Kristinka Hair 3.0 released

Plugins linking to this thread: (hide)

Kristinka Hair 3.2Author: Anto Matkovic
The July 2014 update is another big one introducing new nodes like »Fit NURBS«, »Curls advanced«, »Curvature Amplifier«, »Grouping in Form« »Follow CurveList« »Stretch Hair« »Hair Filler Rounded« — for a full description see the si-community thread and the updated documentation.

The Kristinka Hair toolset is a new and unique way to set up, style and simulate hair using ICE nodes. A set of fully customizable ICE nodes Scalable, from only a few basic compounds for building basic hair, to very complex structures. Hair styling that always considers the whole shape of the hair. Styling works well for short and for long hair. Unlimited hair length, unlimited number of hair segments. Automatic, procedural generation of details - always with full control. Locks, clumps, curls, turbulence, are created by ICE compounds Additional modifiers, like cutting hairs by external geometry, constant strand length for key frame animation, resampling and subdividing strands, morphing with another hair, modulating hair's distribution over emitter, so user can increase density on most visible areas Full support for the Sofimage's built-in Strand Dynamics Framework simulation engine. Only factory ICE nodes were used, it should work nicely with any Softimage version from 7.01 on.

Other media available: Version 3.1's online 'first steps' tutorial. si-community user Bronco67 has created a video introduction for an earlier version available here. Also: A rendering tests thread, a TV ad by PsyOp featuring Kristinka Hair.

In case you want to apply kH3 nodes and dynamics on top of strands that were not generated by kH3 itself, here is a setup to enable that.

local backup: kristinka_hair_32_02july2014.rar

Post Reply
User avatar
Mathaeus
Posts: 1660
Joined: 08 Jun 2009, 21:11
Location: Zagreb, Croatia
Contact:

Re: Kristinka Hair 3.0 released

Post by Mathaeus » 13 Jul 2011, 04:13

izze wrote:Strand Fcurve does not work with the Size input on emitter from nurbs,
There is a special 'Strand Size' compound, you put it at the end of ICE tree. 'Size' in emitters is just a point size, shouldn't work as a strand size anymore. Didn't worked well, btw...

As for future versions, this one and small update, probably this weekend, should serve for a very long time...

cheers
The renderer "turtle" used by this scene, is not currently available. The "turtle" renderer will be used instead.

User avatar
Mathaeus
Posts: 1660
Joined: 08 Jun 2009, 21:11
Location: Zagreb, Croatia
Contact:

Re: Kristinka Hair 3.0 released

Post by Mathaeus » 16 Jul 2011, 01:00

Hi all,

Izze, I think you founded a bug in Softimage. I've tried memo-camera together with factory nodes which deals with camera position, got crash in my own 7.01. Let's say, un-simulated ICE tree, standard Emit From Surface, Align Particles To Camera node, store a few memo-cameras, try to call them... crash. Honestly I forgot memo-cameras, as I didn't used them since XSI 4 (they are lost in crash-backup).
Another possible problem with kH Strand Screen Size In SI Units, could be a reference to camera FOV after the GetData - if anyone still needs this node, I would suggest exposing the FOV as a separate reference. Compound itself is really simple, distance from camera to strand position, tangens from FOV, plus some basic math.

There is a small 'hotfix' :) downloadable at same links from first post:

"kH Grouping by Polygons" should work nicely for now. Just for info, problem was caused by a new method of emitting from triangle corners. In 'guides and filler' mode, some points are initially on the same position. This is 'melted' later with hair filler, but if something tries to find the closest point before, ICE gets confused, being unable to sort the points. So for now, this node randomizes the positions before searching stage, and moves them back after getting the attributes.

The rest of changes are small improvements here and there: paint density in kH Hair Filler is now 'exact rate', always close to initial rate in emitters. kH Grouping has a few options more, internal nodes for sorting are based on nicer (a bit faster) methods, so on.

