Page 1 of 8

quickPrimitive

Posted: 14 Feb 2012, 01:06
by origin
Uploaded v0.93
- you can now create light primitives
- some new preferences
quickprimitive_093.zip
NEW
(375.33 KiB) Downloaded 857 times
//
Uploaded v0.91
NEW: Preferences: Plane helper size, axis helper size, default subdivision for all primitives, option for creating UVs, option for 2 methods of creating cube/grid prim
NEW: Free cube drawing (uses scale!)
NEW: Draw cube/cone/cylinder in both directions (downwards/upwards to axis)
NEW: Tool scope buttons. Work on grid/selection/everything.
NEW: Autocreate texture projections (you can disable it in preferences)
NEW: Merge button. Merges primitives (or last prim if you shift+click) to selected mesh.
NEW: accurate snapping for "height" objects. So e.g. you can create cylinder between two faces.
FIX: Cube drawing
FIX: repeat last primitive (undo issue, subd. issues)
FIX: Wacom issues
FIX: snapping
FIX: subd. surface raycast bug
FIX: losing hotkeys

Hotkeys:
ENTER - show primitive PPG
(Shift+) J,K,L - change primitive subdivions

Now about merge button. It uses XSI Merge op. So you will loose all animation on selected mesh! I think also there is some bug in SAP because you will get some weird warning about autofixing clusters (doesn't happen in 2012 sp1)
Step by step what happens after you click merge (old mesh = selected object):
1. It runs merge command. New object is created.
2. It transfers all properties from old object to new object.
3. Changes new object name to old object name
4. Reconnects all children of old object to new object
5. Parents new object to old object's parent

//
Hello guys,

Here's new tool for primitive creation, >2012, x64 xsiaddon attached.
Tested on only 2 computers, so please reports bugs (and suggestions)
v0.9
interactive primitive drawing. By default it's drawing prim "in front of camera". If you want to draw onto grid, turn on grid snapping and turn on snap (or hold ctrlkey) before drawing.
Supports curve, nurbsmesh, polymesh (full frame) and grid aligning (x/y/z axis as up vector)

ISSUES:
- skew scaled objects will give bad aligning. I wont fix this tho...
TODO:
-merge to selected mesh button
-diffrent drawing mode for all prims (like grid, from left to right corner)
-right now height of objects (cylinder, torus,cone...) is obtained by holding RMB after LMB drawing.
-?

Re: quickPrimitive

Posted: 14 Feb 2012, 01:17
by Memag
You are on the roll Piotrek! Really making use of those custom tools SDK.
Wow, nice stuff coming out of your lab.
Thanks!

edit: after actually watching the video all I can say is ...FANTASTIC ! :ymapplause:

Re: quickPrimitive

Posted: 14 Feb 2012, 01:19
by Maximus
this is just fantastic o.O
Thanks a lot for this tool, really great to have such interaction into softimage, i missed this...
So far no issues, i'll keep using it!

Max

Re: quickPrimitive

Posted: 14 Feb 2012, 01:25
by origin
Thanks guys.
Forgot to mention, if it doesn't work for you please install this: http://www.microsoft.com/download/en/de ... x?id=14632

Also, I've implemented my 'patch' for faster component highlighting (way faster than tweak tool).
But I've tested it only on my computer, so I would love to hear if it's also highlighting components (especially polys) faster on your machines.

Re: quickPrimitive

Posted: 14 Feb 2012, 01:53
by Memag
It seems highlighting is working faster than the tweak tool's one,
your gizmo detects polygons faster than Tweak Tool, and doesn't skip on them either.

Re: quickPrimitive

Posted: 14 Feb 2012, 02:13
by Memag
Suggestion:

Maybe implement height (RMB) in Grid creation operation, so that user can draw custom nonuniform box shape.Or figure out nonuniform creation/drawing.
I figured J,K,L buttons DO change subdivisions, MMB button is "repeat last". Maybe you should put these shortcuts in description.
Also it could be useful if subdivision could be changed while holding J,K,L and dragging, so it doesn't just subdivide one way/ increasing.

Re: quickPrimitive

Posted: 14 Feb 2012, 07:41
by origin
Box primitive (length/width/height) is on my list. Problem is, there is no custom primitive class in sdk.There are some workarounds and I will look into it.
As for subdiving down you can hold SHIFT + J,K,L to decrease subdivs. I was thinking also about small on-screen input boxes where you can type subdivision levels.

Re: quickPrimitive

Posted: 14 Feb 2012, 08:45
by EricTRocks
Would be nice to be able to change the size of the yellow plane as well.

Re: quickPrimitive

Posted: 14 Feb 2012, 10:47
by Memag
I'd love to see CMIVFX doing a tutorial ,with you, on making such useful interactive tools.

Re: quickPrimitive

Posted: 14 Feb 2012, 11:30
by Werner
Wow. Thanks. This will be super useful

Re: quickPrimitive

Posted: 14 Feb 2012, 11:42
by Pooby
This is flippin brilliant!!

Re: quickPrimitive

Posted: 14 Feb 2012, 12:34
by bottleofram
pmQuick tools quickly becoming my favorite addition to softimage and the most useful ones, no doubt.

You just cant stop being awesome, Piotrek! Great stuff.

Re: quickPrimitive

Posted: 14 Feb 2012, 13:28
by crude
:D so awesome. waiting so long time for this function in Softimage.

Thank you !!

Re: quickPrimitive

Posted: 14 Feb 2012, 14:05
by Werner
We're loving this tool. Thanks again!

Just one question about scale. Would it be possible to have the true scale under SRT once created?
No matter what size geometry I create, it always shows scale values of 1,1,1

Not a big problem...just wondering.

Re: quickPrimitive

Posted: 14 Feb 2012, 16:08
by ActionArt
Just fantastic Piotrek! Amazing. Finally, interactive primitives in SI. I've missed this so much from LW and this is far better! :-bd

Re: quickPrimitive

Posted: 14 Feb 2012, 16:31
by ActionArt
One thing I noticed, even with no snapping activated, it seems to snap to points on other objects. That's great most of the time but perhaps a way to deactivate snapping completely when desired.