Python Scripting Engine Missing

Discussions concerning programming of SOFTIMAGE©
Serev

Python Scripting Engine Missing

Post by Serev » 01 Oct 2011, 20:14

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to Softimage and wanted to learn it's scripting language for a project I'm working on. I mainly code in Python, but as soon as i select Python in the script editor i get this error:

Code: Select all

# ERROR : 2000 - Failed creating scripting engine: XSI.SIPython.1.
# pythoncom error: PythonCOM Server - The 'win32com.server.policy' module could not be loaded.
# Traceback (most recent call last):
#   File "C:\Program Files\Python26\Lib\site-packages\win32com\__init__.py", line 6, in <module>
#     import pythoncom
#   File "C:\Program Files\Python26\Lib\site-packages\pythoncom.py", line 2, in <module>
#     import pywintypes
# <type 'exceptions.ImportError'>: No module named pywintypes
# pythoncom error: CPyFactory::CreateInstance failed to create instance. (80004005)
I understand its not finding the python scripting engine(i think), but does anyone know how to fix it? I found something about editing the registry key for HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Python, but i don't even have that folder in my registry. I have the PYTHONPATH environment variable set correctly, and have the Python directory added to the Path variable as well. I think that version of python might be 32bit and I'm running Softimage 2012 64bit on Win7 64bit, but shouldn't Softimage look for/use the distribution of Python in its installation directory?
Thanks so much. :)

Also, sorry if this doesn't belong here.

Hirazi Blue
Administrator

Re: Python Scripting Engine Missing

Post by Hirazi Blue » 01 Oct 2011, 22:14

Are you using the "Python Installed with Softimage" (it's in the Scripting Preferences)?

If you're instead using the "external" Python, did you install pywin32 as well?
Look at this older blog entry: Getting Python to show up in Softimage
Stay safe, sane & healthy!

Serev

Post by Serev » 02 Oct 2011, 20:27