In docs, there is a short list of 'form' nodes (basic styling nodes) which rely on distance to point/hair root ( and which part of geometry is considered) - so it's not good idea to animate these parts. Btw, no big deal to add inputs for 'reference geometry' for animation, but this will add even more inputs and parameters. Imho, there is already too much.


good luck !
The renderer "turtle" used by this scene, is not currently available. The "turtle" renderer will be used instead.

izze
Posts: 171
Joined: 24 Sep 2009, 20:02

Re: Kristinka Hair 3.0 released

Post by izze » 19 Jul 2011, 19:59

Right on. Thanks for updating!

dmetren
Posts: 3
Joined: 17 Feb 2011, 19:17

Re: Kristinka Hair 3.0 released

Post by dmetren » 20 Jul 2011, 13:04

tell please, how to use weight map for tweaking some kristinka node parameters

User avatar
Mathaeus
Posts: 1660
Joined: 08 Jun 2009, 21:11
Location: Zagreb, Croatia
Contact:

Re: Kristinka Hair 3.0 released

Post by Mathaeus » 20 Jul 2011, 13:50

dmetren wrote:tell please, how to use weight map for tweaking some kristinka node parameters
1. apply weight map property to emitter (mesh or NurbS)
2. bring 'Get Weightmap Value' factory node to ICE tree (in my XSI, this node is somewhere under particles/getters)

Take look at sample called 'in_between_curves.emdl', as it already has connection to weight map.

cheers
The renderer "turtle" used by this scene, is not currently available. The "turtle" renderer will be used instead.

dmetren
Posts: 3
Joined: 17 Feb 2011, 19:17

Re: Kristinka Hair 3.0 released

Post by dmetren » 20 Jul 2011, 17:55

oh, thank you

fjg
Posts: 45
Joined: 04 Feb 2011, 18:45

Re: Kristinka Hair 3.0 released

Post by fjg » 19 Aug 2011, 04:45

Is strand extrusion the only way to instance a shape, or is it possible to use an instance shape node with KH3?

User avatar
Mathaeus
Posts: 1660
Joined: 08 Jun 2009, 21:11
Location: Zagreb, Croatia
Contact:

Re: Kristinka Hair 3.0 released

Post by Mathaeus » 19 Aug 2011, 20:52

fjg wrote:Is strand extrusion the only way to instance a shape, or is it possible to use an instance shape node with KH3?
Whatever works with factory strand nodes, should be possible to allow with kH3 too. But it is up to you to build and troubleshot the connection. A 'compatibility warning' I've added into docs is just a warning.
All shape creation nodes ('form') creates a strand up vector. If you want to use extrusions from 2012, afaik you can switch to 'vector mode', and utilize kh3 up vector, by 'kH3 Get Strand Up Vector' node.
That I know, most popular are extrusions, also direct deformations (direct deformation: you assign parts of mesh to points in point cloud by some criteria, then appropriate strands are used as deformers).
The renderer "turtle" used by this scene, is not currently available. The "turtle" renderer will be used instead.

fjg
Posts: 45
Joined: 04 Feb 2011, 18:45

Re: Kristinka Hair 3.0 released

Post by fjg » 19 Aug 2011, 21:05

Thanks for the reply about the warning - I'll give it a shot. I just found an earlier sample file that helps with this too - I'm trying to export to octane/maxwell.

User avatar
Mathaeus
Posts: 1660
Joined: 08 Jun 2009, 21:11
Location: Zagreb, Croatia
Contact:

Re: Kristinka Hair 3.0 released

Post by Mathaeus » 19 Aug 2011, 21:33

Suggested setup for extrusions is a bit more complicated in kh3, just to allow one strip to drive the three guides. On the other side, there is no node which can cause a 'variable' size of strand array. It's always the same size of strand array, btw because 3delight don't like the 'variable' size.
I think you can just add 'prepare for mt extrusion' to point cloud, and extrude the all strands, just in one step (no intermediate stuff).
The renderer "turtle" used by this scene, is not currently available. The "turtle" renderer will be used instead.

j3st3r
Posts: 121
Joined: 11 Jun 2009, 09:13

Re: Kristinka Hair 3.0 released

Post by j3st3r » 22 Aug 2011, 14:39

Hey,

For some reasons I can't UV map the extruded strips. I used a mesh as a source, I made my ICE Tree, and the extrusions are created, but unfortunately I can't UV map the extruded mesh (procedurally)

Any idea?



