quickPrimitive

Plugins linking to this thread: (hide)

QuickPrimitive v0.93Author: Piotrek Marczak
Updated September 2012 to support light primitives, new preference options. Following the popular QuickInset modeling tool (listed below), Pitorek releases this new custom tool, allowing the user to draw primitives interactively.

This can be done using a number of preset objects (pickable from a radial array), and using a variety of placement/creation options such as on on surface/on scene grid, along curve, align along X/Y/Z axis, create UV projections, snapping, merge etc.

A video introduction is available here. See the si-community thread linked below for more details.

local backup: quickprimitive_093.xsiaddon


Discussions concerning plugins for SOFTIMAGE©
Post Reply
User avatar
origin
Posts: 619
Joined: 09 Jun 2009, 11:59
Location: warsaw

quickPrimitive

Post by origin » 14 Feb 2012, 01:06

Uploaded v0.93
- you can now create light primitives
- some new preferences
quickprimitive_093.zip
NEW
(375.33 KiB) Downloaded 860 times
//
Uploaded v0.91
NEW: Preferences: Plane helper size, axis helper size, default subdivision for all primitives, option for creating UVs, option for 2 methods of creating cube/grid prim
NEW: Free cube drawing (uses scale!)
NEW: Draw cube/cone/cylinder in both directions (downwards/upwards to axis)
NEW: Tool scope buttons. Work on grid/selection/everything.
NEW: Autocreate texture projections (you can disable it in preferences)
NEW: Merge button. Merges primitives (or last prim if you shift+click) to selected mesh.
NEW: accurate snapping for "height" objects. So e.g. you can create cylinder between two faces.
FIX: Cube drawing
FIX: repeat last primitive (undo issue, subd. issues)
FIX: Wacom issues
FIX: snapping
FIX: subd. surface raycast bug
FIX: losing hotkeys

Hotkeys:
ENTER - show primitive PPG
(Shift+) J,K,L - change primitive subdivions

Now about merge button. It uses XSI Merge op. So you will loose all animation on selected mesh! I think also there is some bug in SAP because you will get some weird warning about autofixing clusters (doesn't happen in 2012 sp1)
Step by step what happens after you click merge (old mesh = selected object):
1. It runs merge command. New object is created.
2. It transfers all properties from old object to new object.
3. Changes new object name to old object name
4. Reconnects all children of old object to new object
5. Parents new object to old object's parent

//
Hello guys,

Here's new tool for primitive creation, >2012, x64 xsiaddon attached.
Tested on only 2 computers, so please reports bugs (and suggestions)
v0.9
interactive primitive drawing. By default it's drawing prim "in front of camera". If you want to draw onto grid, turn on grid snapping and turn on snap (or hold ctrlkey) before drawing.
Supports curve, nurbsmesh, polymesh (full frame) and grid aligning (x/y/z axis as up vector)

ISSUES:
- skew scaled objects will give bad aligning. I wont fix this tho...
TODO:
-merge to selected mesh button
-diffrent drawing mode for all prims (like grid, from left to right corner)
-right now height of objects (cylinder, torus,cone...) is obtained by holding RMB after LMB drawing.
-?
Attachments
quickPrimitive_0_93_source.7z
v093 source
(202.55 KiB) Downloaded 461 times
pmQuickPrimitive_v_091_2012x64_addon.7z
UPDATE 1. 2012 x64 xsiaddon
(238.2 KiB) Downloaded 1220 times
pmQuickPrimitive_2012_x64_addon.rar
2012 x64 xsiaddon
(247.36 KiB) Downloaded 1358 times
Last edited by origin on 06 Sep 2012, 10:56, edited 4 times in total.

User avatar
Memag
Posts: 339
Joined: 09 Aug 2010, 01:37
Location: Tits

Re: quickPrimitive

Post by Memag » 14 Feb 2012, 01:17

You are on the roll Piotrek! Really making use of those custom tools SDK.
Wow, nice stuff coming out of your lab.
Thanks!

edit: after actually watching the video all I can say is ...FANTASTIC ! :ymapplause:

User avatar
Maximus
Posts: 1104
Joined: 09 Jun 2009, 15:45

Re: quickPrimitive

Post by Maximus » 14 Feb 2012, 01:19

this is just fantastic o.O
Thanks a lot for this tool, really great to have such interaction into softimage, i missed this...
So far no issues, i'll keep using it!

Max

User avatar
origin
Posts: 619
Joined: 09 Jun 2009, 11:59
Location: warsaw

Re: quickPrimitive

Post by origin » 14 Feb 2012, 01:25

Thanks guys.
Forgot to mention, if it doesn't work for you please install this: http://www.microsoft.com/download/en/de ... x?id=14632

Also, I've implemented my 'patch' for faster component highlighting (way faster than tweak tool).
But I've tested it only on my computer, so I would love to hear if it's also highlighting components (especially polys) faster on your machines.

User avatar
Memag
Posts: 339
Joined: 09 Aug 2010, 01:37
Location: Tits

Re: quickPrimitive

Post by Memag » 14 Feb 2012, 01:53

It seems highlighting is working faster than the tweak tool's one,
your gizmo detects polygons faster than Tweak Tool, and doesn't skip on them either.

User avatar
Memag
Posts: 339
Joined: 09 Aug 2010, 01:37
Location: Tits

Re: quickPrimitive

Post by Memag » 14 Feb 2012, 02:13

Suggestion:

Maybe implement height (RMB) in Grid creation operation, so that user can draw custom nonuniform box shape.Or figure out nonuniform creation/drawing.
I figured J,K,L buttons DO change subdivisions, MMB button is "repeat last". Maybe you should put these shortcuts in description.
Also it could be useful if subdivision could be changed while holding J,K,L and dragging, so it doesn't just subdivide one way/ increasing.

User avatar
origin
Posts: 619
Joined: 09 Jun 2009, 11:59
Location: warsaw

Re: quickPrimitive

Post by origin » 14 Feb 2012, 07:41

Box primitive (length/width/height) is on my list. Problem is, there is no custom primitive class in sdk.There are some workarounds and I will look into it.
As for subdiving down you can hold SHIFT + J,K,L to decrease subdivs. I was thinking also about small on-screen input boxes where you can type subdivision levels.

EricTRocks
Moderator
Posts: 754
Joined: 25 Nov 2009, 01:41
Contact:

Re: quickPrimitive

Post by EricTRocks » 14 Feb 2012, 08:45

Would be nice to be able to change the size of the yellow plane as well.
Eric Thivierge
Lead Kraken Developer, Fabric Engine
http://fabric-engine.github.io/Kraken

User avatar
Memag
Posts: 339
Joined: 09 Aug 2010, 01:37
Location: Tits

Re: quickPrimitive

Post by Memag » 14 Feb 2012, 10:47

I'd love to see CMIVFX doing a tutorial ,with you, on making such useful interactive tools.

User avatar
Werner
Posts: 157
Joined: 09 Jun 2009, 13:30
Contact:

Re: quickPrimitive

Post by Werner » 14 Feb 2012, 11:30

Wow. Thanks. This will be super useful

Pooby
Posts: 501
Joined: 27 Aug 2010, 22:25

Re: quickPrimitive

Post by Pooby » 14 Feb 2012, 11:42

This is flippin brilliant!!

User avatar
bottleofram
Posts: 355
Joined: 17 Aug 2010, 11:21

Re: quickPrimitive

Post by bottleofram » 14 Feb 2012, 12:34

pmQuick tools quickly becoming my favorite addition to softimage and the most useful ones, no doubt.

You just cant stop being awesome, Piotrek! Great stuff.

crude
Posts: 27
Joined: 04 Jun 2009, 11:04
Skype: dacrude
Location: Germany

Re: quickPrimitive

Post by crude » 14 Feb 2012, 13:28

:D so awesome. waiting so long time for this function in Softimage.

Thank you !!

User avatar
Werner
Posts: 157
Joined: 09 Jun 2009, 13:30
Contact:

Re: quickPrimitive

Post by Werner » 14 Feb 2012, 14:05

We're loving this tool. Thanks again!

Just one question about scale. Would it be possible to have the true scale under SRT once created?
No matter what size geometry I create, it always shows scale values of 1,1,1

Not a big problem...just wondering.

User avatar
ActionArt
Posts: 853
Joined: 25 Nov 2010, 18:23
Location: Canada

Re: quickPrimitive

Post by ActionArt » 14 Feb 2012, 16:08

Just fantastic Piotrek! Amazing. Finally, interactive primitives in SI. I've missed this so much from LW and this is far better! :-bd

User avatar
ActionArt
Posts: 853
Joined: 25 Nov 2010, 18:23
Location: Canada

Re: quickPrimitive

Post by ActionArt » 14 Feb 2012, 16:31

One thing I noticed, even with no snapping activated, it seems to snap to points on other objects. That's great most of the time but perhaps a way to deactivate snapping completely when desired.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 25 guests