It is currently 23 May 2017, 03:16

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 178 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 18  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Kristinka Hair 3.0 released
PostPosted: 13 Jul 2011, 04:13 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 08 Jun 2009, 21:11
Posts: 1635
Location: Zagreb, Croatia
izze wrote:
Strand Fcurve does not work with the Size input on emitter from nurbs,


There is a special 'Strand Size' compound, you put it at the end of ICE tree. 'Size' in emitters is just a point size, shouldn't work as a strand size anymore. Didn't worked well, btw...

As for future versions, this one and small update, probably this weekend, should serve for a very long time...

cheers

_________________
The renderer "turtle" used by this scene, is not currently available. The "turtle" renderer will be used instead.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Kristinka Hair 3.0 released
PostPosted: 16 Jul 2011, 01:00 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 08 Jun 2009, 21:11
Posts: 1635
Location: Zagreb, Croatia
Hi all,

Izze, I think you founded a bug in Softimage. I've tried memo-camera together with factory nodes which deals with camera position, got crash in my own 7.01. Let's say, un-simulated ICE tree, standard Emit From Surface, Align Particles To Camera node, store a few memo-cameras, try to call them... crash. Honestly I forgot memo-cameras, as I didn't used them since XSI 4 (they are lost in crash-backup).
Another possible problem with kH Strand Screen Size In SI Units, could be a reference to camera FOV after the GetData - if anyone still needs this node, I would suggest exposing the FOV as a separate reference. Compound itself is really simple, distance from camera to strand position, tangens from FOV, plus some basic math.

There is a small 'hotfix' :) downloadable at same links from first post:

"kH Grouping by Polygons" should work nicely for now. Just for info, problem was caused by a new method of emitting from triangle corners. In 'guides and filler' mode, some points are initially on the same position. This is 'melted' later with hair filler, but if something tries to find the closest point before, ICE gets confused, being unable to sort the points. So for now, this node randomizes the positions before searching stage, and moves them back after getting the attributes.

The rest of changes are small improvements here and there: paint density in kH Hair Filler is now 'exact rate', always close to initial rate in emitters. kH Grouping has a few options more, internal nodes for sorting are based on nicer (a bit faster) methods, so on.

In docs, there is a short list of 'form' nodes (basic styling nodes) which rely on distance to point/hair root ( and which part of geometry is considered) - so it's not good idea to animate these parts. Btw, no big deal to add inputs for 'reference geometry' for animation, but this will add even more inputs and parameters. Imho, there is already too much.


good luck !

_________________
The renderer "turtle" used by this scene, is not currently available. The "turtle" renderer will be used instead.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Kristinka Hair 3.0 released
PostPosted: 19 Jul 2011, 19:59 
Offline

Joined: 24 Sep 2009, 20:02
Posts: 171
Right on. Thanks for updating!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Kristinka Hair 3.0 released
PostPosted: 20 Jul 2011, 13:04 
Offline

Joined: 17 Feb 2011, 19:17
Posts: 3
tell please, how to use weight map for tweaking some kristinka node parameters


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Kristinka Hair 3.0 released
PostPosted: 20 Jul 2011, 13:50 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 08 Jun 2009, 21:11
Posts: 1635
Location: Zagreb, Croatia
dmetren wrote:
tell please, how to use weight map for tweaking some kristinka node parameters


1. apply weight map property to emitter (mesh or NurbS)
2. bring 'Get Weightmap Value' factory node to ICE tree (in my XSI, this node is somewhere under particles/getters)

Take look at sample called 'in_between_curves.emdl', as it already has connection to weight map.

cheers

_________________
The renderer "turtle" used by this scene, is not currently available. The "turtle" renderer will be used instead.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Kristinka Hair 3.0 released
PostPosted: 20 Jul 2011, 17:55 
Offline

Joined: 17 Feb 2011, 19:17
Posts: 3
oh, thank you


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Kristinka Hair 3.0 released
PostPosted: 19 Aug 2011, 04:45 
Offline

Joined: 04 Feb 2011, 18:45
Posts: 45
Is strand extrusion the only way to instance a shape, or is it possible to use an instance shape node with KH3?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Kristinka Hair 3.0 released
PostPosted: 19 Aug 2011, 20:52 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 08 Jun 2009, 21:11
Posts: 1635
Location: Zagreb, Croatia
fjg wrote:
Is strand extrusion the only way to instance a shape, or is it possible to use an instance shape node with KH3?


Whatever works with factory strand nodes, should be possible to allow with kH3 too. But it is up to you to build and troubleshot the connection. A 'compatibility warning' I've added into docs is just a warning.
All shape creation nodes ('form') creates a strand up vector. If you want to use extrusions from 2012, afaik you can switch to 'vector mode', and utilize kh3 up vector, by 'kH3 Get Strand Up Vector' node.
That I know, most popular are extrusions, also direct deformations (direct deformation: you assign parts of mesh to points in point cloud by some criteria, then appropriate strands are used as deformers).

_________________
The renderer "turtle" used by this scene, is not currently available. The "turtle" renderer will be used instead.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Kristinka Hair 3.0 released
PostPosted: 19 Aug 2011, 21:05 
Offline

Joined: 04 Feb 2011, 18:45
Posts: 45
Thanks for the reply about the warning - I'll give it a shot. I just found an earlier sample file that helps with this too - I'm trying to export to octane/maxwell.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Kristinka Hair 3.0 released
PostPosted: 19 Aug 2011, 21:33 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 08 Jun 2009, 21:11
Posts: 1635
Location: Zagreb, Croatia
Suggested setup for extrusions is a bit more complicated in kh3, just to allow one strip to drive the three guides. On the other side, there is no node which can cause a 'variable' size of strand array. It's always the same size of strand array, btw because 3delight don't like the 'variable' size.
I think you can just add 'prepare for mt extrusion' to point cloud, and extrude the all strands, just in one step (no intermediate stuff).

_________________
The renderer "turtle" used by this scene, is not currently available. The "turtle" renderer will be used instead.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 178 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 18  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group