Post by iamVFX » 02 Jan 2013, 11:58

Bullit wrote:This looks very nice, could you do it just partially?
Sure

Image

[rimg=521]http://i.imgur.com/Np8Qy.png[/rimg]
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Rork
Posts: 1342
Joined: 09 Jul 2009, 08:59
Location: Close to The Hague, Netherlands

Re: Procedural Topo Pack

Post by Rork » 02 Jan 2013, 20:01

nice!

thanks for all these goodies! :)
SI UI tutorials: Toolbar http://goo.gl/iYOL0l | Custom Layout http://goo.gl/6iP5xQ | RenderManager View http://goo.gl/b4ZkjQ

Bullit
Moderator
Posts: 2453
Joined: 24 May 2012, 09:44

Re: Procedural Topo Pack

Post by Bullit » 03 Jan 2013, 01:46

:D haha! curious about the bunny inside the bunny did you made it on propose? Did you extruded polygon islands?

Does it needs Momentum?

iamVFX
Posts: 697
Joined: 24 Sep 2010, 18:28

Re: Procedural Topo Pack

Post by iamVFX » 03 Jan 2013, 13:32

Bullit wrote::D haha! curious about the bunny inside the bunny did you made it on propose?
No, you should remember that is not a boolean operation, the inner bunny generated automatically by the inverse extrusion, you can check how it works in a compound
Bullit wrote:Does it needs Momentum?
Of course not, you can use it for other types of effects, if you find any :D It's so useless, I'm currently trying to figure out why did I spend so much time on this. Anyone tried Grasshopper?

Bullit
Moderator
Posts: 2453
Joined: 24 May 2012, 09:44

Re: Procedural Topo Pack

Post by Bullit » 03 Jan 2013, 15:45

I don't think it is useless, besides we never know what effect someone want. For example sucessive effects, a sort of matrioska of falling cubes...


Can you show the icetree of this one at top of this page:
Iterative fracture example with use of Slice Topology node.
Last edited by Bullit on 03 Jan 2013, 16:14, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
rray
Moderator
Posts: 1610
Joined: 26 Sep 2009, 15:51
Location: Bonn, Germany

Re: Procedural Topo Pack

Post by rray » 03 Jan 2013, 16:01

iamVFX wrote: Image
I can see this in a weight loss product spot :) Nicely done, good to see something else than voronoi pieces shattered.
softimage resources section updated Feb 7 2019

Ramon
Posts: 111
Joined: 19 Aug 2010, 22:47

Re: Procedural Topo Pack

Post by Ramon » 05 Jan 2013, 21:32

Slice on Cubes.xsicompound broke clusters information

iamVFX
Posts: 697
Joined: 24 Sep 2010, 18:28

Re: Procedural Topo Pack

Post by iamVFX » 05 Jan 2013, 21:40

It breaks cluster information, it breaks uv and custom normal maps because sometimes topology operations shuffles component index order in a chaotic and unpredictable manner

User avatar
druitre
Posts: 461
Joined: 25 Jun 2009, 23:35

Re: Procedural Topo Pack

Post by druitre » 31 Jan 2013, 15:29

Hi Constantine,

is it possible to use Split Edge Evenly modulated by edgelength? (So the longer an edge is, the higher the nb of points.) I've been trying to get that to work but I'm afraid I'm too crap in ICE to figure it out. It must be something to do with context not being right (nb points is per object, edgelength is per edge element) but all my attempts at changing context have failed.

iamVFX
Posts: 697
Joined: 24 Sep 2010, 18:28

Re: Procedural Topo Pack

Post by iamVFX » 31 Jan 2013, 18:29

there's no time to explain