quickinset

Plugins linking to this thread: (hide)

QuickInsetAuthor: Piotrek Marczak
Updated May 2013 (info) — Rewrite of the original QuickExtrude tool. This tool performs quick modo-like interactive extrude, bevel and inset operations without showing a property page. Piotrek's notes from the si-community thread: Extruding along normal is available only in 2012 SAP for operations that relies on SI units you drag in component's normal direction, for other ops (like point skirting ratio/bevel subdivisions) just drag across screen subdivision highlighting is supported only for level 1 and only catmull-clark J, L hotkeys change subdivision on extrude K hotkey is for repeating operation on highlighted component/subselection ENTER shows op PPG shift makes operations 10x slower LMB is extruding, LMB and then RMB - changes inset ratio of extrusion MMB is beveling, , MMB and then RMB - changes bevel subdivisions RMB is insetting tool can also work in supra mode if you hotkey the tool I've used it to model few production objects and it's pretty useful.

Developed with the interactive tool SDK. See Piotrek's video for a quick introduction

local backup: quickextrude_0.2.xsiaddon (June 2013)   pmQuickExtrude2012.xsiaddon (older but SI 2012 compatible version)   quickextrude_src.rar

Discussions concerning plugins for SOFTIMAGE©
User avatar
Memag
Posts: 339
Joined: 09 Aug 2010, 01:37
Location: Tits

Re: quickinset

Post by Memag » 02 Feb 2012, 10:43

Great to see it finished!
Congratulations on a brilliant tool and thank you very much for releasing it Piotrek.

User avatar
origin
Posts: 619
Joined: 09 Jun 2009, 11:59
Location: warsaw

Re: quickinset

Post by origin » 02 Feb 2012, 12:50

bottleofram wrote:Great stuff as always, piotrek. :ymapplause:

Don't know if this has been discussed already, but would it be possible to implement some of the advanced selection characteristics into the tool? For example, edge loop selection on double click and shortest path selection. That would useful when beveling the edges interactively. Right now it seems you can only select the edge one by one...
yep you can only select subcomponents one by one.
I was thinking about adding those,
but then again if you work with tool in sticky mode, you can always turn on selection tools in supra mode to select some stuff.

User avatar
bottleofram
Posts: 355
Joined: 17 Aug 2010, 11:21

Re: quickinset

Post by bottleofram » 02 Feb 2012, 13:30

origin wrote:
bottleofram wrote:Great stuff as always, piotrek. :ymapplause:

Don't know if this has been discussed already, but would it be possible to implement some of the advanced selection characteristics into the tool? For example, edge loop selection on double click and shortest path selection. That would useful when beveling the edges interactively. Right now it seems you can only select the edge one by one...
yep you can only select subcomponents one by one.
I was thinking about adding those,
but then again if you work with tool in sticky mode, you can always turn on selection tools in supra mode to select some stuff.
Oh, I see. That'll work!

Hopefully you receive enough requests to eventually implement it (for the sake of convenience), but the tool is an immense improvement for the workflow as it is, nonetheless. Thanks

User avatar
geoath
Posts: 48
Joined: 03 Sep 2009, 20:24

Re: quickinset

Post by geoath » 02 Feb 2012, 13:46

for a reason i can't find i can't make it work..
after installation:
-i go to the plugin manager>pmQuickExtrude(addon)>Plugins and the icon before the name of the tool has a red triangle.

-also i noticed after the icon, it writes pmQuickExtrude.dll shouldn't it write the name of the plugin?.
when i right click on the pmQuickExtrude.dll and choose properties i get a message : library not found" with the instalation path..
any idea what might be wrong?
si2012, win7/64bit

ps: the previous edition of the tool (the quick inset one) worked fine..

User avatar
origin
Posts: 619
Joined: 09 Jun 2009, 11:59
Location: warsaw

Re: quickinset

Post by origin » 02 Feb 2012, 14:15

Hi, red triangle means for some reason dll was not loaded.
I compiled the x64 bin against 2012 SAP libraries.
Probably I should link with 2012 libs...anyone with 2012 non-SAP x64 can confirm it's not working?