Cheers


Jester

User avatar
Mathaeus
Posts: 1660
Joined: 08 Jun 2009, 21:11
Location: Zagreb, Croatia
Contact:

Re: Kristinka Hair 3.0 released

Post by Mathaeus » 22 Aug 2011, 20:17

hi there,

'mesh source', this probably belongs to extrusions in SI 2012 - if so, here is the thread. I don't believe there is something specific with kH3, about UV generation.
The renderer "turtle" used by this scene, is not currently available. The "turtle" renderer will be used instead.

User avatar
AlexanderM
Posts: 28
Joined: 10 Jun 2009, 17:13
Contact:

Re: Kristinka Hair 3.0 released

Post by AlexanderM » 02 Sep 2011, 13:53

Good update.
Can I use kH3 Grouping compound with "Guides and Filler Triangles" mode? When I try, I get the problem where the roots. Also, is it possible to perform extrusions along strands with this mode? I noticed there beams, which are needed to address the problems of interpolation. I need single guide strands to make extrusion for connecting ICE Syflex dynamics.
I understand that "nurbs" method is easier to work with him and less of a problem, but I preferred "polymesh" and I want to find out
Attachments
khair1.jpg
khair1.jpg (174.09 KiB) Viewed 2833 times

User avatar
Mathaeus
Posts: 1660
Joined: 08 Jun 2009, 21:11
Location: Zagreb, Croatia
Contact:

Re: Kristinka Hair 3.0 released

Post by Mathaeus » 02 Sep 2011, 20:24

AlexanderM wrote:Good update.
Can I use kH3 Grouping compound with "Guides and Filler Triangles" mode?
Yes, there are examples for both ('cross_sections_grouping' and 'stick_to_...'). Probably you want to compare these setups with yours, before going to forum. Especially ICE tree on emitter, correct reference to UV property.
Suggested setup for attaching to extrusions is one-mesh-strip-per-triangle (or, three guides) - to prevent Syflex sim, to do not explode with overlaps.
Btw, interpolation could look better with (almost) equal size of triangle's sides.

Cheers
The renderer "turtle" used by this scene, is not currently available. The "turtle" renderer will be used instead.

tupu
Posts: 2
Joined: 18 Sep 2011, 15:06

Re: Kristinka Hair 3.0 released

Post by tupu » 23 Sep 2011, 02:33

Hi,

I am modeling a spider, from one master leg(which is the emitter object for all pointclouds) I use the deform hair compound to transfer the strands to the animated(deformed) legs.
It worked on the 3 legs but when trying to do the exact same thing on the fourth I can't make it work?

If I duplicate the fourth leg and try transfering between these two(leg_4 and new one Leg_5) it works, but for som reason it doesn't work from the "master" object.

The objects are all identical with same number of points and polys and so on and I have searched for differences in them but can't find any, is there something I am missing?

Here's a screenshot if it helps.

Image

User avatar
Mathaeus
Posts: 1660
Joined: 08 Jun 2009, 21:11
Location: Zagreb, Croatia
Contact:

Re: Kristinka Hair 3.0 released

Post by Mathaeus » 23 Sep 2011, 15:33

tupu wrote:Hi,

I am modeling a spider, from one master leg(which is the emitter object for all pointclouds) I use the deform hair compound to transfer the strands to the animated(deformed) legs.
It worked on the 3 legs but when trying to do the exact same thing on the fourth I can't make it work?

If I duplicate the fourth leg and try transfering between these two(leg_4 and new one Leg_5) it works, but for som reason it doesn't work from the "master" object.

The objects are all identical with same number of points and polys and so on and I have searched for differences in them but can't find any, is there something I am missing?

Here's a screenshot if it helps.
Hi,

well this should work.... my wild guess is, probably references to objects are screwed up, sometime during duplicating - afaik ICE behaves differently than standard operators, there (let's say, you have reference to many curves in ICE tree, select and rename them all, you'll get a mass...). So maybe you can try to create all new references to all geometries, save and reload the scene. afaik#2, you'll see a 'real' result only after reload.
The renderer "turtle" used by this scene, is not currently available. The "turtle" renderer will be used instead.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest