prt reader in ice?

Discussions about SOFTIMAGEs© Interactive Creative Environment©
User avatar
mattmos
Posts: 422
Joined: 02 Dec 2009, 16:59

prt reader in ice?

Post by mattmos » 17 Jan 2018, 18:23

Just wondering if there is any way to do this - have a prt sequence created from a bifrost sim, and wanted to bring it into ice to modify and render.

:-?

User avatar
rray
Moderator
Posts: 1554
Joined: 26 Sep 2009, 15:51
Location: Bonn, Germany

Re: prt reader in ice?

Post by rray » 17 Jan 2018, 18:52

Do a seach for "kies" in the resource section. It's for Softimage 2010, but might be worth a try. Other than that no idea.
"as a maya discussion grows longer, the probability of a suggestion involving deleting the preferences approaches one"

softimage resources section (formerly known as rray.de/xsi) updated May 30 2018

User avatar
mattmos
Posts: 422
Joined: 02 Dec 2009, 16:59

Re: prt reader in ice?

Post by mattmos » 17 Jan 2018, 19:05

Thanks for the reply, on linux as well just to complicate things unfortunately.

User avatar
rray
Moderator
Posts: 1554
Joined: 26 Sep 2009, 15:51
Location: Bonn, Germany

Re: prt reader in ice?

Post by rray » 17 Jan 2018, 19:14

It looks like here it was solved with some custom coding:
https://groups.google.com/forum/#!topic ... 4N5kdQjUFU

The icecache module mentioned is at the bottom of this page:
http://softimage.wiki.softimage.com/ind ... ile_Format
(wiki seems to be up again!)

also attached just in case..
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
"as a maya discussion grows longer, the probability of a suggestion involving deleting the preferences approaches one"

softimage resources section (formerly known as rray.de/xsi) updated May 30 2018

User avatar
sant0s
Posts: 346
Joined: 05 Sep 2011, 22:57
Location: São Pedro de Moel

Re: prt reader in ice?

Post by sant0s » 19 Jan 2018, 07:05

If that does not work or is to slow, you can also go over houdini (when non-commercial it also works with the Apprentice version I think) , export as .bgeo (i think it was .bgeo or one of the other formats) and read in Softimage with emReader. :)

User avatar
mattmos
Posts: 422
Joined: 02 Dec 2009, 16:59

Re: prt reader in ice?

Post by mattmos » 19 Jan 2018, 08:37

I couldn't get any of Eric's lovely tools to install on centos7 sadly :( But thanks for the suggestion. I wish they ran Houdini here too.

User avatar
owei
Administrator
Posts: 795
Joined: 03 Jun 2009, 17:25
Location: Siegen/Germany

Re: prt reader in ice?

Post by owei » 19 Jan 2018, 08:49

Hey Matt! I can convert it for you, if not to large ;)

User avatar
mattmos
Posts: 422
Joined: 02 Dec 2009, 16:59

Re: prt reader in ice?

Post by mattmos » 22 Jan 2018, 13:35

Thanks for the offer Oliver! I think we're ok, moved up to 2018.2 and could get an alembic out which will do the job for now.

User avatar
owei
Administrator
Posts: 795
Joined: 03 Jun 2009, 17:25
Location: Siegen/Germany

Re: prt reader in ice?

Post by owei » 22 Jan 2018, 13:48

Great! I guess you mean 2015.2..2018.2 would be so sweet ;) Good luck!

User avatar
mattmos
Posts: 422
Joined: 02 Dec 2009, 16:59

Re: prt reader in ice?

Post by mattmos » 22 Jan 2018, 13:55

Ah no, I did mean 2018.2 - went back into maya to mesh and export the alembic, which I couldn't do in 2016.5... Feels a bit dirty admitting that!

User avatar
owei
Administrator
Posts: 795
Joined: 03 Jun 2009, 17:25
Location: Siegen/Germany

Re: prt reader in ice?

Post by owei » 22 Jan 2018, 15:04

Ah sorry..on the Maya end..took that wrong...