User avatar
Memag
Posts: 339
Joined: 09 Aug 2010, 01:37
Location: Tits

Re: quickinset

Post by Memag » 02 Feb 2012, 14:21

Working fine here. SI SP1 64bit, win 7.

Testing ground. What a nice, powerful tool.
Image
Last edited by Memag on 02 Feb 2012, 14:48, edited 3 times in total.

User avatar
origin
Posts: 619
Joined: 09 Jun 2009, 11:59
Location: warsaw

Re: quickinset

Post by origin » 02 Feb 2012, 14:37

Thanks memag
well due to my limited knowledge of c++ voodoo I can recommend only installing vs2010 redist. http://www.microsoft.com/download/en/de ... x?id=14632

User avatar
geoath
Posts: 48
Joined: 03 Sep 2009, 20:24

Re: quickinset

Post by geoath » 02 Feb 2012, 14:40

thanks, I'll try it!

YES, PROBLEM SOLVED :ymapplause:
Thanks a lot origin, both for the solution and the great tool!

User avatar
ActionArt
Posts: 853
Joined: 25 Nov 2010, 18:23
Location: Canada

Re: quickinset

Post by ActionArt » 02 Feb 2012, 15:58

This tool ROCKS!!! Great work!!! :-bd

Is there some trick to getting this to work with keyboard mapping? I mapped it and it does nothing... :-s

jamnique
Posts: 14
Joined: 05 Jul 2011, 09:36
Skype: darthjamnique

Re: quickinset

Post by jamnique » 03 Feb 2012, 08:29

Just WOW! This is one amazing tool. Feels so organic and intuitive. Hats off and thank you for sharing it.

User avatar
bottleofram
Posts: 355
Joined: 17 Aug 2010, 11:21

Re: quickinset

Post by bottleofram » 05 Feb 2012, 00:49

When the left icon is clicked and it says "extrude along axes", it should extrude along XYZ, right? Doesn't really work for me. It always extrudes along normal.

Can anyone confirm this?

User avatar
Memag
Posts: 339
Joined: 09 Aug 2010, 01:37
Location: Tits

Re: quickinset

Post by Memag » 05 Feb 2012, 01:15

I think it doesn't work here either.
Is it possible to "remember" the button state, like tweak tool does?

User avatar
origin
Posts: 619
Joined: 09 Jun 2009, 11:59
Location: warsaw

Re: quickinset

Post by origin » 05 Feb 2012, 01:30

memag: yes it's possible. I had to disable this feature until I rewrite some parts of code.

Axis in 'E.A.A' means local component's axis (by default set to Y axis)

extruding along other axes is practically useless (you can hit enter after extrusion, or inspect OP and play with options to see difference)

I think the only difference you will see between these 2 modes is when you extrude group of polygons. extrusion along normal extrudes each component along it's own normal, while e.a.a. will 'averange' normals of selected polygons so extrusion will go in only one direction.

User avatar
Memag
Posts: 339
Joined: 09 Aug 2010, 01:37
Location: Tits

Re: quickinset

Post by Memag » 05 Feb 2012, 01:39

Okay, thanks Piotrek.
Do you think you can pull out "orient" polygon option (LMB+MMB?), like in this video?


I will totally understand if you choose to ignore me. :)

User avatar
origin
Posts: 619
Joined: 09 Jun 2009, 11:59
Location: warsaw

Re: quickinset

Post by origin » 05 Feb 2012, 01:57

Interesting...will see ;)
meanwhile you can use sticky keys (transform tool in this example) to move polys around while quickextruding

User avatar
bottleofram
Posts: 355
Joined: 17 Aug 2010, 11:21

Re: quickinset

Post by bottleofram » 05 Feb 2012, 03:24

origin wrote:Axis in 'E.A.A' means local component's axis (by default set to Y axis)
Ok, I assumed it somehow recognizes the direction im dragging and selects the right axes. Heres what i thought to achieve:

http://www.zshare.net/video/989995312b1e6630/
Note: the first is tweak tool. It kinda works but its very unpredictable and unpractical...